We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambushed!”
Review of Gleninchaquin

Gleninchaquin
Ranked #2 of 50 things to do in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are a small business, principally running a commercial sheep farm. We also have a passion for nature, the countryside and conservation. We embrace both business & tourism in an effort to make your experience of Ireland a memorable one. Agri-Tourism, Eco-Tourism, we warmly welcome you here. We are a private park, we maintain everything at our own expense which is why we make a small charge on entry. There is much of Kerry that is inaccessible, our park offers access through well maintained paths together with facilities as you may expect at any attraction. Washrooms, wheelchair access and much more. All of this takes funds to maintain and to enhance your experience here on Beara.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Cork
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Ambushed!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The highlight of this was an attempt by a grasping, troll like woman, who ambushed us, to extort an entrance free from me and my friend, as I attempted to turn my car in her yard, after driving down a narrow valley road, which was lined with rocks to prevent one turning earlier! Needless to say, we didn't pay up, but boy, was she persistent. Gleninchaquin is a hidden gem, by the way, but with those kind of underhand tactics, it can remain hidden, as far as I'm concerned.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
13 Thank Mroshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    56
    9
    6
    24
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely trek and scenic waterfall”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great walk catering for many levels and located well away from the maddening crowd. Good value too. Well worth a visit

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank earmani j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmare, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A regular visitor to this beautiful area.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This valley is blessed with beauty. The first mile and a half drive would not have you think so but then you come over a little hill and the lakes are in front of you with the waterfall (cascade really) at the top of the valey to the left. From here on in its a beautiful drive. Don't forget to visit the stone circle en route. Its only a short walk but the scenery from it is fablous. Once you arrrive at the falls its worth taking the time to walk one of the many routes, from the easy short 20min river walk to the more strenous but well worth it walk over the falls themselves. Enjoy, enjoy. The real Ireland.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful are for walks or picnics”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The €5 entry charge per adult is well worth it for this stunningly beautiful park near Tuosist. The walks are very well marked and even for those only wanting a saunter, there are shorter paths at lower levels. The owners are friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed the red walk (just under two hours).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneKTralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery!”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Magical walk along a rushing creek, and along beautiful waterfalls. Lots of beautiful plants and gorgeous vistas. A nice latte at the end of our walk made the trip complete!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank hipplerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gleninchaquin also viewed

 
Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to Gleninchaquin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing