We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$232
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$177
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ardmore House B&B(Kenmare)(Great Value!)
$79
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$586
$471
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveler rating
224
21
3
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
224
21
3
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrab cakesporridgecoach houseprime ministerbeautifully decorated with antiqueshistoric propertyring of kerrysitting roomdinner reservationswonderful hostspoached pearfull irish breakfastthe main houselime treetwo nightsmemorable stayrooms are lovely
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 253 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2011

We were traveling with our sister and her husband, and we four fell in love with the Shelburne Lodge, and Tom and Maura, our innkeepers. They made sure we had a memorable visit to Kenmare! Our rooms were spacious, clean, beautifully decorated and the bed was made with wonderful Irish linens. The breakfast room was sunny and charming and the breakfast was delicious---fresh Irish dairy products, and a large menu to choose from. The Lodge is situated uphill from "downtown" Kenmare, and we could easily walk to dinner. We had a dreamy stay, and I would have loved to stay another day and night. We will return to Kenmare and the Shelburne Lodge!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jackandjill21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

Shelburne Lodge is a beautiful house and short walk from the heart of town. The staff is very friendly and fun to talk to. They were happy to give us tea upon our arrival and talked about our travels. The breakfast was great! Probably one of the best parts of staying at the Shelburne. The rooms are traditional and cozy. You definitely feel like you are staying in someone’s house, not a hotel. The bathroom was very nice and up-to-date. I would recommend the Lodge to people that want a personal experience, don’t mind a short walk to the town, and enjoy beautiful historic houses.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LonghornTraveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

My wife and I, along with another couple, thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality of Tom and Maura Foley last month in their beautiful home in Kenmare. Located in a gorgeous setting just outside Kenmare's town center, this B&B (a guesthouse is a more appropriate title) is elegant in every way. The sleeping rooms are well appointed and comfortable, the public areas are beautiful and inviting with fine furniture, rugs and paintings, and the breakfast was indescribably delicious. Maura's menu was incomparable, featuring porridge with Irish whiskey cream, poached pears, salmon and a wide assortment of local cheeses and fresh-baked breads. In fact, the breakfast alone was almost worth the price of the night's lodging. As Tom escorted us to our car the morning of our departure, there was frost on the windshield, and Tom went back into the house twice to bring warm water to thaw the glass. I've stayed in many B&Bs over the last 30 years in Ireland, England, Scotland and the States, but this one takes the prize. Do yourself a favor and spend an incomparable time at Shelburne Lodge, where you truly feel like a guest rather than a paying customer.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank williamjphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Pulling into the private drive of Shelburne Lodge we were awed by this grand 18th century manor house. Other pluses were The Kenmare Golf Club across the street, and a short walk to town for dinner & shopping.

Maura, Tom, and Senga greeted us warmly and took us up the steep staircase to our large room. Overlooking the garden, the king sized bed and modern bath were offset by the quaint antiques in the room.

The house is filled with antique furniture(the real thing), books, and charming collectables from all over the world. An elegant sitting room on the first floor, warmed by a wood & peat fire, was our relaxing spot after dinner every evening. Very lived in, we felt comfortable in every room. A house to enjoy---not a museum with velvet ropes across the doorways to look in but not touch.

Now about those fantastic breakfasts! The dining room, outstanding choices & food presentation, along with the service of Tom and his staff couldn't compare to any other place we stayed in Ireland. I'm still talking about the fresh rhubarb compote w/orange zest and fresh strawberries, followed by Dover Sole on the bone for breakfast. All of the choices were innovative and delicious. Other examples were the best, creamiest omelet I've experienced and the generous Full Irish breakfast including porridge with or without Irish whiskey on top. For us, a little early for that.

If you picture your ultimate Irish vacation as being a guest at your loving cousin's country manor house, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paytons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We spent 4 nights at Shelburne Lodge in late September, and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The old house is very charming and Tom and Maura did everything they could to make our stay a pleasent one. I thoroughly enjoyed Maura's breakfasts every morning and their recommendations for dinner were all wonderful. Tom gave us lots of advice on where to go and what to do etc.
The house is an easy 10 minute walk into town, so we could leave the car and not bother about drinking and driving when we went out for dinner everry evening.
Our bedrooms were very comfortable, nicely decorated and the bathrooms were absolutly fine, though not very large. My only complaint might be that the tv in the bedroom was a small and antiquated, but as we did not watch it much, this was not an issue. The living room always had a lovely fire going and lots of books and magazines to enjoy. Great stay, I would definitly go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wisewoman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews