We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like being at home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bookstop Vegetarian Cafe

Bookstop Vegetarian Cafe
Ranked #13 of 55 Restaurants in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $11
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Bookstop Cafe is a bookshop with a great Vegetarian cafe offering sumptuous Raw, Vegan and Vegetarian Meals, Soup, Salads and Cakes/Cookies/Snacks (All Healthy!!) organic as much as we can, all made with love and care. As well as our coffees and teas, hot chocolates and healthy cold drinks. We are part of the Bridge Street Coop, which runs the whole-food shop as well as the Bookstop Cafe. We are a Workers Co-operative and proud of it!! While enjoying our tasty meals, grab the chance to browse our wealth of second hand and new books or just soak in the brilliant atmosphere while being surrounded by books and people, feeling well looked after and cared for by all of us. Tell us if you have special dietary needs and we'll do our utmost best to meet them. See you at ours! :)
Kenmare, Ireland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Like being at home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is a great little place to stop for lunch or tea. The walls are lined with books (for sale). Small place with just a few tables but a pleasant place to hang out.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Madeit2Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    17
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best falafel wrap ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Had potato and leek soup and shared a falafel wrap - was sorry I didn't just get the wrap for myself! Food was lovely and nice relaxed vibe - was delighted to have come across this gem in Kenmare

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nutritious tasty food, great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

My 3rd visit and every time has been wonderful, fresh tasty healthy food, love lunch deals here. Highly recommend it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank corkca21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seinajoki, Finland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Vermont style in Kenmare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Bookstop Cafe Kenmare took us right back to North Eastern USA... Burlington Vermont perhaps? -Situated downtown, near a babbling brook, on a walking street near the Heritage Centre, this place is a heaven for anyone who appreciates clean cooking, local cheeses and organic produce. We wanted to load up on carbs after a mountain bicycle. Chef Olga's cooking did the trick: we had tofu bites with fresh salad, beets and seeds (served with homemade pita/ chapati). Desserts looked great, would have come back later, but they close at 5pm. There was good variey of tea served in colourful pots ...though the coffee had by one in the party may needed some work! In fact, beyond the Vermont vibe we detected a definite Indian one?? --- The walls are lined with 'previously loved books', some very clever/classic selections are available at mere E3- each. As representatives of the 'elder' generation, we would request the overall lighting scheme be improved. More direct spots please! We could just barely handle reading the daily menu, lit by the fluorescent overhead light in the kitchen area, but once in the stacks, we could not decypher our Trevor from Tennyson.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rouvak2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

I ate here twice, and I only regret that I didn't have lunch here every day that I stayed in Kenmare. The first time I had a flat bread with brie and beetroot and the most delicious salad. On the second occasion we had a fiver Friday special, a quinoa and vegetable bake which kept us going for hours. We also brought away some books, including one from the 1960s on the treasures of the Iraqi Museum, many of which have been destroyed in recent years. Excellent and imaginative cooking and the best ingredients makes the Bookstop a must-visit when in Kenmare.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GlendaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bookstop Vegetarian Cafe also viewed

Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 
Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to Bookstop Vegetarian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing