We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, service and atmosphere!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice food, service and atmosphere!”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Only tried the Guinness Stew but well worth it especially with a pint of Murphy's - highly recommended!
Friendly and helpful staff!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skimbrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneArms, Owner at Lansdowne Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
The Quill Family owners of the Lansdowne responds:
Thank you very much for your kind comments, glad you enjoyed the food and the pint, we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    84
    31
    10
    5
See reviews for
39
114
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bonnyrigg
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Very friendly and helpful hotel, very beautiful out in the seating area as you go into hotel. Went with elderly parents who were very fussy, but nothing too much problem excellent waitress. Food very nice, parents even managed half portions. Lovely meal & will be back next time in Ireland

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazzer90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

An old hotel with a dignified air, the Lansdowne Arms has been up-dated and cared for, offering comfortable rooms and a convenient location. The desk staff were not uncivil, but they were the least welcoming we encountered in three weeks' touring rural Ireland. The breakfast had a meager feeling, particularly in a town which serves as a base for hiking, boating and other outdoor activities: a truly eerie prehistoric stone circle (right in town) is the main cultural attraction.

Room Tip: Rooms above ground level are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBonnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

This hotel was very conveniently situated in the Main Street of Kenmare. Recently renovated to a high standard. Staff were extremley friendly and helpful. Excellent Irish breakfast - which included an award winning porridge The overall cleanliness of the hotel was excellent.

Good parking facilities - had own car park

Irish pub and restaurant attached to the hotel

Room Tip: Only saw the one room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishmolBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Good location with parking. Very quite and slept well. Great breakfast and you must try their award winning porridge with honey, whiskey and with another secret ingredient?. I wonder would I have passed the breath test on leaving. All staff were friendly and helpful. I have stayed there before and will stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knockroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

The hotel is very centrally located in town and you can walk anywhere. The room was well priced (80 Euro with breakfast) and the woman at the desk was lovely. However our room was dated and the bed uncomfortable. I honestly didn't sleep a wink. We were also on the first floor and had to keep the curtains closed so passersby couldn't see inside and the street lights didn't keep us up. We stayed at many great places on our trip and this room just didn't have that clean, nice feeling like the others.

We hardly saw Kenmare but it seemed like a nice town. We enjoyed some live music a pub

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank perrystreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

The staff are super, the food is well prepared and fresh, the porridge is delicious, the shower in our room was phenomenal, and they accommodated our baby not just by providing a travel cot but also by giving us one of the larger rooms. Although it faced the street it wasn't noisy.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.5 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.5 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
910 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
916 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
634 reviews
0.1 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Arms Hotel

Property: Lansdowne Arms Hotel
Address: William Street, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lansdowne Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Lansdowne Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Arms Kenmare
Hotel Lansdowne Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing