We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb country manor house B&B experience!”
Review of Shelburne Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenmare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shelburne Lodge
Ranked #6 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We had a memorable three day stay at Shelburne Lodge. Everything was perfect, or nearly so, starting with the warm welcome from the inkeeper and her family. Throughout our stay, she, her husband and her daughter continued to be of the utmost friendliness and helpfulness in making us feel welcome and in giving advice on things to do and see in the area.
The lodge itself is a large, historic manor house. Guests have available to them a beautifully appointed, yet cozy living room complete with working fireplace. We were ensconced in a large corner room with views over the ample lawn of magnificent centuries-old trees. The room was completely quiet, since the house is well removed from the main road and protected by large trees and plantings from traffic noise. And to top it off, the three breakfasts we enjoyed were of gourmet caliber, especially the amazing optional fish course consisting of freshly prepared dover sole. Finally, the lodge is very conveniently located to "downtown" Kenmare with its wonderful pubs and bustling traditional Irish music just a 5 or 10 minute walk away.
The only possible complaint we had was with the somewhat antiquated bathtub/shower, which was a bit tricky to operate at first. But we got the hang of it, and it did not spoil our stay in the slightest.
I must say I have read, but cannot understand the negative reviews of this marvelous hostelry in TripAdvisor. Suffice it to say, some people do not appear to have engaged in the necessary planning and preparation that must precede a vacation trip, particularly when there are special medical or health needs at issue. Yes, there are stairs in Shelburne Lodge, but there were stairs in every B&B we stayed in. And yes, one gets what one pays for. Shelburne Lodge is not Econo Lodge. But neither is it overpriced. To the contrary, I believe it is very reasonably priced for what one gets -- a memorable stay in a very warm, romantic country inn!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rick049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Shelburne Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 238 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2011

I have stayed in the Shelbourne Lodge twice and would highly recommend it. Great rooms, superb breakfast and great service. To quote the ex Governator 'I'll be back!!!!'

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bones6t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

The rooms are all unique and beautifully appointed. The dining room, where an unbelievable two course breakfast is served, lovely and the living room where we had
an event one night and were warmed by the fire so comfortable. The grounds are beautiful too. You can walk into lovely Kenmare for dinner, shopping and sites. It gives you easy access to some beautiful drives without the traffic.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank glesn001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

My husband and I found this gem through Frommer's, and it was by far our favorite place to stay during our trip to Ireland. The house is beautifully decorated in traditional decor with incredible attention to detail. The owners, Tom and Moira Foley, are delightful - we enjoyed talking with them. The breakfast is amazing (Moira is a fabulous chef). It was a tremendous value for the price. We walked into town, enjoyed a lovely evening on the town, and were glad to retire to our lovely room in the Shelburne Lodge. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MCH93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

The Shelburne Lodge owners - Tom and Moira - were extremely accommodating and offered a lot of information about Irish history and history of the Shelburne Lodge. They graciously made dinner reservations for our group of 11, gave us maps of the area, and ideas of what to do. The breakfast was AMAZING – on par with a 5 star restaurant!! The rooms were extremely spacious, clean and welcoming. The location was perfect - just a 10 minute walk to town and very quiet. If you are in the Kenmare area you MUST stay here and enjoy this wonderful home (built by Lord Shelburne around 1769) and meet these gracious and wonderful owners.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelTrip50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

A 10-15 minute walk from the heart of town, the Shelburne Lodge reigns supreme among all the B&B's I've ever stayed in. Rustic, quaint, cozy, warm, elegant, friendly, perfectly maintained, and delicious are just a few of the adjectives that come to mind. The hosts were attentive and enthusiastic to our every whim without being overbearing, the rooms were bright and comfortable, and the food cooked up by Maura, a professional chef in her own right, was worthy of a fine dining restaurant. Don't you dare miss breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jedverity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Tom & Maura were wonderful, hospitable and very helpful. The lodge was clean and very large and within walking distance to town. Wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank labetterfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.6 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.7 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
968 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
0.5 mi away
Abbey Court B&B
Abbey Court B&B
#9 of 61 in Kenmare
370 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oldchurch House B&B
Oldchurch House B&B
#3 of 61 in Kenmare
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne Lodge

Address: Killowen Road | Co. Kerry, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range: $48 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Shelburne Hotel Kenmare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing