We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location good - mattress bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2009

Spent 2 nights here to visit County Kerry and avoid crowds in Killarney. Location was good for our purposes. Free parking – tiny spots so it’s good the rental car was small. Charming town with lots to see and do. Staff friendly and (included) breakfasts were outstanding. On the downside, the mattress was horrible and pillows really hard. The safe didn’t work and the room was small and smelled musty. On seeing good reviews this site, wish we’d just asked for a different room. We’d give them another try if we could be assured the bed situation were resolved.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbRoundRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 264 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2009

Stayed for three nights over August weekend. Got a good clean room and a very good breakfast (only time ever offer whiskey option in porridge) at good value prices thus we were happy customers. Staff friendly, esp breakfast staff. Parked right outside door every time. Good restaurant selection in Kenmare, recommend Spanish restaurant immediately opposite and Prego - had a real buzz on Sunday morning. Avoid rooms at front of hotel on Saturday nights as a lot of street noise after pubs close.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam-92-DL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

I stayed in this hotel with a group of friends. The hotel was reasonably priced , with pretty decor and it was spotlessly clean . Also the breakfast was delicious, especially their award winning porridge which was melt-in- the-mouth.

Stayed: August 2009
1  Thank tealovercork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

Looking at the exterior of the hotel I almost didn't bother venturing inside. What a mistake that would have been. The minute we walked through the doors we were welcomed by the very professional staff. In our room we were impressed by the tranquil decor, warmth, cleanliness and comfort. The decor in the hotel public areas is quality traditional. It has personality and reflects the history of the building. The Irish breakfast with homemade bread was superb, served in a beautiful dining room by friendly, efficient staff. The evening meals served in the bar were from interesting menus of delicious food obviously put together with good quality ingredients. Finally the staff. They were there when needed and went about their business in a quiet, dignified way. A credit to the hotel. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Avogil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2009

I've stayed at the Lansdowne Arms Hotel for three nights in late April, as part of a two week trip through southern and western Ireland. As this is a small hotel at a very reasonable price, I was quite impressed, especially by the spacious room (with a desk and a safe) and the great choice for breakfast, which can inlude a complete irish breakfast or scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and - in addittion to that - e.g. some porridge (which I can strongly recommend). Another nice feature - you can park your car behind the hotel, away from the street.

There are a few smaller drawbacks. All thoroughfares in Kenmare can have lots of traffic at times, and the hotel is at the corner of two of those roads. I had a room to the back, which I would guess to be more quiet. A few times, however, I couldn't keep the window open, for the room was relatively close to the kitchen and its ventilation shafts.

Compared to other small hotels and B&Bs on my journey in the same price-range, this was certainly the best value.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank just_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2009

I stayed at the Lansdowne for one night over Christmas with a few friends. We chose this hotel as it was the most reasonably priced in an area where 4 and 5 star hotels dominate. We only stayed one night so luxury wasnt really a top priority. BUT, overall, we were very impressed by the quality of the accomodation, it was clean and comfortable and the bar food was really great, the menu has something for everyone! I have heard reports of poor service but we did not experience this. It is down to earth Kerry hospitality!
Well worth its low rate!

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pixie_ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2008

I stayed in the Lansdowne Arms Hotel with my wife for a weekend in October. Overall the hotel was okay but I dont think it merits some of the previous 5 star ratings. Our room and bathroom was very dated and the whole Hotel is in need of a good revamp. The bar area is nice and the reception area is okay but the room we were staying in was freezing and very dated. The food in the restaurant was also very average and never before have I seen a platter of frozen chicken wings, ribs, spring rolls on the main course in a dining room. The breakfast was fine the next morning. We are not fussy at all when it comes to hotels but this hotel was NOT good value for money. We paid Hotel prices for an average B and B at best.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
13.7 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.5 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
978 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
702 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
997 reviews
0.1 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Arms Hotel

Address: William Street, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Price Range: $116 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lansdowne Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lansdowne Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Arms Kenmare
Hotel Lansdowne Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing