We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place”
Review of Shelburne Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenmare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shelburne Lodge
Ranked #5 of 62 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2007

We stayed at Shelburne Lodge from Sept. 8 - 15, 2007 and couldn't have had a more wonderful stay. The rooms are lovely, the hosts gracious and helpful, and the place is situated a short walk into town. The breakfasts, as others have noted, are fabulous. I'm not fond of oatmeal but loved the porridge with either honey cream or whiskey cream. the omelets are perfect. Tom amd Maura always took the time to ask our plans and give helpful suggestions on things to see around the Inveraigh, Dingle and Beara peninsulas, and even when we drove to Kinsale. They also made dinner reservations for us and sent our laundry out, saving us much time. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 245 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2007

Staying at the Shelburne Lodge was truly enjoyable. The house and surrounding grounds are beautiful and peaceful. Tom, Maura and Eileen couldn't have done more to make our stay better. The food was delicious and prepared with great attention. Our attractive room was immaculate and comfortable. Quality sheets and towels were changed every day. There was always plenty of help with directions, itineraries and reservations. It's a short and pleasant walk to town from the Shelburne Lodge. The food in Kenmare was the best we experienced in Ireland. This was our favorite place and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank isa2win
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2007

From the amazing breakfast of fresh fruit or simple selections [my favorite was the porridge with whiskey cream] to the second course including the 'Full Irish Breakfast' - all of which was delicious and beautifully presented, to the helpful recommendations [and maps] for newcomers of places to see in the town and in the neighboring peninsulas, to the offer to book ferry rides,restaurants, & pubs for music or a 'light bite', to the large bedroom with bath in this quaint large house, we cannot imagine having a better experience in a B & B abroad. It was lovely to come in after an evening on the town, to a fire lit in the fireplace to chase away the night-time damp. It provided a cheerful setting for conversation, reading through the newspapers, or perusing the many 'coffee table books' on the landscape and natural history of the country. A stroll in the garden in back was interesting and relaxing for this gardener who has been pining for rain in her own.
The innkeepers could hardly have been more solicitous and accommodating for our hopes for our stay. They listened with attention, reflected in the quality of suggestions for planning our activities. We didn't have enough time to 'do it all', and would gladly return here to pick up where we left off!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank erin_fans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2007

The house is beautiful from the outside but clearly it's been a long time since the inside has had an overhaul. The bedroom was quite small and it didn't help that they had built into the bedroom the world's smallest ensuite. So small in fact that I had to be carefull when I layed back in the bath that my hair didn't fall into the toilet (I kid you not). The place was also looking a bit grotty for which reason, I spent as little time in the bathroom as possible.
The breakfast was very ordinary to say the least and despite the fact that it was included in the room rate, after the first morning we chose to go out for breakfast for the remainder of our stay.
Despite all of these shortcomings, I can say that the lady who runs the guest house is delightful.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travels2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2007

We arrived for our 3 night stay and, after settling into our spacious and spotless room, were treated to tea and delicious home-made cake in one of the sitting rooms.

Tom and Maura are fabulous hosts - friendly, polite and nothing is too much bother. The breakfasts are the best I have had in any hotel - a choice of fresh fish each day, plus smoked salmon, full Irish cooked breakfast and many other items. The fruit salads were delicious. And a nice spacious breakfast room rather that the usual cramped early morning scrum with other guests !

The hotel is only a short and flat walk into Kenmare. Packies and Mulcahy's are the best choice for eating. Booking essential at weekends.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RutlandUkRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed in Shelburne Lodge on a recent trip to Cork and Kerry. All our other guesthouses were picked from the Lonely Plant Ireland and were good but, despite not being in the LP, Shelburne Lodge was the best by a long way. Post 'Celtic Tiger ' Ireland is not afraid to charge prices that don't match up to the quality delivered (food, accommodation etc.) but this is not the case here. The guesthouse is an Georgian building and is decorated beautifully. Our room was gorgoeus. Breakfast is a real treat: as well as the usual menu we were offered dishes from the restaurant - the owners have one in Kenmare village - including Sole and poached pear and ginger! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank QwertyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2007

We booked a room at shelburne and they gave it away. They were very rude and did not give us any explanation.
We were very disappointed with the appearance of the entrance, broken gate, unfinished druverwat and most rude young lady who did not seem intrested. We were left with no where to stay on a busy night.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank letshearitnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.7 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
1,002 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
1,004 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
0.6 mi away
Rockcrest House
Rockcrest House
#1 of 62 in Kenmare
637 reviews
0.4 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne Lodge

Address: Killowen Road | Co. Kerry, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range: $49 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Shelburne Hotel Kenmare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing