We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Definately Go Back”
Review of Muxnaw Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Muxnaw Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2009

My husband and I spent 1 night at Muxnaw and we fell in love with its beautiful location and scenary. The hostess was friendly, helpful and very charming. The Lodge it self is very charming and its decor although dated suits the beautiful furnishing. We will definately be booking again. We stayed in the old side of the house in the room which was once occupied by a maid many years ago. Our room was adequate and very Clean. Just like Kenmare we have both fell in love with MUXNAW LODGE.
Breakfast is beautiful and there is lots to choose from .:)
If the elegant period house and furniture doesnt do it for you then the Hostess homemade soda bread will. ;)
MUXNAW HAS A DEFINATE THUMBS UP FROM US.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frilz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for Muxnaw Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 95 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2008

My husband and I can't say enough good things about Hannah and the Muxnaw Lodge. Our room was large and sunny, and the amenities were excellent. Hannah was gracious enough to give us wonderful recommendations for places to see and eat in town. Plus, she makes the best soda bread in Ireland, hands down. We would go back to Muxnaw in a heartbeat and have recommended it to our family and friends traveling to Ireland. If you get a chance to stay here, do it. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beevee525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2007

What a treasure! I spent two nights at Muxnaw Lodge, and loved it. If you're wanting sleek, glossy and contemporary, go somewhere else. Muxnaw Lodge is full of character, memories, antiques, odd staircases, and reminders of times long past. Sure, it's old (200 years) and yes, there are signs of age, but that's what made it all the more intriguing. There was even an old servant's bell hanging on my bedroom wall. The owner, Hannah, reserved a prime breakfast table for this single traveller in her busy dining room because my bedroom didn't have a view of the Kenmare River, and she didn't want me to miss it...very thoughtful. Best of all, there is an exquisite sitting room downstairs that transports you to another time and place; perfect for journaling or reading. After a month of lumpy B&B mattresses, and showers the size of a refrigerator, this place was a blessing. Comfortable, cozy, with lots of mystery.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLOjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2007

How to sum this up? Well it was marvelous. And that was just the accommodations. Add to that the hospitality of Hannah and a splendid 2 day experience.

We decided on the locale based on its proximity to the Ring of Kerry and our plans for the adventures in Western Ireland. She assisted us to determine the travel time and route to the boat excursion to Skellig Island. And when we returned "home" that evening inquired as to the adventure.

She did this all without being intrusive and that is quite a trick. Honestly I wanted to spend time with her over tea and conversation. I could not recommend it more heartily. Thank you Hannah!

Stayed: October 2007
Thank ItalianPaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2007

Stayed in Muxnaw lodge last weekend + it was a very pleasant. I had reserved a room overlooking Kenmare bay which was perfect. The B+B has a great view over the bay + is about an 8min walk to the town centre. Our host, Hannah was very helpful + even dropped us into Kenmare village the (wet) evening we arrived.

If you’re interested in outdoor activities there is a water sport’s centre 3 min drive from Muxnaw which is a great way to spend an afternoon.

Stayed: June 2007
Thank walshyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2007

Stayed here recently with some friends. Was unsure what to expect from the reviews, but a fantastic setting and location minutes from Kenmare made me hopeful. Unfortunately the old side of the building (where I stayed) has not been updated in the last decade and the combination of clashing decor and dusty furniture was a real put-off. In addition, the towels (though clean) smelled really musty and it was the same story in my friends rooms.
On the positive side, the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was great. The rooms on the new side of the house are supposed to be better, so try these instead. It could be a fantastic spot, with a bit of work.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank retro6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Westford MA
13
Reviewed September 23, 2004

We stayed in the 'Old' side of the house. It was very shabby! Paper actually pealing off the walls.... and the rest of the room wasn't much better. Breakfast was very good and the hostess was lovely.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.8 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
968 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
1.0 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#5 of 6 in Kenmare
669 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
0.6 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muxnaw Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muxnaw Lodge

Address: Castletownbere Rd., Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Kenmare
Price Range: $116 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Muxnaw Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Muxnaw Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing