We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky last-minute find!”
Review of Rockcrest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rockcrest House
Ranked #1 of 60 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lucky last-minute find!”
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We arrived in Kenmare having made no reservation and found accommodation at Rockcrest by lucky chance. Our host Marian had some great tips on how to get the most out of our brief stay. I'm so glad she told us to watch the final of the national hurling championships at a local pub! We chose to take one of her least expensive room options and it was perfectly adequate for our needs. Delightful breakfast in the morning got our day off to a great start.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArizonanKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    65
    19
    11
    4
See reviews for
112
352
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
ottawa
2 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We recently had the absolute pleasure of spending a night at Rockcrest - lucky we were as they'd just had a cancellation. No sooner had we arrived and poured ourselves a glass of wine that I sadly missed my mouth and poured a substantial amount of red wine all over the front of my t-shirt. Marion, with advice from her lovely daughter, jumped to the challenge and told me to leave it with her. While enjoying a delicious breakfast the next a.m., Marion presented me with a freshly washed, dried, ironed and stain-free t-shirt. This was certainly above and beyond what one would expect - thanks ever so much Marion, I was and still am ever so appreciative of your kindness. Additionally Marion, recommended a nearby restaurant for dinner where Michael O'Brien was playing. We were so glad as the dinner was delicious and it was a real treat to be entertained by Michael and Sean O'Connor. We're hoping they'll come to Bluesfest in Ottawa next summer - they'd rock the place! Marion runs an excellent B&B, it is so conveniently located (within walking distance of downtown) and I'd highly recommend Rockcrest House to anyone. P.S. It wasn't the balmiest that night, and we were toasty warm at Rockcrest.

thanks again Marion for everything...Kim (Ottawa, Canada)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

My family and I (5 of us total) stayed at Rockcrest House in Kenmare in 2 rooms for 4 nights earlier this month (September 2011). I cannot say enough about how great our entire experience was here.

Service: David and Marian, the B&B hosts, were extremely welcoming and cordial. We were greeted with scones and tea when we arrived in the afternoon and given our choice of rooms. Additionally, Marian arranged for us to have a private guide for a trip around the Ring of Beara which turned out to be one of the highlights of our entire trip. She also had great recommendations for food in Kenmare and for places where we could listen to live music. Breakfast was delicious every morning and there were plenty of options to choose from. She also recommended routes to take on day trips to ensure we would see everything.

Value: You can't really beat the value at Rockcrest House. For cheaper than a hotel, you get a delicious homemade breakfast, personal and friendly service, and a chance to experience a part of Ireland that you wouldn't get to otherwise.

Sleep Quality/Rooms/Cleanliness: The rooms we had were spacious and very clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. Since the B&B is a little bit out of town on a very quiet county road, nights are extremely quiet. All of the rooms have en suite bathrooms and were very clean. All of these factors led to very good sleep quality for everyone.

Location: The location of this B&B is by far the biggest plus. My entire family agreed that Kenmare was the best town we stayed at or visited on our entire trip around Ireland. Rockcrest House is a 5 minute walk down a leafy country road and over a bridge into the downtown area. It is close enough to the town to walk for dinner/drinks/music but far enough away to feel like you are staying in the country.

Overall, Marian and David (and Bailey) provide an experience that is tough to match and when we return to Kenmare, we will not hesitate to stay at Rockcrest House again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mohawk vista
2 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2011

My wife and I spent two nights and loved it. Our room had a giant picture window overlooking the countryside. The room and bathroom were spacious and immaculate. Marian made breakfast to your order and a glass of wine was offered in the evening. The 5 minute walk to town was delightful. There is NO dangerous road. The Beara Peninsula is a must if you visit Ireland and the local golf course was a treat, as well. The O'Dwyer family could not be nicer, but then that is true throughout Ireland. We would go back in a heartbeat and stay longer. Thank you Marian.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgslav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plumas co.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

This was, by far, our most favorite stay in Ireland. The Rockcrest House is REALLY lovely, close to town, and most important, very quiet. Our room was elegant and spacious, with a full bay window overlooking the garden in full bloom, and bedding that was absolutely luxurious. We were so happily surprised. Marian, our hostess, was always helpful with ideas (specifically, her fine recommendation to hike in Gleninchaquin Park on the Beara Peninsula--- rugged, beautiful Ireland ), and she was gracious in so many small ways---a discreet knock on our door one cold and rainy night with the offer of a hot water bottle is one that stands out. Our creature comforts were finely served. Breakfasts in the morning were exceptional, the town of Kenmare was a five minute scenic walk away, the golf course ( est. 1907 ) on the Kenmare River was beautiful, and many historical and archeological sites to explore in the area. We would love to return and explore Kenmare and the Beara Peninsula in more depth, and would always choose to stay with the Dwyers at their Rockcrest House.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the bay window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vistaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2011

I stayed two nights at the lovely Rockcrest House in Kenmare at the beginning of September. Marion and David O'Dwyer are the perfect hosts, securing dinner reservations, offering their extensive expertise with day trips, and serving up a scrumptious breakfast. The Rockcrest is perfectly located just a very short, easy walk to the town centre. I stayed in Room 7 which had a very comfortable king-sized bed. Now that I've experienced the Rockcrest House, I wouldn't stay anywhere else in the Kenmare area. I recommend it very highly!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Great location as it is within walking distance to downtown Kenmare. After driving all day I love to walk into town at night. We stayed for three nights and found Kenmare to have the best restaurants of our whole trip. The stores were great too. We had a great room at Rockcrest and the view was beautiful. The room as well as the rest of the house were spotless and very well maintained. Rockcrest sits up on a hill and is beautifully landscaped. The hosts were attentive and served a very good breakfast that we enjoyed each morning. My wife and I found Rockcrest and Kenmare to be our favorite places of our trip to Ireland. We highly recommend Rockcrest.

Room Tip: Ask for the large double room with the view. That was the room we had and we really liked it. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.3 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
1.2 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
0.2 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockcrest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockcrest House

Property: Rockcrest House
Address: Gortamullin, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockcrest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Rockcrest House Luxury B&B Accommodation in Kenmare, designed with comfort in mind. Whether you want a relaxing weekend break or an action-packed outdoor adventure, it is the perfect place to spend your vacation and discover the joys of Kenmare and Kerry. At Rockcrest House we pride ourselves on providing a first-rate service in luxury surrounds at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rockcrest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockcrest House Hotel Kenmare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing