We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and good location”
Review of The Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lodge
Ranked #18 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, MN
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Lovely and good location”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Rooms large and clean but the place has seen better days which shouldn't stop you staying here; keep reading. Lovely living room for chatting. Has pictures and other memorabilia from the area. Easy walk to downtown, but needs an outside light in the entrance. We walked from town after dark and would have missed the hotel save a car's lights happened to illuminate the way. Breakfast was set out beautifully with linen and gorgeous china; food was plentiful and hot breakfast was cooked per our request. Rosemarie is a gracious and welcoming hostess.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    33
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
29
54
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed here 22 years ago and were stunned. Still very good but competition has upped their game inIreland. Facility now a bit long in the tooth. Rosemarie and Annie were very gracious indeed. Breakfast set up with fine linens etc was superb. Location could not be better

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Beautiful B&B in a great location...easy walk to the lovely small town center with great pubs. The bathroom was on the small side but very modern, clean and sparkling (stunning...marble ...I think). The included breakfast was delicious. Rosemarie, the gracious host/owner, is a lovely and very friendly woman. Parking was free, easy and very conveniently located. We would love to go there again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Really great place, very friendly. We stayed in the primrose room with our disabled son. Room was better than a lot of hotels I have stayed in.
Our son is on a special diet and the staff were happy to accommodate this.
Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan2182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My partner and I hiked through the beautiful west coast of Ireland in July 2013. The first day we were there was typical Irish weather - cool and wet -- perfect for hiking. All the subsequent days we were treated to a humid heat wave where the temperatures were in the 30s C (90s F) -- thank you global climate change. As a result, farmers were working late into the night (1-2:00 am) to harvest their hay. Our trip to Kenmare included a stay across from a field where a farmer was running a loud tractor making it impossible to sleep. We could not close the windows because it was too hot! We were absolutely exhausted and desperate for another place to stay. I started searching the internet with my phone and a miracle happened: We found The Lodge. At 11:30 pm we called and spoke to Matthew, Rosemary's nephew. He said they had a room available, and it was quiet. Rosemary met us at the door. She was an angel. The room was less expensive, larger and more beautiful than the one we left. The whole house is gorgeous and filled with antiques. Her breakfast is fabulous. I love Ireland and the consistent kindness of the people there, but Rosemary demonstrated hospitality that was so above and beyond -- we will never stay anywhere else in Kenmare.

Room Tip: We looked at 3 different rooms, and they were all beautiful. The Primrose on the first floor is love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayfarer818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had a wonderful two night stay at The Lodge. It was decorated beautifully, the rooms and the sitting room. The breakfast was great and I highly recommend the omelet. It is very close to town and there are some great shops in Kenmare. It is an ideal base for visiting the Ring of Kerry and the Muckross House. This part of Ireland will always be precious to us. My youngest daughter was surprised by her boyfriend at the Muckross House on the first day we stayed at the Lodge. He proposed to her by the gardens at the Muckross House! It was absolutely precious!! We hope to be able to visit Kenmare and The Lodge again some day!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here two nights of the June Weekend. Room was excellent as was food. Short walk to town centre. Ample parking. Staff made us very welcome from beginning to end. Rates are very good for the standard.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barkerk2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.0 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.0 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
956 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kenmare
247 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
0.0 mi away
Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge

Property: The Lodge
Address: Kilgarvan Road, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Kenmare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing