We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B and hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Virginia's Guesthouse Kenmare
Ranked #23 of 62 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 12, 2005

My husband and I just recently returned from our trip to southern Ireland in late November. We spent a couple nights in Kenmare at Virginia's Guesthouse in the heart of town. The owners, Neil and Noreen, were superb hosts who we enjoyed visiting with each morning! And the breakfasts were easily the best of our trip with the use of fresh ingredients and meats secured right from the local butcher.
Our stay was very pleasant and we highly recommend this B&B should you plan a stay in Kenmare.

6  Thank Roonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 432 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
116
Reviewed December 1, 2005

The place is good, but unfortunately the noise from late night revellers is something not in any of the reviews. Left unfortunately very weary and tired after a very noisy night from the streets after pubs closed.

Stayed: August 2005
16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded December 2, 2005

We were sorry to read that some guests from Ulster had a disturbed nights sleep due to street noise recently. Thankfully this is a very rare occurence and obviously completely beyond our control, as is the situation with any town centre property, anywhere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Fayetteville, Georgia
16
Reviewed November 13, 2005

What else can be said? My wife and I recently spent two nights at Virginia's Guesthouse with each set of parents(three rooms). Noreen and Neil instantly made us feel like old friends which was exactly what we needed after a long day of driving. This was also the first overseas experience for our parents, and the accomodation and hospitality could not have been more perfect. Great, clean rooms in a perfect location. Walk out the front door and you're in the town, with plenty of pubs and restaurants within just a few steps. The breakfasts were delicious and kept us going well past lunch.

On our last day we mentioned to Neil that we were headed toward Blarney and then up to Cashel and did not yet have accomodation. Next thing we know Noreen makes a call and informs us a family friend is willing to re-open his doors for the night and take us in. Wow!! We hated to leave after only two nights and if we are ever so fortunate to be in Kenmare again, we will definitely contact our new friends Neil and Noreen. Cheers and thank you Virginias...

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2005

My mother, daughter and I spent 2 nights at Virginia's in late October. I could not wait to come back and post this review. We stayed here because of the #1 rating and rave reviews on this site and we were not disappointed. The rooms were immaculate and very cozy. The multi-course breakfasts were wonderful - we never even had lunch in Kenmare, they kept us full all day long. Neil and Noreen are the consummate host and hostess. Their recommendations for dinner and things to do were perfect. Neil made some phone calls to make sure the things we wanted to see were open (since it was a little late in the season), suggested a route for the Ring of Kerry, helped us find live music sessions at the pubs at night. Just a wonderful time in every way. We would go back in a minute!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank lady717998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
324
Reviewed October 4, 2005

My wife I recently returned from our first trip to Ireland. We stayed at B&B's in Dingle, Kenmare, Kilkenny, and Doolin. We would highly recommend Virginia's Guesthouse. Neil and Noreen were the nicest of any of the Innkeepers that we met and they do an absolutely wonderful job of running their B&B. The rooms are nice, well appointed (great showers), and extremely clean. Their breakfast was hands-down the best we had in Ireland. All of their food is fresh (even the OJ) and prepared perfectly. Neil and Noreen are genuinely nice people and you won't regret staying with them.

Eric and Sarah

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
334
Reviewed September 25, 2005

This was truly an awesome experience. Neil and Noreen are incredible hosts and they've created an incredible enclave in Kenmare. Kenmare has 10,000 times more charm than it's popular neighbor Killarney, and it was a perfect place to stay to explore the Ring of Kerry and the Ring of Beara.

The room was very nicely appointed and impeccably clean, and the breakfasts are to die for. You can read more about the food at:

http://www.ntscblog.com/2005/09/bb-perfection-virginias-guesthouse.html

I can't wait to go back to Co. Kerry. When I do, I hope to spend MANY more nights at this awesome guesthouse.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1577
Reviewed September 24, 2005

Stayed: August 2005
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.9 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
999 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
989 reviews
0.1 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn House
Hawthorn House
#11 of 62 in Kenmare
273 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lissyclearig Thatched Cottage
0 mi away
Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginia's Guesthouse Kenmare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia's Guesthouse Kenmare

Address: 36 Henry Street, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range: $70 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the prestigious Georgina Campbell's "Hosts of the Year" award in 2011, Virginia's Guesthouse is a friendly, small, unpretentious, family-run guesthouse in the town centre of Kenmare. When you stay at Virginia's, you are guaranteed a warm welcome, a clean, comfortable en-suite room and a lovely varied breakfast menu featuring organic local produce, freshly baked breads and home-produced recipes. Virginia's is proud to be recommended by Rick Steves, The Lonely Planet, Alistair Sawday, The Good Hotel Guide, Guide De Routard, Pauline Frommers, Ireland for Dummies, By The Water's Edge, Georgina Campbell's Guide to Ireland & The Rough Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Virginia's Guesthouse Kenmare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia`s Guesthouse Kenmare Hotel Kenmare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing