We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast to die for in Kenmare”
Review of Shelburne Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenmare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shelburne Lodge
Ranked #5 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Shelburne Lodge is a five-minute walk from the town centre of Kenmare. Tom and Maura, the owners, were very welcoming and provided a cup of tea and cake on arrival, served beside the log-fire in the sitting room. The building is old and has a fascinating history. The owners have successfully striven to maintain the ambience of a mansion from a previous century. It is set in two acres of pleasant grounds. Our bedroom was quite small and its age was reflected in the furniture and decoration. Similarly the bathroom was a little cramped. However, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable and the bed linen and towels were replaced each day. There were no facilities for making tea or coffee in the room but, on request, morning tea was brought to the room on a tray by Tom before breakfast was served downstairs. The breakfast was outstanding! There was a choice of unusual fruit compotes/porridge/muesli/or just honey and an amazing array of cooked food to follow - the choice included a full Irish breakfast, smoked salmon and eggs [cooked to preference], Dover sole, crab cakes and various egg dishes. All was cooked while we waited and served to the table. Fresh toast, butter, fruit juice, marmalade, honey, tea and coffee were available in abundance. Dinner is not available in the house but the owners also have two restaurants in the town centre where excellent food is served. If I had an initial criticism it was the price of the accomodation - 160 euros per night for two people sharing - but this was offset by the fabulous breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poppadoc5748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 244 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2012

Shelburne Lodge was a wonderful place to stay! Maura and Tom were gracious hosts and we were awed by the history of the home and the antiques everywhere. Had it not been for the running water and electricity, we could have believed we'd been transported back to the 1800's! Shelburne Lodge is situated on spacious, beautiful grounds and is very close to the town centre. We parked our car and walked (5 minutes) into town where there was a variety of great places to eat. Breakfast in the morning was gourmet! Lots of choices of what to have and the breakfast was beautifully presented. For a real treat try the porridge with whiskey cream! We were certainly happy with our choice to stay at Shelburne Lodge!

Room Tip: All the rooms would be excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed here one night on our trip through Ireland. This is a warm and friendly old mansion. The room was quite comfortable and the breakfast was outstanding. The host were friendly and knowledgeable of the area. It's also great that it is just a few blocks from downtown..

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NCJustMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

This lovely old mansion is not to be missed. Very roomy, comfortable accommodations. The breakfast was outstanding. Wonderful grounds to stroll and just a few minutes walk to downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Waazgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We spent two nights here and could not have been more delighted. We were welcomed by Maura, an ex-chef, who is so charming and energetic. Her husband Tom is great and handles the breakfast which is absolutely wonderful while also providing history lessons on the area or for that matter, anywhere in the world!!! They have a daughter who is sweet and helpful as well. Tom also is like a walking atlas so be sure to check your directions out of the place with him before you leave as he may have a short cut and keep you off the Ring of Kerry (unless you want to do it again).
Our room was very nice and we had two windows so we could see beautiful greenery.It is too bad that they don't offer dinner since we didn't find anything amazing in the area. We ate at Packies which was fair and Tom Crean which actually was pretty good and much better then Packies. I would return to the lodge in a minute and it is walking distance into the cute town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank billkhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

My husband I stayed here on the first night of our honeymoon. We couldn't have asked for better hosts or a better place to stay. This place is very clean and the breakfast was amazing. The hosts, Tom and Maura, make you feel right at home and also provide excellent recommendations for where to eat in Kenmare! Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zebrafirebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

great location to walk in to town. Old Country feel. Great breakfast. Clean rooms! Lovely visist

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicola s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.6 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.7 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
984 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#5 of 6 in Kenmare
676 reviews
0.2 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
0.4 mi away
Rockcrest House
Rockcrest House
#1 of 61 in Kenmare
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne Lodge

Address: Killowen Road | Co. Kerry, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range: $47 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Shelburne Hotel Kenmare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing