We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not brilliant”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Stone Circle

Stone Circle
Book In Advance
More Info
$61.42*
and up
Private Tour of the Ring of Beara from Kenmare
Ranked #3 of 50 things to do in Kenmare
Attraction details
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Not brilliant”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

It is difficult to give this a rating. The small site is well maintained and the stones are interesting. But that is it. It is not publicised that much which probably says more than anything. The walk to the stones is a couple of minutes from the town and going past a derelict piece of land.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ArtyOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    150
    84
    23
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kanahooka, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

There is an honesty box & a €2 entry to a ring of stones set in a nice garden setting. Are they genuine? You can make your own mind up about this but it is a nice walk from town.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Baersden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“quietly wind your way between the stones”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

this quiet site requires a donation at the box at entry. i think it was 2 euros. it is a surprise to find the 15 or 16 stones standing in a circle alone in this well kept area. no real signage to point you here from the beautiful and busy village of kenmare. my sister and i enjoyed this site around 10 at night and returned the next morning at 9 am. we were alone both times. we wound our way between the stones and wondered about their purpose. if you visit kenmare, definitely come here. on each of my visits to ireland, i return to the stones. amazing that it doesn't get more attention.....but that is alright with me. the quietness and stillness leaves me with more questions regarding the type of people who assembled the stones.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank theburren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Small circle, near town”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We walked over to have a look before dinner in town one night, very close, and honesty box for entrance. Well presented , small stones but understandable. Lucky they have preserved it all from the time. Would be really good to have a small step up so you could get a photo from above the grouping

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BMW1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Don't expect Stonehenge”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

There are many stone circles all over Ireland. You should see at least one while you visit. This one is easy to find, and the €2 helps maintain the site. The circle is unusual because of the stone in the center, but the othe stones aren't "standing" in the iconic way you might expect. Almost as interesting as the circle was the "fairy tree" where people hang items representing illnesses they want the tree spirits to heal. As the items disintegrate, the spirits do their work. Note of caution: you may not want your children to examine it too closely!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marion A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Circle also viewed

 
Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to Stone Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing