We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Virginia's Guesthouse Kenmare
Ranked #23 of 62 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Virginia's could be summed up in one word, everything was perfect! Hosts were extremely attentive in making sure we had everything we needed. The food was very tasty and the presentation was impressive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 432 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

Noreen and Neil were great hosts, very accommodating. Clean rooms, central location, parked down nearby lane without difficulty. Breakfasts were varied and yummy.

Would recommend this to family and friends!

Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moore_ri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Virginia's Guesthouse on May 2014. The breakfast was exceptional (fresh and well cooked, especially the speciality of the house : blue cheese and pears, and the fresh juice with ginger and orange). The room was pretty and really clean. Great location in the heart of Kenmare. We warmly recommend this B&B !!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Norene and Neal were excellent hosts. The breakfast was over the top with some of the best food we had here in Ireland. Neal was witty and helpful with whatever question we had about the area. Norene was an outstanding cook, friendly and helpful too!
Our rooms were clean and plenty roomy for our needs. We enjoyed our stay very much!!

Room Tip: We didn't have children with us so we don't know if there were activities for children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We called and got a same day reservation. Easy to find and perfectly situated right in Town. Twelve pubs within 2 blocks. Nice rooms and superb breakfast, and gracious hosts. And we found a parking spot right by the front door.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjh780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Virginia's is a lovely guesthouse with clean and comfortable good-sized rooms; and Neil and Noreen are wonderful hosts. They don't live on the premises though, so we tried hard to be on time for check-in. We didn't have to use it, but they do have a phone at the entrance that can be used to call if you arrive late. The guesthouse is on the upper two floors of a building on one of the main streets of this small town, above a nice restaurant. I didn't see an elevator, so if you can't do stairs, this may not be the best place. But to me that would be the one and only drawback. Neil helped me with the bags upstairs and we were fine. There is a good variety to choose from for breakfast, but you do order the night before and let them know the time you plan to eat. And the breakfast was wonderful. My friend had the porridge (with Neil's recommended shot of Bailey's on top) - and oh my, I hate porridge on any other day, but that tasted yummy! My crepe was pretty darn good too. The bed was comfortable and in a huge room. The bathroom was nice, shower only. No problems with the wi-fi, but I would suggest asking about how to run the television. We figured it out with some trial and error, so it was no big deal. There was no specific parking lot for Virginia's, but apparently the street parking is fine after 4:00 p.m. I found a spot just across the street. In the summer I'm guessing it might be a bit more difficult. Several pubs and restaurants are just down the street, and it's an easy walk to the stone circle as well.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, you may want to ask for a room on the back side of the building away...
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank romney68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We had a long day when we arrived in Kenmare. We were later than expected since we had a tire blow on the way from Cahir. Neil was very welcoming and understanding. He saw that we were comfortable and made a dinner recommendation for us. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was superb. We stayed in town to shop and sight see a while, and it was a very easy walk to everything.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brattm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.9 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
999 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
989 reviews
0.1 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn House
Hawthorn House
#11 of 62 in Kenmare
273 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lissyclearig Thatched Cottage
0 mi away
Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginia's Guesthouse Kenmare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia's Guesthouse Kenmare

Address: 36 Henry Street, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range: $70 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the prestigious Georgina Campbell's "Hosts of the Year" award in 2011, Virginia's Guesthouse is a friendly, small, unpretentious, family-run guesthouse in the town centre of Kenmare. When you stay at Virginia's, you are guaranteed a warm welcome, a clean, comfortable en-suite room and a lovely varied breakfast menu featuring organic local produce, freshly baked breads and home-produced recipes. Virginia's is proud to be recommended by Rick Steves, The Lonely Planet, Alistair Sawday, The Good Hotel Guide, Guide De Routard, Pauline Frommers, Ireland for Dummies, By The Water's Edge, Georgina Campbell's Guide to Ireland & The Rough Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Virginia's Guesthouse Kenmare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia`s Guesthouse Kenmare Hotel Kenmare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing