We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely property”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Harbour View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harbour View
Ranked #36 of 64 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
156 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great view of the bay. Quiet even though it is on a roadway. We were served a wonderful breakfast. Maureen was a delightful hostess. The rooms were clean as was the bathroom (which was across the hall with exclusive use). The beds were comfortable. Some trouble with the shower and getting hot water.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ML7kc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    11
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
30
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southborough, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

My family and I stayed at Harbour View for 2 nights during our 2 week trip along the south of Ireland. Before checking in we stopped in downtown Kenmare for lunch, we were slightly upset that we chose a location 10 min away from the pubs and shops. Upon arrival of our accommodations, our minds completely changed; the view is worth the 10 min drive out of the city center. It was perfect weather and abundantly clear by all of the people playing in the water across the street. Maureen was very welcoming as we made our way inside. We booked a double and twin room for 4 adults (1 couple and 2 single adults who were to share a room) but she gave us 3 double rooms for the same cost. Bonus! Breakfast orders and serving time requests were taken the night before so food was ready when we arrived. As we moved on to our next location, my husband realized he left his iphone and camera charger in the closet of our room. I emailed Maureen to see if she would check the room for us, and if the items were present. She got back to me right away and we were able to go back the following day to pick them up. This was one of our favorite stops on our trip thanks to Maureen's hospitality, the phenomenal views and the traditional music in the city of Kenmare.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We recently stayed here on our trip through Ireland. Great location and unbelievable view from the front of the house and from the breakfast room and lounge. Maureen was very friendly and accommodating to our needs. She reccomended a terrific pub near the house with live Irish musicians playing traditional music. My wife and I had a thoroughly memorable experience that evening making us feel that we truly were in Ireland. I would certainly reccommend this B&B to travellers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

You have to drive ten minutes out of town to get here. You are rewarded with a lovely harbor view from the sitting and breakfast room. We were happy to find an uncrowded and friendly pub with the same view two doors down where we could have a pint before dinner.

All was well till my wife was in the shower and all soaped up when it just quit on her. No warning at all. We thought maybe there was a timer or something. Adding to the frustration it took at least five minutes after ringing the front doorbell to get anyone to respond to us. It appears there is a circuit breaker that trips every now and then. Owner had to get up on a chair and flip a switch up on the ceiling outside the room.

The owner apologized, but honestly I was expecting more. I would have been MORTIFIED if I owned this place and this happened to a guest. The apologies were sincere, but not profuse in any way. No parting gift, no suggestion of a rate reduction. In fact, and somewhat laughablly, this was the ONLY B and B we stayed in (of 7) where the owner actually asked us if we would post something on Trip advisor. Well, she got her wish.

Nice place, lovely room and view, lovely people--they just don't quite know how do make amends when disaster strikes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ScottyP1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here for two nights 15/16th August. Great spot for touring the Ring of Beara and the Ring of Kerry. Warm welcome, owner very helpful and knowlegable of the area. Fantastic views over the bay. Rooms clean with little extras. Breakfast very nice. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 7 upstairs lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were only in the area for one night and due to other engagments asked to pick the key up early. We phoned ahead and were told this was not a problem. We were welcomed with open arms and asked about our arrangements for breakfast as we had to leave early to catch a flight the following morning.

The house is located right next to the estuary which is lovely and not in the very busy Kenmare which is good.

When coming down for breakfast the following morning we were early and Maureen had everything prepared within minutes. The breakfast was lovely and the pancakes were great.

We would highly recommend staying in this B and B and because of our reason for visiting we were pleased to be made to feel so welcome in her house.

Thank you very much for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wotsitswotsits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Everything you would expect from a B&B- Charming, tidy, not a "luxury" or over the top but good enough. and that is exactly what we cam for! so no surprises or disappointments there. The view makes it worthwhile...wow...most of the rooms have a view to the bay and you don't need to pay extra for it like most hotels! the area is beautiful, great restaurants so Kenmare is worth a visit, definitely.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmare
13.1 mi away
No photo provided
Ardgroom Leisure Village
#1 of 1 in Ardgroom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
1.9 mi away
SheenView B&B
SheenView B&B
#22 of 64 in Kenmare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
4.3 mi away
Abbey Court B&B
Abbey Court B&B
#6 of 64 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
An Sibin B&B
An Sibin B&B
#3 of 3 in Lauragh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
5.0 mi away
Gaines Country House
Gaines Country House
#33 of 64 in Kenmare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
17.6 mi away
Cappa House B&B
Cappa House B&B
#2 of 3 in Eyeries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View

Property: Harbour View
Address: Dauros, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 4 diamond award winning luxurious seashore home with panoramic views over Kenmare Bay. 2 minutes walk from restaurant/bar, serving fresh seafood, and from Star Sailing Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Harbour View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing