We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gleninchaquin

Gleninchaquin
Ranked #2 of 50 things to do in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are a small business, principally running a commercial sheep farm. We also have a passion for nature, the countryside and conservation. We embrace both business & tourism in an effort to make your experience of Ireland a memorable one. Agri-Tourism, Eco-Tourism, we warmly welcome you here. We are a private park, we maintain everything at our own expense which is why we make a small charge on entry. There is much of Kerry that is inaccessible, our park offers access through well maintained paths together with facilities as you may expect at any attraction. Washrooms, wheelchair access and much more. All of this takes funds to maintain and to enhance your experience here on Beara.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Deventer, Overijssel, Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

This park was recommended to us by the hostess of the B&B Old Church House. We did not regret visiting the park one bit! The road to get there needed some getting used to (like most Irish driving), but the walk up the mountain to the top of the waterfall was excellent. We walked the red route, and took a little more time than absolutely necessary to enjoy some of the views for a bit longer. By the way, we would not recommend this route for families with young children.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ilona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    51
    9
    6
    23
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Went on the 2 hr hike recently with some family members - mainly teenagers. The lady at the gate who welcomed us was very helpful in getting us started. The nice gentle early roll through sheep filled fields soon give way to steeper paths. Persevere though, the view from the top is stunning and not as difficult as it might look from below. The river walk back to the car park is the perfect antidote to the hills and paths previously crossed. Make sure you have good boots/shoes and a camera

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marcus349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moate, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views of Kenmare bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Simply a breathtaking hike in the Kenmare Hills. We took the 90mins hike but we will return. It was wet but it did not dampen our spirits. Paths are well marked and for the €5 entrance is well worth a visit.
Panoramic views of Kenmare Bay and South Kerry all the way through the walk

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank fitzer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

One of my requirements for our recent trip to Ireland was fitting in a nice hike, and Gleninchaquin could not have fit the bill better. We chose to follow the red trail, which took us two leisurely hours over the waterfall, affording stunning views and the opportunity to get a little too close to sheep (they're surprisingly large). The hike was just taxing enough to feel like we earned the views (and worked off our pints), but not so much that we needed anything more than comfortable-enough shoes (as opposed to boots). As Americans accustomed to lots of free access to well-maintained hiking trails, it felt a bit odd to pay 5 Euros each to walk up someone's hill, but it's worth it. For visitors on a tight timeline, just note that it took almost 30 min. to get to the parking lot from the main road, so factor this in when planning a visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Colleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thrilling experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I discovered Gleninchaquin while staying in Kenmare, Ireland. This is a private working farm but they allow the public to come and enjoy the beautiful area. There are several hiking trails with fantastic scenery. This is off the beaten path but well worth the visit as there weren't but a few people there.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gleninchaquin also viewed

 
Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to Gleninchaquin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing