We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loads of room,lovely views and spotlessly clean...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of anam cre house

Exterior Anam Cre House in May
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior Anam Cre House in May
Anam Cre House exterior
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Exterior Anam Cre House in May
Anam Cre House exterior
Mountain dream runs by the house and into the woods
Evening, Kenmare Pier
One of the numerous local lakes,great fishing
Henry street Kenmare ,great for interesting shops
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Kenmare, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Zoe F
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, house a little tired”
Reviewed July 31, 2018 for a stay in July 2018
2
people found this review helpful

We had a great time, the house is located 10 minutes from kenmare which is beautiful. There are some gorgeous beaches up the sneem road, Derrynane beach where you can see a ruin of a monastery and a beach in castlecove with a great family cafe called bake my day where we picked up take away chips and cakes, everything you need! The drive down to Glengarriff is stunning, through the mountains. In terms of the house I imagine it was gorgeous a few years ago, it’s just a little tired now. Broken pan lids, coat racks with missing pegs etc. The downstairs room that we stayed in was so damp that our clothes were damp every morning which was a bit sad on a holiday. There is also no bath if you are bringing young children, we had to fill up the shower with a make shift plug and the shower went hot and cold so this was slightly challenging! Not all of them mind you, my shower was very good. We all just felt it could have been excellent but there were just a few down sides. The travel cots were quite dirty so we had to clean them, just things you don’t really want to do when you have a) paid and b) are on holiday! The other thing my family took slight issue with, those who had older kids, was that it looked like there was an extra room in the photos where the kids could have played but this room was locked, so a little misleading from the photos. I would recommend staying here for the location and the staircase is gorgeous and I liked upstairs but it maybe needs a bit of money spent on it and a tidy up outside. We do really love a boho feel but this was a little more shabby in places than boho.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim D
Galway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loads of room,lovely views and spotlessly clean. Great house”
Reviewed May 14, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Room to swing at least three cats. Fabulous mountain views. House well stocked. Has the biggest wood burning stove that I have ever seen.
Kenmare is a stunning town. Friendly and full of great restaurants. Healey Gap is a stunning drive

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2018
Thank you Jim for your excellent review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“'Heaven up Here'!”
Reviewed August 23, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My family from Los Angele California and my family from Norwich, England just stayed for nearly 2 wks at Anam Cre House where we all had a seriously enjoyable time. The trip was extra special as our father turned '85' while staying there and what makes it even more special is he is from these parts, albeit, from Beara Peninusla. The accomodation, amenities, views and brilliant kitchen (we all like to cook!) were amazing. Anne (owner) was so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much bother. Would definitely stay there again in a heartbeat. Thank you for making this holiday 'mega' special Anne and we hope to see you again somewhere down the line!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2017
Thank you Brian ,I am touched by your appreciation. It makes me happy knowing you and you family had good experiences here.You will always be welcome.Best to you all,Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen S
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend break”
Reviewed June 26, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had a wonderful stay here. There were 12 of us and the accommodation was more than adequate to fit us all in. It is a beautiful house and the children loved the space indoors and outside. The pretty stream was fun to play in and the surrounding area was beautiful. It is a perfect location and ticked all the boxes for what we needed. Would definitely stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamer70...
1 review
“Ideal retreat for 3 generations”
Reviewed June 11, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Lovely house in the countryside provided space and privacy for all 8 of us; ensuite in each bedroom and a separate 'wing' for the 3 grandparents meant everyone's needs were met; very comfortable living area included a large box of toys and games for the children.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2017
Thank you for being such great guests.I very much appreciate your excellent review..Best wishes to you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet E
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely property to experience this wonderful area”
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Really enjoyed our stay and the property added to the experience, felt as though we had experienced 'real Ireland'. Would recommend and would return, lots of bedrooms with en-suites a real bonus, great communal living area and sunny open views. Full of character and quite quirky.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirst_3
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spacious retreat, perfect as a central base for travelling.”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Only a few minutes from Kenmare, nestled in a cute private valley and surrounded by trees, with a small brook running right by the house, it was a marvellous location for our getaway with friends. The house is full of character, lots of wood carvings and pottery to delight the imaginations of those who love quirky houses. Great location to day trip out to surrounding peninsulas.

Fantastic balcony with bbq equipment, perfect for a lovely evening. There was more than enough seating and equipment to use as well as very well maintained appliances (look new). Wifi and sky tv gave us the convenience of home.

Very handy to have the two downstairs bedrooms, for children or older people, or wheelchair users. Bed super comfortable. Dark and silent surroundings made for a great nights sleep, but there is a bedside lamp for everyone in case one is afraid of the dark.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quirky design of the building, lots of character
Liked least: That I couldn't stay long enough.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing