We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hosts and comfortable place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Virginia's Guesthouse Kenmare
Ranked #22 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The owners, Neil and Noreen, are most welcoming and helpful. The guest house is ideally located in the centre of Kenmare beside all the restaurants, pubs etc. While the rooms are perfectly comfortable, what sets the place apart is the great breakfasts. We stayed 3 nights and there is more than enough choice to satisfy anyone staying far longer than that. Would heartily recommend to anyone staying in the area as a place of genuine Irish hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baileywick35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
There are newer reviews for Virginia's Guesthouse Kenmare
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 429 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

We loved our stay here. The room was nice and clean and the hosts were great. Breakfast was amazing, and it's a great starting point for the Ring of Kerry with some excellent advice from the hosts about things to do and see on the drive. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biscu4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

On our recent trip through Ireland, my partner and I traveled without making reservations in advance so we could enjoy a more "spontaneous" holiday. We ended up one evening in Kenmare. Reading through our Rick Steves guide we came across Virginia's Guesthouse. We've generally had good luck with his recommendations. Nothing as great as this B&B though!

Noreen and Neil were incredibly gracious, very helpful, and the breakfasts that Noreen makes... Spectacular!! If you're thinking about staying somewhere near the Ring of Kerry or the nearby parks, stay here. And stay more than one night so you can enjoy more than one selection on the breakfast menu. This was the best B&B we stayed at in all of our recent 3 week holiday in Ireland and England. Thanks to Neil & Noreen

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingEcodude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed one night in May before starting our trip around the Ring of Kerry. It was incredibly convenient for exploring Kenmare, dining, & pubs. The room was large, clean, quiet, & comfortable and the breakfast was fabulous. Niel & Noreen were very helpful and friendly. I highly recommend Virginia's!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Virginia's Guesthouse for 2 nights in May 2013. This guesthouse is located in the centre of town, close to restaurants, shops and pubs.

The hosts, Niel and Noreen, were very welcoming and friendly. Niel was a wealth of information on the local area and offered helpful suggestions to us. It was nice to speak with Niel who actually grew up in the house (since renovated and modernised) as it was interesting to learn about the history of the building/area.

The room was comfortable, clean, spacious, modern bathroom, view of charming street.

The breakfast selection was amazing - varied and healthy options available (not just full Irish), unique combinations such as brie and poached pears on homemade bread (delicious but I recommend you go for a walk afterwards to work it off!), yummy pancakes, rhubarb compote and other lovely things!

I feel this guesthouse is excellent value for money and would recommend it to anyone visiting Kenmare.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntheaB972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The proprietors, Neal and Noreen, are lovely people that run a nice and clean B & B. It is conveniently located in the heart of the city of Kenmare, where you can go and enjoy night life if you like. I highly recommend anyone that is going to see the Ring of Kerry to stay here and begin your journey from here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We have travelled the full length of Ireland and this has to be the BEST B&B by far. There is no comparison to the amazing hospitality, pristine rooms and exciting breakfast. 5 star treatment without the 5 star price tag - Don't stay anywhere else but here

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Marcello S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.1 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
0.0 mi away
Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes
0.1 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn House
Hawthorn House
#11 of 61 in Kenmare
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wander Inn
The Wander Inn
#39 of 61 in Kenmare
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kenmare Failte Hostel
Kenmare Failte Hostel
#4 of 21 in Kenmare
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginia's Guesthouse Kenmare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia's Guesthouse Kenmare

Address: 36 Henry Street, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range: $81 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the prestigious Georgina Campbell's "Hosts of the Year" award in 2011, Virginia's Guesthouse is a friendly, small, unpretentious, family-run guesthouse in the town centre of Kenmare. When you stay at Virginia's, you are guaranteed a warm welcome, a clean, comfortable en-suite room and a lovely varied breakfast menu featuring organic local produce, freshly baked breads and home-produced recipes. Virginia's is proud to be recommended by Rick Steves, The Lonely Planet, Alistair Sawday, The Good Hotel Guide, Guide De Routard, Pauline Frommers, Ireland for Dummies, By The Water's Edge, Georgina Campbell's Guide to Ireland & The Rough Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Virginia's Guesthouse Kenmare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia`s Guesthouse Kenmare Hotel Kenmare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing