We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal Location, Late Breakfast :(” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes
Ranked #16 of 63 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ideal Location, Late Breakfast :(”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2009

The location is fantastic as it is right in on the main street. The room (#8) was plenty big, clean and modern. The grub at the restaurant was good. My only complaint would be the breakfast which doesn't start until 8:30, so we missed it both days. 8:30 is too late in my opinion. Otherwise I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trevorjmahoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick099, pat foley at Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes, responded to this review, October 15, 2009
Thanks for you comments during the main season we start breakfast before 8 0 clock In late September we bring it forward to 8.30 as most our guests prefer a late start and dont use this time
Again thanks you for you great prise for our townhouse we will keep the early service going longer next year ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    57
    14
    14
    9
See reviews for
68
77
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

We stayed in Foley's self catering houses in Ard Mullen. They were spotlessly clean and very well equiped. The decor was most tastefully put together and with having young children, the two sitting rooms were a blessing. Overall, we had a great time in kenmare and will be back.
Thanks again to Pat and marion Foley for their help - even returning forgetten items the following week.
Kerry ABU

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CuneoGalway_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick099, Patrick Foley at Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes, responded to this review, October 15, 2009
Thank you it was our pleasure to look after yourself and you family will see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

Stayed in Kenmare recently for a weekend at Foley's Townhouse in the centre of town. Couldn't fault a thing about it, the owner Patrick was the friendliest guy I've ever come across as well as the staff in general there and especially the polish waiter, a very happy guy, flying around the place abit like Manuel in Fawlty Towers!. The bar has live music 6 nights a week except for Sunday and on the Saturday night it was buzzing! The place was packed. Ate in the restaurant one night as part of our package and it was just great. The rooms were lovely, the hot water seemed to come and go but we managed fine! Breakfast was great too. In general the town of Kenmare is one of the cleanest and most colourful I've come across, with fantastic window boxes everywhere, the community obviously take a great pride in keeping it that way and its no surprise it has won gold medal in the Tidy Towns for so many years. The other restaurant we ate in was The Horse shoe and it was second to none but booking is essential! Plenty things to do and some lovely walks. Overall a great weekend in a great spot and highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonniegirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2009

We stayed in the self catering offered by Foleys and it was excellent. Staff was available and friendly. Very spacious and it was nice to have our own space after a week of B&B's. The location is out of town a bit but still convenient and right on the the Ring of Kerry driving route. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chellye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2009

This place was by far the best find of my trip with my family to the Ring of Kerry. After driving the Ring anti-clockwise from Killarney, we drove into the town of Kenmare. Kenmare is by far the best town on the Ring drive and best left till last.

We walked the streets looking for a place to stay and came across Foleys. At a 'walk up' rate of 89euro for two with full breakfast we couldnt go wrong.

The rooms are modern, very well insulated from the pub downstairs and the road (we didnt hear a thing all night!), the breakfast was great, the pub was brilliant and the service from all involved was as good as any 5 star place I have stayed in. Top notch.

Only criticism is that the bathrooms are a little dated, but are still very clean and serviceable. But don't let that turn you off. It really is great value for money and a great base for exploring Kenmare and the Ring. We loved this pub/B&B and have recommended it to everyone in my office already!!!!

  • Liked — Value, service and the room.
  • Disliked — Nothing at all.
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milks7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2009

We Stayed at Foley's Guesthouse for 6 Nights. Between the Owner Patrick Foley, his wife Marion and all of the staff they really made us feel extremely welcome and comfortable. Anything we needed we had. The Food was delicious, the rooms were newly remodeled and well furnished. I would definately stay at Foley's Guesthouse again.

Mary
Boston

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcoppinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2009

I stayed at Foley's for six nights in March 2009 and cannot say enough positive things. The rooms were just remodeled and were beautifully done. The hotel was immaculate and the staff could not have been nicer. The owner Patrick went out of his way to offer assistance with anything we asked for. The pub is lively and offers a wonderful night of entertainment. The food was fresh, original and reasonable priced. I would highly recommend Foley's to anyone. I have stayed at many beautiful hotels and found our experience here to be top-notch. We will definately return.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen2865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.1 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
0.4 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.4 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kenmare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes

Property: Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes
Address: 16 Henry Street, Kenmare 02123, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Foley's Townhouse is a family run, award-winning guesthouse, restaurant and Traditional Irish Music pub in the centre of Picturesque Kenmare. Foley's Townhouse is perfect for these mid-week escapes or weekend breaks and as a base to tour the Ring of Kerry, Ring of Beara, Wild Atlantic Way, West Cork and the Dingle Peninsula. Our self-catering Holiday Homes are ideal for families and groups to discover all that Kenmare, Kerry and the South West of Ireland has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you to Foley's Guesthouse or Holiday Homes, a holiday to remember. Our Holiday Homes offer a very high standard of comfort and relaxation, in close proximity to the Picturesque heritage town of Kenmare. Each House itself is the ultimate of of luxury, boasting all modern conveniences. The houses are ideal for a family get away or for groups of friends looking to explore the fabulous south west. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing