We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B & B in Ireland”
Review of Sallyport House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenmare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sallyport House
Ranked #4 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

What a beautiful family home. We were recommended this B & B the day before by a Canadian couple. What a find! Our room had a sitting room upstairs overlooking the beautifully kept garden and back yard. The breakfast was amazing in a lovely sunny room looking out into the garden with several different birds coming to the feeder as we ate. There was a short cut to the village around the lake and through the nearby large hotel. We were given some really good information the next day to explore the Beara Peninsula. Very hospitable and friendly sisters running the home. Great value at 90 euros for two with breakfast (that lasted us through the morning).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Sallyport House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 188 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our stay at Salleyport was fabulous. Even though ours was a one night stay, we were impressed by the clean, comfortable bed, the wonderful breakfast and the attention to detail our hosts provided. They were extremely helpful in recommendations for dinner and sights to see enroute our next destination. We will definitely stay at Salleyport on a return trip.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jorgetapia1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I can not say enough about the hospitality, service, and charm of the Sallyport House. It was within a short walking distance to shops and restaurants in Kenmare, while also offering picturesque views of the Kenmare Bay. Our room was charming yet spacious, especially with "stateside" bathroom amenities like fresh towels and large shower/bath space. My husband and I held this as one of the key finds during our trip to Ireland last August; we would recommend it to anyone who wants a true B&B experience while visiting Ireland.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the front rooms for the best view of the Bay.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Wow. My aunt and I stayed 2 nights here on our trip to Ireland last week. The rooms are super clean and spacious. Nice towels and all the American touches like washcloths!! The breakfast buffet was so tasty and a custom hot breakfast was also included. The B&B has gorgeous grounds and is an easy walk into Kenmare. The restaurant selection is good and there are many nice shops. This was one of our favorite places and I cannot recommend Sallyport House enough. If you want real Irish hospitality and food, stay here!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

What a wonderful B&B. Our room was so spacious with it's own sitting room, with a huge picture window that overlooked the lawn and the trees down to the water. Even the view from the bathroom was beautiful. This is a fine home with so many details. The walk to town was a beautiful stroll along the water through a majestic hotel's garden. Not too far, just enough. I could have stayed here longer than the two nights we had. Parking is great here too. We enjoyed Janie and appreciated her advice. Don't miss the yogurt with a little honey on it....best I ever had. I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRDwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Sallyport is located within walking distance of the two main streets in Kenmare. The walk to town is through a lovely nature preserve where the tide rises and falls. Views from the house are of the  Kenmare Bay to the front, gardens to one side and the nature area to the rear. The house is decorated tastefully with period furniture that is inviting and comfortable. Beds provided a restful sleep, bathrooms had all the amenities, and plenty of parking is available in front of the house. Breakfasts had a good selection of cold items served from the sideboard plus cooked to order Irish breakfasts or omelets. The proprietor was attentive and helped with evening food choices. Sally port B &B exceeded our expectations and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darbymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were lucky enough to have two nights at the Sallyport House in Kenmare. It was an elegant yet warm spot from which to enjoy the beautiful sites in the Killarney area.
We were met at the door by Janie, who was our hostess for the duration of our stay. Our group of seven were the only guests and we were given the option of choosing our own rooms. We stayed in a room with a beautiful mahogany, canopy bed and a view of the back gardens and a small cove beyond. The room was furnished with classic antiques and the amenities provided were very welcome. There was an electric pot for heating water with tea, not an unusual service. What set the Sallyport House apart were the bone china tea cups that were left on the sideboard....a touch of elegance that we never see anymore.
Breakfast was the same elegant affair, with the table set with china, linen napkins and every little detail that made us feel pampered and special. There was a buffet with juices, fruits, cereals, breads and yogurt. We could then order porridge, full Irish breakfast or any combination of eggs, meats and veggie sides. Coffee in the French press was rich and delicious. A variety of toasts and jams complemented the rest of the meal. After such a sumptuous repast, we were able to skip lunch altogether!
Kenmare is a darling town, so much more charming than Killarney, which seems to be nothing but a collection of hotels and B&Bs. It was a seven minute walk for us to get into the town and there were many pubs, restaurants and shops from which to choose for our evenings' activities. We found live music, great food, and lovely strolling spots during our all too brief stay.
I highly recommend the Sallyport House!

Room Tip: There's not a bad room in the house!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfreak53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.7 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.8 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
968 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#5 of 6 in Kenmare
669 reviews
0.3 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
0.9 mi away
Oldchurch House B&B
Oldchurch House B&B
#3 of 61 in Kenmare
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sallyport House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sallyport House

Address: Sallyport House, Kenmare, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range: $48 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sallyport House stands on the shores of the Kenmare River, in the far south of County Kerry, is known to those in the locality. It is a delightful Edwardian house in a really spectacular location, right on the edge of the harbor, surrounded by parkland and trees, and by Reenagross Woodland Park, yet still just minutes away from the center of busy Kenmare town, the most south-easterly point on the renowned Ring of Kerry. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing