We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best Ever”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Cow and baby calf next door!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kenmare, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LKellyFL
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Ever”
Reviewed September 16, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
4
people found this review helpful

My husband and I chose Kenmare as our base for a week of exploring the area. When we saw this cottage online and it said it was only a 5 minute walk to the town center, we were skeptical but it seemed perfect so we booked it.

The cottage is as idyllic as it looks, giving the feeling of country life-and it is truly a 5 minute walk across the short, stone bridge to town. Our hostess, Aiofe, met us at the square, jumped in the car and directed us around the corner to the cottage. She gave us all the information we needed to enjoy the cottage as well as some "start up" provisions that we would have had to go out to get that first day.

Small grocery stores, butcher shops and bread stores are easily accessed across the bridge and a larger supermarket, Supervalu, is a 10-15 minute walk (5 minute drive). Restaurants and pubs are plentiful, the Wdnesday market fun, and the people helpful and friendly to all our silly questions.

Great base for driving the Ring of Beara and the Ring of Kerry as well as shorter trips to Sheen Falls, Sneem and Killarney. So many things to do and this cottage provides the absolute best place to start out from and return to. It is well-equipped if you want to cook in, and Aiofe's mom, Maureen, has furnished it so that it is comfortable and pleasing to be in. Can't say enough good things-we loved it!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are glad to have met you both and that your stay was the 'best ever'! We hope you keep in touch. Enjoy the last few days you have in Ireland and safe home.
Warm Regards,
Aoife & Maureen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monkeysau...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for first family holiday”
Reviewed June 28, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Fado Cottage (myself, my wife and my one year old daughter) for a week in June 15'. Wanted to stay in a cottage instead of the usual hotel holiday homes, we were not disappointed, first impressions were lasting impressions, we met the owners had a brief chat and they were helpful from the first minute offering advise
on where to go, if we would require babysitting etc, then we went to the cottage, looks better in person than in the pictures (hard to believe) very warm and welcoming, spotless (clean) which was important to us with a one year old child. Location was perfect, 10 seconds walk to pub/shop/main street but far enough away from any street noise. Kitchen had everything, we used it a lot for meals. Fresh towels delivered. Overall the house
was perfect for us as we used it as a base for day trips. Very big garden
around the house for kids to play etc and nice area to have bbq if wanted. Will definitely be returning soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2015
Thank you very much for your lovely comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back some day soon hopefully.

Kindest Regards,
Aoife & Maureen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KazzHiggs
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautifully maintained cottage in the heart of Kenmare”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I can't say enough good things about this cottage. It is centrally located, less than a 5 minute walk from Kenmare's main street. It is well-situated with a large lawn out front, seating out back for al fresco dining - weather permitting! - and very peaceful with a cow in the field next door for a neighbour. The cottage itself is comfortable, spotlessly clean and well equipped with kitchen utensils, bathroom essentials and mod-cons such as a DVD player, widescreen TV, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. We were so impressed with this cottage and loved our stay, we were sorry to say goodbye.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2015
Thank you very much for your lovely comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully you will be able to visit us again.
Kindest Regards,
Aoife & Maureen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mia9876
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Myself, my husband and two young children stayed in Fado Cottage for a week recently. The location of the cottage is very central, just round the corner from Kenmare's main street which has lots of beautiful shops and restaurants. You can also drive to most of the main attractions very easily. The cottage itself is full of character and spotlessly clean. The kitchen is well equipped with everything you'd need to cook your own meals. It had the perfect space we needed with two young children. The garden is huge and is completely enclosed which was a big weight off our minds with the kids. I would highly recommend this cottage and will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us in Fado Cottage. We hope to welcome you back some time...thank you...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing