We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenmare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Shore Farm Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed one night at the Sea Shore Farm in May. The guesthouse is located up a narrow road which is only a short walk or drive to town.

Beautiful view from the room of the river and farmland. The room was huge! Comfortable bed, very clean and even a bathtub in the ensuite!

Greeted by Owen and Patricia's daughter Moira. Most B&B's offer tea after settling in, and this one was no different.

There is a short path down to the river through the farmland, cows on one side. Even the neighborhood dog (Blondie) followed us down chasing hares on the way.

Owen & Patricia greeted us in the morning at breakfast. The view from our table was wonderful as was our meal.

Wonderful place to stay when you find yourself in Kenmare.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kennedy1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
113
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We spent 12 days in Ireland in Bed and Breakfast establishments across the Emerald Isle. Our experience at Sea Shore was at the top of the list. A true "Irish experience" with top notch hospitality. The rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated, with great views and spotless. You could eat off the floor. Nice touches everywhere. This B and B is located on a country road a short walk from the city centre. Kenmare is a terrific base to see the Ring of Kerry or Ring of Beara. There are beautiful views of the the Kenmare Bay and Irish countryside outside your bedroom window. You can see cows and horses out in the fields and in the distance. Beautiful walks through the countryside if you are so inclined. Owen and Patricia were outstanding hosts. We were greeted with a pot of tea and biscuits. Our hosts provided us with maps of the area and made many very helpful suggestions as to how to explore the Ring of Kerry, where to go to eat, and they even helped us with considering options for accommodations in Dublin for our return flight. Breakfast was an experience in and of itself with the best granola in Ireland with fresh nuts, berries and oats. You could also order the traditional Irish breakfast with salmon if you desired presented as if you are in a gourmet restaurant. Fresh fruit was served with fresh orange juice. All of this with a beautiful view out the window. We spent 2 nights here as a base for the Ring of Kerry and Beara and could have easily spent 5 days exploring. A few tips: 1) It is a little hard to find if you don't know where you are going. Address won't "take" in Garmon. So if you get lost simply stop anywhere on the main road in Kenmare and ask for directions or call. The Centro petro stop is a short distance away. Tip 2) No credit cards - cash or cheque Tip 3) Take full advantage of all the travel advice Owen and Patricia have to offer. No one is better than they are in terms of knowledge and expertise w/ Ireland. Tip 4) If you have trouble navigating stairs ask for a lower level room. We'll go back to this beautiful area and will arrange our trip to ensure that we can stay at the Sea Shore Farm again.

Room Tip: Check to see if you can get a room with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 404Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

The Sea Shore farm is located in a beautiful, peaceful location and is run by two lovely hosts. They provided us with great suggestions for meals and sights, along with excellent directions. This B and B is a true gem, you won't be disappointed!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Pat and Owen are wonderful, inviting hosts that make you feel like family from the second you walk in the door. They gave us many helpful maps and tips on driving around the area. The farm overlooks the peaceful Kenmare river while still be a short walk or drive from town. If you get a room overlooking the river, it makes for a great place to have an indoor picnic with goodies you pick up from the farmer's market. One small downside is that wifi isnt very strong int the rooms and you have to go down to the lounge but it's a lovely lounge with great views of the bay.

Room Tip: View of Kenmare River
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Our accommodations were terrific! Our hosts were very gracious and welcoming. Good breakfast in a lovely dining room with a wonderful view. Close enough to the town centre to walk and far enough out for peace and quiet. Would definitely return!

Room Tip: All of the rooms looked nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My wife and I spent eight nights in Ireland, and our two night stay at this B&B was by far the best overall lodging experience of the trip. The B&B is located on a farm overlooking the Kenmare river. The property is gorgeous. It made my day waking up to the views of the cows, green pasture and river from the large glass door.

In addition to the view being great, the room and bathroom were spacious. The bathroom even had wash cloths - which is unusual for European lodging. And the beds had sheets - again not typical of European lodging. The mattress was the most comfortable of the trip. My wife was happy that a hair dryer was provided.

Everything was very clean and comfortable.

The breakfast each morning was excellent. On the first morning I had the traditional Irish breakfast (without the Irish pudding - I don't like Irish pudding). The eggs were some of the best that I have ever had. The next morning I opted for porridge and the cold breakfast offerings---bread, cheeses, yogurt, and fruit. Pat gave us Baileys for the porridge, which was terrific.

The owners, Patricia and Owen are wonderful host and even better people. Owen gave us excellent advice regarding the sights to see around Kenmare. Owen let us borrow a few maps of the area. In addition to the advice on the sights, I very much enjoyed our chats regarding various subjects, including American bluegrass music. On the last morning Pat and Owen gave us great advice for sights en route to our next destination.

Some of my most memorable experiences when traveling abroad have been interactions and chats with locals. Pat and Owen are the type of people that I want to encounter in all my travels.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I have not had the best experiences with B&B type places in Europe (very hit or miss), but this was a FABULOUS find for anyone travelling to the Kenmare area.

Not only is the scenery beautiful at Sea Shore Farms, but the room we stayed in was very spacious and comfortable. The common area was also large, with many resources to help visitors plan their time in the area. I even had a personal run down by the proprietor, Mary Patricia O'Sullivan, about Kenmare, the best restaurants to go to, the best time to start the Ring of Kerry drive, which way to go, where to stop on the way, etc. It was like having a personal vacation planner!

My husband thoroughly enjoyed the Irish breakfast that was prepared for him each morning, and I opted for other options, all of which were great. Both the owners were available to guests each morning, and they took time to stop, learn everyone's name and chat with each person.

They also helped me pay my toll online for the M1. They also commiserated about what an unfriendly system that is for tourists. It was very obvious from every action and word that they were there for the tourists and wanted their guests to have the best experience possible.

I felt as if I was truly a welcome guest in their house. They are some of the nicest people we met along our journey in Ireland, and I feel fortunate to have stayed at their place. Thank you for a great two nights in Kenmare!

Room Tip: They have upstairs and downstairs rooms, so if you do not navigate stairs very well, ask for a lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bermudababe76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.4 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
1.5 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
956 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
1.3 mi away
Abbey Court B&B
Abbey Court B&B
#5 of 61 in Kenmare
362 reviews
0.6 mi away
Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Shore Farm Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Shore Farm Guesthouse

Property: Sea Shore Farm Guesthouse
Address: | Tubrid, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Shore Farm Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Sea Shore Farm provides guesthouse accommodation to a very high standard in a spacious and magnificent setting at the head of the Ring of Kerry peninsula with commanding Views overlooking Kenmare Bay with the Caha Mountains of the Beara Peninsula forming the backdrop to this unique location. Sea Shore Farm is a Grade A 3 Star [Hotel Quality] guesthouse as well as being AA 4 star with the special personal touch that only a small family run guesthouse can deliver. The guesthouse is surrounded by a working farm with lands that extend to the shore of the bay - a delight for nature lovers, botanists, birdwatchers, etc. Yet Seashore Farm Guesthouse is just one mile from the centre of Kenmare Town. One can walk the mile via the quiet Tubbrid local side road [L7556] in ten to fifteen minutes. For those wishing to do the journey by car one can drive to the very convenient free town car park at the end of this road and freely stroll through the town centre without parking worries. We are also situated just 400 metres from the main Ring of Kerry N70 road. Seashore Farm Guesthouse is uniquely peaceful, private and spacious with views stretching out over the Kenmare Bay and Caha Mountains in the background. All bedrooms enjoy the idyllic setting over the bay as does the Guest Lounge, Guest Dining Room and Patio Area with extensive gardens. The farmlands stretch to the shores of Kenmare Bay affording unspoilt walks with plentiful birdlife and wildlife in natural habitat. All Bedrooms are spacious and enjoy the idyllic setting overlooking the Kenmare Bay. Each Room has either a King Size Bed or Twin Beds [2 single beds]. All have En-Suite Spacious Bathrooms with Power Showers and some also have Jacuzzi baths as well. Rooms have tea/coffee facilities, hairdryers and are well furnished for relaxation. There is an extensive library of fine books, local and national travel literature and maps for guests to use and enjoy. There is extensive, secure private parking for Guest Use. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Shore Farm Hotel Kenmare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing