We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B and a fantastic welcome from Mary.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawthorn House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hawthorn House
Ranked #12 of 63 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great B&B and a fantastic welcome from Mary.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We enjoyed 4 lovely nights staying with Mary at Hawthorne House. Our room was beautiful and spotlessly clean, breakfast was lovely and Mary and her team made us so welcome with their Irish charm and humour. The bed in our room was the most comfortable we have ever slept on. We will definitely return both to Kenmare and Hawthorne House.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaAB1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    50
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
50
137
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Although I have many nice things to say about Hawthorn House, the number one thing I loved was the propriotor, Mary O'Brien. She is one of the warmest people I have ever met. She is full of fantastic recommendations - take any advice she gives you. She really knows Kenmare. It is a must to stay at Hawthorn House if you visit Kenmare! You would be missing out if you didn't. The accomodations and location can't be beat -I would know. I travel to Ireland every year. This past trip was 2.5 weeks. I stayed at MANY B&B's during the trip but am only writing reviews for the best!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TriciaBostonMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Had a lovely stay in this traditional B&B. The owner is a warm friendly lady who makes you feel at home the moment you enter the house. She always has time to chat & offer advice if you need it. The breakfast was delicious, poached eggs & salmon was our favourite!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanec2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was my fifth visit to this wonderful town and another lovely stay at hawthorn House.
This time We stayed in the marvelous lodge just across frome the main house.
Huge clean and nicely decorated double bedroom with lots of storage space, with all the mod cons.
Modern, newly fitted bathroom/shower, and a lovely well fitted kitchen. A hughcomfy lounge was most welcome after a long day visiting the beautiful County kerry Countryside.
Breakfast was hugh and tasty served by the ever hard working and lovely host, Mary.
Our stays at the lovely Hawthorn house get better and better each visit.

We hope to return very soon a perfect place to start a holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our experience at the Hawthorn House was exactly what we expected....wonderful hospitality from Mary, a great Irish breakfast to start your day, clean and spacious rooms, ,and a location right in the center of town. We could not have been happier with our selection of Hawthorn House! We will definitely stay here again on our return to Kenmare. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schells1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Great location near town centre. On site parking was a bonus as the town can get very busy. The room was large, the décor was a bit dated but it was clean and comfortable. We were very warmly welcomed by the hostess.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyChappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleville, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Bad points. The bed sheets smelt dusty. The bedroom carpet was stained. The grout in the tiles of the shower was cracked and broken and the shower door didn't close properly. The bathroom door wouldn't lock. The hostess Mary was very snippy and i felt quit unwelcome.She was very annoyed when i was checking out and wanted to be paid by card. My bathroom curtain was covered in mildew and although we didn't complain my aunt who was picking me up mentioned it to a staff member so to know for future reference i was later told by the hostess "who was she to come in to complain about my curtains" . when checking in i was greeted by a bare foot girl (i assume was the teen daughter of the hostess). Breakfast was bland.

Good points great location walking distance to everything, really strong shower tasty brown bread

Hawthorn House was the worst thing about my trip. i wouldn't recommend this bnb to anyone. will add pictures once i have my own laptop

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ky91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.1 mi away
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kenmare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
0.1 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn House

Property: Hawthorn House
Address: Hawthorn House Shelbourne Street, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hawthorn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn House Hotel Kenmare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing