We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early bird”
Review of Sallyport House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenmare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sallyport House
Ranked #4 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2011

The house is nice clean and well located. It is not an Edwardian house but on the style of. I don't believe it to be an appropriate house to be included in hidden Ireland . But the most annoying thing is the landlady's insistence on finishing breakfast for nine am.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Davidjackduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Sallyport House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 188 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2011

John and Helen have a beautiful house on a lovely piece of property. The house is a short, beautiful walk to the heart of downtown Kenmare. The house itself is beautifully decorated and maintained. The rooms are some of the most beautiful we have ever stayed in. Helen made us a scrumptious breakfast which we enjoyed while watching the many varieties of birds in the yard.

The one thing I would say above all else is LISTEN TO WHAT JOHN AND HELEN RECOMMEND. I can not stress that enough. John suggested a drive around the Beara Peninsula, stating it was more beautiful than the Ring of Kerry, and he was right. Helen suggested we drive through Kilarney National Park and stop at the Muckross House, and that was my favorite part of our entire trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view!
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank abragast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

My 20 year old daughter and I stayed at Sallyport House the first night I arrived in Ireland. The accommodations were lovely -- very well appointed -- and the beds were very plush andcomfy. I remember sinking into them. The shower in the room had the best showerhead and pressure ever. We had a spacious room that had two big beds in separate sections and had a seating area. We had a lovely view out the back and really enjoyed strolling around a path through parkland that adjoins the property before we ventured into town. It is a very quick walk into town. The property itself had lovely landscaping, including beautiful rosebushes. The hosts were gracious and the breakfast was delicious. We used it as our starting point to tour the Ring of Kerry the next day.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank minnienewf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

We enjoyed the antique-filled bedroom and adjoining sitting room at this small, owner-operated B&B. It is located on the south side of Kenmare, just as you come into town. It has a long back yard across which one can see a large manor house now converted into a luxury resort, along the river that flows through town. Breakfast was delicious, and there is ample parking -- although on this night we were the only guests! The home, with large public areas as well as spacious rooms (suites, really) are chuck full of antiques and the whole place has a delightful "homey" feel.
This B&B is cash only, and on booking a reservation (we called from the US) we were asked to mail a check (US dollars OK) for $100 deposit. One should request that this be held and returned when the room is paid for in cash (euros), as you will likely get a slightly better exchange rate from your bank for cash through an ATM. Our deposit arrived in less than a week by regular mail, of which we received email notification.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Reamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Gracious and helpful owner, great location within walking distance of town, great breakfast, confortable and very quiet bedroom, modern bathroom, and helpful tourist material provided. Antique furnishings, tastefully decorated.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike_Harriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Janie was at the door to meet us as four road weary travelors arrived. Entering the front door we experienced the tranquilty and beauty of the Sallyport House. We were allowed to choose our two rooms. We chose 2 rooms with a view of the back including a lake, parks, fields and forests. Wonderful. The room we chose ended up having the most comfortable kind sized bed that we have ever slept in. Very peaceful and quiet. You can take a 5 minute walk down a path to the town of Kenmare. The breakfast was fresh and delicious. The only somewhat inconvenient thing was that you are required to pay cash, although she does let you know that when you book your room which you are required to put a cash deposit on. We stayed in several lovely rooms on our 12 day trip to England and Ireland but Sallyport House was definately our favorite.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KentuckyCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stayed one night at the Sallyport House after having spent the previous 9 nights in several 5 star hotels. I'm not going to say it was on the same level as a 5*, but it was definitely a lovely B&B. Helen, the owner, was very welcoming and she quickly shared information about dinner possibilities and where we might find trad music in town. We went to Packie's, and it was a great choice. Kenmare was the nicest Irish town we stayed in, and we were sorry to have only spent the one night there.

Breakfast the next morning was fantastic! The eggs were so good, I wish I knew how they made them! My husband said the salmon was the best he'd had during the entire 2 week trip. During breakfast Helen inquired about our plans for the day. She strongly suggested that we abandon our plans to tour the Ring of Kerry and to see the Ring of Beara. We were hesitant at first, but so glad we listened! We had already traveled on the Ring of Kerry from Killarney to Kenmare and although beautiful, it was full of crazy drivers. The Ring of Beara is gorgeous and we hardly saw any other people! Much more relaxing drive for my husband.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beechnut9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.7 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.8 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
970 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#5 of 6 in Kenmare
669 reviews
0.3 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
0.9 mi away
Oldchurch House B&B
Oldchurch House B&B
#2 of 61 in Kenmare
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sallyport House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sallyport House

Address: Sallyport House, Kenmare, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range: $47 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sallyport House stands on the shores of the Kenmare River, in the far south of County Kerry, is known to those in the locality. It is a delightful Edwardian house in a really spectacular location, right on the edge of the harbor, surrounded by parkland and trees, and by Reenagross Woodland Park, yet still just minutes away from the center of busy Kenmare town, the most south-easterly point on the renowned Ring of Kerry. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing