We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveler rating
100
43
12
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
43
12
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews interior decor plenty hot water golf club no lift seen better days few minutes walk rooms are large short walk into kenmare stayed for one night breakfast room on arrival breakfast was delicious fresh fruit excellent stay full irish close to town bed was very comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 161 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2018

The lodge was just a quick stroll down to the village. It had lovely decor and excellent breakfast in the morning. My only concern upon checking in was the bed! It looked as though it had seen better days, but to my amazement... I slept like a baby.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jess E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2018

The Lodge provided a perfect location for a visit to Kenmare being a short stroll to the Main Street Kenmare and all the restaurants, and also a base for tours around the Cork and Kerry beauty spots. Staff were very friendly and efficient and in particular, the proprietor Rosemary was very helpful in suggesting places to visit and making a booking for dinner in a local restaurant.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
Thank MandN5253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018 via mobile

Pros:
Walking distance to Kenmare town
Rooms were a little over the top in their decor but very clean and had lots of facilities.

Cons:
All of our interactions with the staff from check in to breakfast were cold and unwelcoming.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2018

Booked this accommodation for three days as part of a three week holiday, well before departing Australia. Puzzled when they rang a few days before our arrival and asked me to cancel the booking but that they would then re-book without the intervening booking site. It seems they didn't like the booking site payment terms. Still very odd, and not a good introduction.
On arrival shown to the Fuchsia Suite by a receptionist with superior airs and graces. The room has fussy "oldy worlde" style furniture, but inadequate heating, poor lighting and no really comfortable places to sit. A decent sofa would have been good.
Discovered after a day or so that the heating turned on for a very brief period in the morning and evening. If you left the window ajar - which is how housekeeping leave it - the heat runs away. You need to nurse the heat - and we were there in spring. Hate to think what winter would be like.
Inadequate luggage stands - if you are travelling around for weeks you have luggage, the room was really only equipped to handle quick overnighters.
No lift, stairs to the accomodation floor.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JT1952_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2018 via mobile

The room was clean, comfortable, spacious and the staff were fantastic. Myself and my boyfriend decided last min to go to Kerry and tried several hotels, no where could accommodate us at such short notice. We then looked online and found the lodge. We called and right away she said she could accommodate us even though it was going to be 12.30/1am by the time we got there. The next morning we received a very warm welcome from the lady we spoke to the night before, as we went into the dining area for breakfast. It was really comfortable, clean and had an antique sort of vibe which I thought was great! Breakfast was nice and was included in our price for only €80. Every other place we tried was almost in the hundreds so we were trilled with both the price and service we received. We will Definitely be back! Thank you so much

Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews