We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodation”
Review of Muxnaw Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Muxnaw Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great accomodation”
Reviewed November 11, 2009

Large room, very large bathroom, separate tub and shower, very friendly hostess, excellent breakfast, walking distance to town. House could use a little sprucing up but is very charming.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hostas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    10
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
17
49
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

This beautiful 200 year old house full of antiques overlooked a spacious garden with Irish poetry engraved on marble plaques. Our room was spacious and quiet and had the longest bathtub I've ever seen. Soaking in the ginormous tub was the height of luxury for me. Hannah was a gracious and flexible hostess who cheerfully accommodated our changing schedule, and talked with us about current conditions for the 'regular folks' in Ireland. Breakfast was served on china dishes, complete with warmth from the fire place which she lit just for us. My husband ate salmon with his eggs, and she also served a creamy yogurt in addition to the standard breakfast fry. All of this, for 3 of us was only 80 euros- everywhere else in town was 105 euros. It's a hidden gem and was the most relaxing and luxurious place we stayed.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

25 years ago we happened by Muxnaw Lodge while touring Ireland on our honeymoon.

We had a fantastic experience then and after our return last week, we were not disappointed.

Easy to find and only a 7 to 10 minute walk to town.

The property is beautiful with grounds that are well groomed. Fantastic views of the river and countryside. T

The rooms are very nicely decorated with lots of privacy. The dining room where breakfast is served is elegant and the food is great. Nice choices of food It's been said Hanna makes the best soda bread in Ireland.

Hanna (owner ) is charming, friendly, and a wonderful hostess. She has total pride in ownership.

The best memories of our honeymoon were those of Kenmare and Muxnaw House. It's so nice to know time did not distort what we remembered. We can't wait to return someday.

Muxnaw House is our favorite B & B in Ireland

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tacoma_photo_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2009

Muxnaw Lodge is a large older house. Because of it's rambling size it feels more like an inn than a B&B. Staying here was a relaxing experience. We had a very spacious room that looked out over Kenmare Bay. Hannah went out of her way to be helpful and welcoming. Her home baked breads were delicious and the cozy dining room was quite elegant. It was nice to be close enough to walk into town (15 minute walk) but far enough from the bustle of all the cars and buses that pass through this popular small town. Kenmare itself is beautiful and we really enjoyed our two nights stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boomerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

Having hurriedly departed Glengarriff within mere hours of arriving there (seems Glengarriff folk haven't yet heard about the global recession........average B & B price quoted was €120 per night per couple sharing, WITHOUT BREAKFAST, and with typical "superb" views of car parks, fuel tanks etc), my wife and I chanced upon Muxnaw Lodge (Kenmare) en route to Dublin.
By any standards Muxnaw Lodge is a revelation, an oasis of peace, calm and serenity, a nostalgic reminder of elegance and gentility, a classic showpiece of traditional Irish warmth and hospitality, and proof that standards par excellence, for outstanding value, can occasionally still be found - even in the Ireland of 2009. The irony is, the views from Muxnaw Lodge, standing as it does on a wooded knoll gently sloping down to the shores of the magnificent Kenmare Estuary, combined with the countless other heady sea and mountain views, actually leaves Glengarriff's undoubted magnificent scenery in the ha'penny place. One can only speculate at what Glengarriff "hospitality" folk might seek to charge the unsuspecting traveller were they sufficiently blessed to be located where Muxnaw Lodge is!!!!!!
Our enormous room and en suite bathroom were nothing less than regal, the bed was majestic (best night's sleep I've had in years!), the views from our room were spellbinding and the guests' public rooms were furnished, and in a decor, that can best be described as befitting a gentleman's luxurious country residence. Staying in Muxnaw Lodge is considerably more than experiencing how "The Gentry" might have lived in less stressful and in considerably more courteous times.........we were made to feel like the "Lord and Lady of the Manor" during our all too brief stay.
Seemingly nothing is too much trouble for the charming lady who unobtrusively and seemlessly oversees the operation of this unique B & B. My wife and I were (amazingly) the only guests there that night, when we came down for breakfast a log fire had been set in the breakfast room, all the tables were set with white linen, fresh flowers and silver cutlery (including napkin rings!). The scrumptious breads and jams were all homemade and there were, as far as I can recall, at least 4/5 choices of breakfast. I opted for the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs (without the eggs!) and was rewarded with a veritable feast of smoked wild salmon. My wife opted for the poached eggs (from their own 4 hens!). The coffee came in a large cafetiere, as did the refill.
The lady of the house invited us to inspect the very extensive gardens/rockeries where my wife and I were intrigued to find an miniature horse (surely an Argentinian Fallabella? - seemed far too small for a Shetland), four super-industrious hens, enchanting randomly placed stone carvings with wonderfully apt poems.......and a tennis court! To top it all, Muxnaw Lodge is a mere 5 minutes walk from what is surely one of Ireland's greatest attractions - Seafari, operating out of Kenmare Harbour and offering 2/3 hour incredible eco-friendly seal cruises.
So, based on above, what would one expect to pay for such a truly unique B & B? - unbelievably, the rate in Muxnaw Lodge per person, per night, with choice of breakfast is €35!!!!!!
My wife and I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeFagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2009

My husband and I spent 1 night at Muxnaw and we fell in love with its beautiful location and scenary. The hostess was friendly, helpful and very charming. The Lodge it self is very charming and its decor although dated suits the beautiful furnishing. We will definately be booking again. We stayed in the old side of the house in the room which was once occupied by a maid many years ago. Our room was adequate and very Clean. Just like Kenmare we have both fell in love with MUXNAW LODGE.
Breakfast is beautiful and there is lots to choose from .:)
If the elegant period house and furniture doesnt do it for you then the Hostess homemade soda bread will. ;)
MUXNAW HAS A DEFINATE THUMBS UP FROM US.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frilz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2008

My husband and I can't say enough good things about Hannah and the Muxnaw Lodge. Our room was large and sunny, and the amenities were excellent. Hannah was gracious enough to give us wonderful recommendations for places to see and eat in town. Plus, she makes the best soda bread in Ireland, hands down. We would go back to Muxnaw in a heartbeat and have recommended it to our family and friends traveling to Ireland. If you get a chance to stay here, do it. You won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — Gorgeous views, great location, innkeeper was wonderful
  • Disliked — nothing--everything was perfect. It's our favorite b&b in Ireland.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beevee525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.8 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
916 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
910 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
634 reviews
0.6 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
1.0 mi away
Abbey Court B&B
Abbey Court B&B
#5 of 60 in Kenmare
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muxnaw Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muxnaw Lodge

Property: Muxnaw Lodge
Address: Castletownbere Rd., Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Muxnaw Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Muxnaw Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing