We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sallyport House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Kenmare
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casey's Hotel(Glengarriff)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gougane Barra Hotel(Gougane Barra)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveler rating
176
14
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
176
14
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbird feedersbeara peninsularing of kerryb bolder homebreakfast includingbreakfast was deliciousantique furnishingspeaceful place to stayshort walkfrench press coffeevisiting irelandkenmare baygorgeous homewooded areawish it could have been longerspacious bathroom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 193 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2010

I enjoyed my stay here very much. The rooms and grounds are just beautiful. The staff is wonderful and friendly. Breakfast was also very yummy and plentiful. It is easily a 2 minute walk into town. I also enjoyed my time in the city of Kenmare. Would of liked to have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank photogal1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2009

Loved the array of food choice and quality of breakfast, gorgeous antiques; rooms were very clean, comfortable and quiet.
We had a flexible, professional, and gracious hostess. After flying all night and then driving from Shannon, we arrived several hours ahead of check in time. We did not expect to check in, we were just hoping to be able to leave our bags as we had not called ahead. Our hostess was most accommodating, let us drop our bags, and kindly offered to have our room ready in a half hour.
We walked into town through her back gate, a picturesque trek through a public garden, and had a meal in one of the pubs. Our room was ready when we returned, which we did not expect but very much appreciated. Our hostess went above and beyond what we expected.
Special touches: cozy sitting areas, tea tray in the room, bird feeders by the dining room windows, bird books by those windows (we are birders so we appreciated being able to identify species not found in the U.S.).
The scenic, short walk to town is a plus - take your camera. The hills, garden, trees, water, grounds of the Park Hotel and friendly pony we passed on the way is like walking through a postcard.
Shopping, dining, and entertainment in Kenmare was wonderful and for the 2 days we stayed, our car was parked at Sallyport House. We just didn't need it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vacaybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Sallyport House is a beautiful B&B filled with antique furniture. Room are large, quiet, comfortable, and IMMACULATE. The house has a wonderful view of the bay of Kenmare and is located within walking distance to town. Breakfast included a wide selection of fresh fruit, cheese, cereal, yogurt, bread and several choices of cooked breakfast. We also stayed at Gregan's Castle Hotel, which was lovely, but considerable more expensive. The rooms were much smaller and not quiet as nicely appointed. I believe Sallyport House was a bargin by comparison.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NoTether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

Probably the best place we stayed during our whole trip to Ireland. This house was huge, beautiful, has gorgeous views, the Best breakfast and was elegant and luxurious. Lots of antiques, but it didn't feel dated, but instead, very authentic. The rooms and bathrooms were spotless and huge, the staff was delightful and the location was ideal. There was a small garden path that led past the water into town and only took a few minutes to walk there. Lots of space to roam, or read throughout the house and lots of resources about what to do in the area. A great place to tour Kerry, without the bustle of tour buses and tourists.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kmmurp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

We only had one night at Sallyport. It is a gem. Kenmare is a lovely town. I wish we could have stayed longer. Sallyport is a short walk to town through a lovely park. The accommodations are impeccable.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allyn51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews