We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveler rating
231
21
3
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
21
3
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crab cakes coach house porridge prime minister beautifully decorated with antiques historic property ring of kerry sitting room wonderful hosts poached pear full irish breakfast the main house lime tree two nights memorable stay a short minute walk rooms are lovely
Filter
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 260 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Shelburne Lodge was a wonderful place to stay! Maura and Tom were gracious hosts and we were awed by the history of the home and the antiques everywhere. Had it not been for the running water and electricity, we could have believed we'd been transported back to the 1800's! Shelburne Lodge is situated on spacious, beautiful grounds and is very close to the town centre. We parked our car and walked (5 minutes) into town where there was a variety of great places to eat. Breakfast in the morning was gourmet! Lots of choices of what to have and the breakfast was beautifully presented. For a real treat try the porridge with whiskey cream! We were certainly happy with our choice to stay at Shelburne Lodge!

Room Tip: All the rooms would be excellent!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed here one night on our trip through Ireland. This is a warm and friendly old mansion. The room was quite comfortable and the breakfast was outstanding. The host were friendly and knowledgeable of the area. It's also great that it is just a few blocks from downtown..

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NCJustMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

This lovely old mansion is not to be missed. Very roomy, comfortable accommodations. The breakfast was outstanding. Wonderful grounds to stroll and just a few minutes walk to downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Waazgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We spent two nights here and could not have been more delighted. We were welcomed by Maura, an ex-chef, who is so charming and energetic. Her husband Tom is great and handles the breakfast which is absolutely wonderful while also providing history lessons on the area or for that matter, anywhere in the world!!! They have a daughter who is sweet and helpful as well. Tom also is like a walking atlas so be sure to check your directions out of the place with him before you leave as he may have a short cut and keep you off the Ring of Kerry (unless you want to do it again).
Our room was very nice and we had two windows so we could see beautiful greenery.It is too bad that they don't offer dinner since we didn't find anything amazing in the area. We ate at Packies which was fair and Tom Crean which actually was pretty good and much better then Packies. I would return to the lodge in a minute and it is walking distance into the cute town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank billkhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

My husband I stayed here on the first night of our honeymoon. We couldn't have asked for better hosts or a better place to stay. This place is very clean and the breakfast was amazing. The hosts, Tom and Maura, make you feel right at home and also provide excellent recommendations for where to eat in Kenmare! Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zebrafirebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews