We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveler rating
227
21
3
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
21
3
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrab cakesporridgecoach houseprime ministerbeautifully decorated with antiqueshistoric propertyring of kerrysitting roomdinner reservationswonderful hostspoached pearfull irish breakfastthe main houselime treetwo nightsmemorable staya short minute walk
Filter
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 256 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2011

This lovely old mansion is not to be missed. Very roomy, comfortable accommodations. The breakfast was outstanding. Wonderful grounds to stroll and just a few minutes walk to downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Waazgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We spent two nights here and could not have been more delighted. We were welcomed by Maura, an ex-chef, who is so charming and energetic. Her husband Tom is great and handles the breakfast which is absolutely wonderful while also providing history lessons on the area or for that matter, anywhere in the world!!! They have a daughter who is sweet and helpful as well. Tom also is like a walking atlas so be sure to check your directions out of the place with him before you leave as he may have a short cut and keep you off the Ring of Kerry (unless you want to do it again).
Our room was very nice and we had two windows so we could see beautiful greenery.It is too bad that they don't offer dinner since we didn't find anything amazing in the area. We ate at Packies which was fair and Tom Crean which actually was pretty good and much better then Packies. I would return to the lodge in a minute and it is walking distance into the cute town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank billkhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

My husband I stayed here on the first night of our honeymoon. We couldn't have asked for better hosts or a better place to stay. This place is very clean and the breakfast was amazing. The hosts, Tom and Maura, make you feel right at home and also provide excellent recommendations for where to eat in Kenmare! Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zebrafirebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

great location to walk in to town. Old Country feel. Great breakfast. Clean rooms! Lovely visist

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicola s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

The Shelburne Lodge is an excellent small hotel (more than a B&B) in a lovely old house with beautiful gardens. Walking distance into Kenmare, but very quiet (set off from the road). Our room was very nice and airy, with antique furniture and fresh flowers, beds very comfortable. The breakfasts were absolutely fantastic: served in a charming dining room, you choose one first course (fresh fruit w/ yogurt, poached peaches, tc... ) and one second course - full Irish breakfast, pancakes, smoked salmon, omelettes, fresh fish. The fresh fish was excellent - we'd never had that for breakfast before, and were converted. Kenmare is a pretty small town with lots of pubs and restaurants, and a very good base for tours of Ring of Kerry, Killarney etc.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank merrikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews