We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed early.”

Kenmare Heritage Centre
Ranked #5 of 17 Shopping in Kenmare
Attraction details
Alpine, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Closed early.”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We based our trip from Killarney to Kenmare on this attraction and checked the hours. We made it there before the scheduled closing and we made it there before the little personal note on the door said it was closing, but it was already closed. We had been excited to see this place--and it was our only example of lace making that we included on this trip to Ireland. We were very disappointed to not be able to view this attraction and by default not see any examples of Irish lace.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    13
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Decent information”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

It has some nice information about the area in the building. And if you need to know anything about the Kerry area, the people working in the tourist office are most helpful.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank eclipsecentre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Informative and interesting heritage centre”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stopped in the heritage centre for a quick look, and got engrossed in the history of the place and the people for nearly an hour! Well laid out, not overly long info panels, nice displays, e.g. local lacework. It doesn't have to be raining to make this a worthwhile stop. Tourist information shares the same building.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank AraghtyTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Short and sweet”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

A modest but most informative display and brochure. Well done. The information staff was great and even helped make reservations for airport hotel at departure.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Len R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lots of tourist information and informative staff”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Every leaflet covering every attraction within a 75 mile radius and lots of local area maps for free. The exibition about Kenmare was also interesting and the building is lovely. If you need help organising your holiday, this is a great place to start.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank rebmayne10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kenmare Heritage Centre also viewed

Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to Kenmare Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing