We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes
Ranked #19 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This hotel is in a great location for the many shops, bars, restaurants and atmosphere of Kenmare a pretty town in Kerry. The hotel bedroom was a good size with plenty of space. The negatives in the bedroom are the quality of the bed linen - seen better days, towels a bit tired and finally why have tea/coffee facilities if they don't make a drinkable beverage. Outside those negatives I felt safe and secure, the staff were friendly and willing to provide local information.

This hotel has no off street parking but we never had any trouble parking in the street.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hampt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick099, Owner at Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Hello HamptOn,
Thanks as always for taking the time to write and tell me of your experience's of my Hotel and my hard working local staff that help to keep the show in Foley's running everyday , I am glad you felt secure and safe in my building as your and for all my guests your safety is paramount , I spoke to house keeping about the quality of you bedding you experienced they have culled any thing that might let our high standards down ,I have also looked at out tea and coffee service and have improved it for you next visit. In order to provide a better service we now provide fresh ground coffee and hot tea free of charge to all our residents in our cosy bar/ restaurant from 8 in the morning until 11 at night every day so you can be sure always be sure of that proper cup of tea. thanks for you comments on our great location yes we are bang in the middle of it all in Kenmare close to many shops , bars and restaurants,
It was great having you as a guest , hope to see you again soon
Best regards
Pat Foley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 256 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

stayed there for 3 nights in summer. room small but clean (fresh refurbished) but no air condition . very very hot under the roof. very very loud guests during night and kitchen door slams every 30 seconds so you can hear it up the the room under the roof.
for making party all night long it would be cool to stay, but for normal holiday for couples with or without children or relaxing not recommendable....!!!!
bar personel polite, but owner does not care about your expectations. he only interested at getting your room fee in the beginning of your stay.

but the city Kenmare is wonderfull, full of tourism but golfing , fishing and bathing is possible

Room Tip: all room are loud, cause bar door is slamming the whole night. dont choose a room under the roof in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikiNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick099, Owner at Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Hello NikiNick
Thanks for you review on you visit , I am sorry you found your room warm but at the time of your visit we experienced temperature we never had before, unfortunately for you we got caught out but we now have fans and are ready for next season hopefully we need them, Apologies if other guests made noise as all live music finishes in bar at 12.30 at the latest .We are a busy pub/restaurant in the middle of a busy tourist town in summer so there will be some noise from the street . I am delighted that you found the staff polite and helpful , as the owner your experience and expectations are paramount to me and I am sorry you feel otherwise. Please accept my apologies for same. In high season we do collect for the rooms at check in as we can provide a better service in the morning and not have to manage cash and room charges

My best regards,

Pat Foley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here just one night for a wedding I was attending. We originally booked a triple room and then changed to a family room/for four persons. It was summer and this particular room was at the top of the house with one tiny window. No fan was available on request and the room was sweltering. The bathroom was average but I guess we were ok with this and realised we'd booked four people in one room so accepted those little issues we had. However, the reason I'm writing this review is due to an issue that arose when checking out. I can't highlight how rude the owner was to us, the PAYING customers of his establishment. We questioned the cost of the bill as we had the understanding the room was slightly less than what we were asked to pay on check out, it also appeared that the four bed room was more expensive per person than the three bedded room which to us didn't make sense seeing as the room was so hot etc. don't get me wrong, I have no problem with a hotel having a disagreement with a customer and perhaps there was a mistake/misunderstanding re the original quotation price, personally i thought the cost was not the issue, but the way the man at reception spoke to us was so out of order. He accepted zero responsibility or potententisl for misunderstanding blaming us completely for the error while waving his laptop in our face. He seemed to think we were booking into a manhattan hotel the way he spoke about the time of year. I checked the online price that morning for the following week-same day and he was appalled i even questioned it..... 'there's not a room to be got in kenmare lads' was his retort- absolutely zero people skills- disgraceful!!!! I don't generally complain or cause issue but I was so mad this man gets away treating people who are paying his wage in this way. Also as a side, In general other staff were not very friendly in the bar also (one lady was quite rude and unfriendly also) although i have to say breakfast bar staff were lovely.

Anyway rant over, I definitely would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lulubb84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick099, Manager at Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Hi Luubb84


Thank you for your very detailed review. I apologise for the problems you experienced with your room. That Friday was 34 degrees which is unheard of in south Kerry. We have now installed fans in all of rooms. I am sorry that you were confused over the agreed room rate and that you found me rude when I tried to explain same to you. At all times our main concern is that our guests experience a happy stay with us

Best regards,


Pat Foley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We rented ArdMullen #1 - a 4 bedroom home and would certainly recommend it. It was clean and welcoming. Picking up the keys in town was a very easy process. The bedrooms are decent size and kitchen is large and stocked with the basics. There is a living room with a tv, and then another sitting room for relaxing. The dining room table easily seats 8. We were traveling with our family, including a 2 year old, and the home worked out beautifully. It was about a 10 minute walk into town - mostly along a beautiful path. Only a short distance was on a road, and that did have sidewalks. The town has many pubs and restaurants. Kenmare is great place from which you can easily explore the national park, ring of kerry, dingle, etc. The only down side to the house was a bit of road noise in the front bedrooms - which we are not used to. Would absolutely rent it again if we return to that beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DSK1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick099, Manager at Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Hi DSK1234

Many thanks for you very kind review. We are very happy that your stay in our holiday homes was such a good experience for you. At all times the comfort of our guests is of paramount importance and we put huge effort to ensure that our guests needs and expectations are fulfilled.
South Kerry is indeed a beautiful area and Kenmare is a wonderful base to locate.

It would be our great pleasure to accommodate you again in the future. We sincerely hope your little two year old will remember some of the vacation.

Our very best regards to you and thank you again

Pat Foley, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here for two nights recently - and would recommend this place as a great centre and location for exploring this region. Good wholesome breakfast served here sets one up for the day.
And reasonable tariff also.

Room Tip: We stayed in room number one - and it was to our satisfaction all round.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevin1950186621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick099, Manager at Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Kevin
Many thanks for your very kind review. We strive at all times to make our guests stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. Again we appreciate you taking the time to write your review and look forward to welcoming you to Foleys in the near future.

Best regards

Pat Foley, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great location, have to accept that there is music and noise until midnight due to being bang in the center of things. There was no personal attention or service, apart from one girl serving us breakfast who was very friendly. We had a question with the WiFi Code as it was wrong in the guestbook, the response we got was discourteous and was frustrating that we didn't even know who the manager was to discuss this issue.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaetenFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick099, Manager at Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Baeten Family

Thank you for taking the time for providing the feedback on your stay at Foleys. The location is great. Foleys is a busy pub/restaurant/guesthouse and while our live music is enjoyable to the majority of our guests we do apologise if it disturbed your stay. Unfortunately, we had just upgraded our WiFi , and had not changed it on our guest book. We sincerely apologise if our staff were unhelpful or appeared rude and we have spoken to our team about your experience.

Best regards,
Pat Foley,Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were very satisfied with our stay at Foley's Guesthouse in Kenmare. It is located on the main tourist street in Kenmare, making it ideal for window shopping and pub hopping. It is also a great launch point for the rings of Kerry or Bantry. The service was good, as was the breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick099, Manager at Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Lynn1950

Thank you for taking the time to update us on your stay at Foleys. Kenmare is indeed a great location to base oneself and tour the various rings. At all times we strive to ensure our guests are happy and well taken care of. We hope to welcome you to Foleys, Kenmare again in the future.

Best regards from Kenmare
Pat Foley, Manager


.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
13.7 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.4 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
978 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
0 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
0.7 mi away
Abbey Court B&B
Abbey Court B&B
#8 of 61 in Kenmare
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes

Address: 16 Henry Street, Kenmare 02123, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range: $84 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Foley's Townhouse is a family run, award-winning guesthouse, restaurant and Traditional Irish Music pub in the centre of Picturesque Kenmare. Foley's Townhouse is perfect for these mid-week escapes or weekend breaks and as a base to tour the Ring of Kerry, Ring of Beara, Wild Atlantic Way, West Cork and the Dingle Peninsula. Our self-catering Holiday Homes are ideal for families and groups to discover all that Kenmare, Kerry and the South West of Ireland has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you to Foley's Guesthouse or Holiday Homes, a holiday to remember. Our Holiday Homes offer a very high standard of comfort and relaxation, in close proximity to the Picturesque heritage town of Kenmare. Each House itself is the ultimate of of luxury, boasting all modern conveniences. The houses are ideal for a family get away or for groups of friends looking to explore the fabulous south west. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing