We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”
Review of Shelburne Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenmare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shelburne Lodge
Ranked #5 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Shelburne Lodge while in Kenmare. This beautiful home has an interesting history and is well appointed and comfortable. Breakfasts were plentiful and delicious-restaurant quality! Thank you to our hosts for taking the time to talk to us about the Kenmare area and assist us in making plans. Great golf course just across the road.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Star315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    19
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
47
129
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Tom and Maura were the most gracious hosts. They welcomed us, and were very helpful with activity and eating suggestions. Breakfast was generous and delicious with plenty of choices. The room was quite large and cheery. The town center is a short walk, with plenty of places for food, drink and music. We visited the Kenmare Stone Circle on the west side of town. A dolmen grave is in the center, and the whole green is ringed by a hedge of trees. (A Witch's tree is on the edge of the stone circle -- do NOT harm it, or the prayer papers that might be attached. You might offer one of your own -- as I did, since I was driving those roads.)

Room Tip: The grounds and gardens are nice, so there are several good views. (A pheasant was prowling the und...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We had such an amazing stay @ the Shelburne; not only is the house beautiful but Maura and Tom were absolutely lovely. The food was delicious (Maura is a chef!) and tea by the fireplace I still think of often, with a smile. Highly recommended to anyone looking to stay in Kenmare and/or driving the Ring of Kerry.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suzannek123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I made a phone booking on Wednesday June 6th, for one night, the following Sunday. My wife and I drove to Kenmare from Dublin on the Sunday. We arrived in the town at approx 3.30pm and phoned the Lodge for exact directions. At this point, my wife was told that the room we had booked had been originally booked by somebody else last January and the double booking had gone unnoticed. We were being offered other accomodation, but I hung up the phone as to me it was a way to get somebody down to Kenmare and then pawn them off to their friends in other B&B's who had room. I didn't fall for this and drove straight home again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank JAGDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Point, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Out of our vacation to Scotland and Ireland this was our favorite!! We stayed 3 nights and we were sad to leave. The house and grounds are absolutely gorgeous. The room very spacious, clean, beautiful and we had a lovely view of the grounds. Maura and Tom were so lovely as well! Breakfast was so delicious in a beautiful dining room. Highly recommend having the crab cakes if it is on the menu (they change the fish/seafood daily). They were the best I have ever had! And the Irish pancakes were incredible with the rhubarb compote over fresh yogurt. Oh my goodness! We couldn't have asked for anything more and then Maura gave me a couple of her recipes! It is within walking distance to town which is another plus. The town of Kenmare was so adorable, also one of our favorites in Ireland. Tom and Maura had suggestions for sight seeing which I am so happy that they shared with us. Made our sight seeing so doable and we were not completely exhausted afterwards. Excellent stay!! Thank you Tom and Maura!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We did not have a reservation and "happened" into the Shelburne Lodge. Our stay was wonderful with the best breakfast of our 15 day stay in Ireland. A short, pleasant walk to town- I would highly recommend Shelburne Lodge for a stay in kenmare.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Kenmare was another beautiful small town we visited while traveling around Ireland. It seems to have a lot of lodging options, so it was hard to chose, but I was very pleased with our choice. Arriving in the afternoon, the large and beautiful house has its own free parking inside the charming yard. We were taken to the living room, by a nice fireplace and treated to great coffee and tea.
Rooms are on the second and third floor, and are all very charming. Mine had adjoining modernized bathroom; free wireless internet. Breakfast is served in another beautiful room, and is excellent.
The owner is very pleasant and eager to help, from history to all of the nice selections in town to eat or drink.
Downtown is about a 10 minute walk down the street from the place, a pleasant and easy walk if it is not raining. Driving there is very easy but seems unnecessary.
I was very pleased and would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Familytraveler69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.7 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
926 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
925 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
649 reviews
0.2 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
0.5 mi away
Rockcrest House
Rockcrest House
#1 of 61 in Kenmare
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne Lodge

Property: Shelburne Lodge
Address: Killowen Road | Co. Kerry, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Shelburne Hotel Kenmare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing