We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view of Kenmare Bay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenmare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Shore Farm Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 64 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful view of Kenmare Bay!”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at this lovely B&B just outside of Kenmare. We had a large, comfortable room overlooking Kenmare Bay. The beds were very comfortable, and the ensuite bath was very modern. The sitting room and breakfast room both overlooked Kenmare Bay as well. A wonderful pot of tea on arrival helped to provide a warm welcome. Our hosts did everything possible to ensure a wonderful visit, from providing special gluten-free homemade bread for my mother to making reservations for us at several of the best local restaurants. This was an excellent base for exploring Killarney National Park, the Beara peninsula, and the Ring of Kerry. I definitely hope to return!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellieKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
105
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We were made most welcome by Patricia and Owen and had a lovely room overlooking the river. Our hosts were extremely helpful and Kenmare is an attractive small town and a good centre for exploring the lovely scenery.

Chris and Janet Essex

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJB48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Our second stay at Sea Shore Farm confirmed everything we remembered. The location is perfect, the rooms are spacious and immaculate, and the hospitality is unexcelled.

Mary Patricia and Owen have run their purpose-built B&B for a number of years. Sea Shore Farm is a kilometre from town. It’s an easy drive, and better still a 20-minute walk along a lovely country lane, with flowered hedgerows and green fields of sheep between you and the Kenmare River (not a “river” but an inlet of the ocean) with the rolling hills of the Beara Peninsula just across the water. The view from the house, across the field and copse of trees to the river and then to Beara, is a splendid one to wake up to. The house is far enough from the bustle of Kenmare to give a quiet night, but close enough to be convenient. My roomy bath had a tub and skylight.

The library contains scores of books about the island and its people. You could spend a day in the library or on the patio just reading and watching the cows and rabbits, and if you are lucky a fox. Don’t forget to picnic one evening at the river, weather permitting.

The breakfast consists of a nice array of “starters” — cereals, many fruits, yogurt, cheeses, juices, breads, etc., and coffee or tea — followed by a cooked-to-order meal of quality and lovely presentation.

The servers and/or maitre d at the restaurants in Kenmare — Packie’s, Mulcahey’s, and “35" were our favorites — all ask where you are staying, which is followed more often than not by a friendly note about Mary Patricia and Owen.

We spent 14 nights in Ireland, including a 4-star hotel and an inn rated by the London Times one of the ten finest retreats in the world. None beat Sea Shore Farm, and the rates are very reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbrcolumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

You really can't say enough about how fantastic this B&B is. We arrived on a day with gale force winds and driving rain and were met by Owen with a hot pot of tea and fresh muffins - sensational. It was a haven from the weather. Our room was stunning - clean, well appointed and spacious. The views across the bay were picture postcard perfect. Breakfast was devine and our hosts most generous. I could not recommend a place more highly.

Room Tip: We loved the ground floor room with lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Seashore Farm is about a 10-12 minute walk outside of the lovely town of Kenmare. The Farmhouse is meticulous. Our room was spacious and the queen bed provided a great nights sleep. The large farm area is a playground for hare and, at least two red foxes, and several steer.

The owners, Patricia and O'Sullivan, are teriffic hosts in that they were always available to assist in planning and guidance but never intrusive. They provided a large volume of info about the immediate area attractions as well as tips on how to best spend your time. Breakfasts were very good with a wide variety of offerings. Would recommend to anyone visiting this Hamlet.

Room Tip: Ask if the first floor units are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chilidawg60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on our wonderful trip to Ireland. This was our favorite place that we stayed other than Ashford Castle but of course the two are in completely different leagues. The owners Pat & Owen made our stay wonderful due to their incredible hospitality. They were so warm and welcoming and made a delicious breakfast. We spent time on our last morning learning of the history of the property which really added to our Irish experience. One of our best memories of our trip was our walk down to the shore when we were accompanied by the little neighbor dog, Blondie. We had room #2 which had amazing views on all sides (corner room). We will DEFINATELY return here on our next trip to Ireland!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hammyfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

We were so happy with our stay at the Sea Shore Farm. The location is slightly outside of town, but in exchange for that distance, we got the fantastic view of the pasture and coastline. We also strolled down through the pasture to the beach one evening and enjoyed a beautiful sunset (if you have a clear day, we highly recommend doing this).

The house itself is very nicely kept and very clean. And because it's so far out of town, it is completely silent, which we really appreciated.

Breakfast was very good and included some excellent conversation with our hosts, who were absolutely lovely.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intheleftlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.4 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
889 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
894 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
610 reviews
0.6 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
0.4 mi away
Rockcrest House
Rockcrest House
#1 of 64 in Kenmare
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Shore Farm Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Shore Farm Guesthouse

Property: Sea Shore Farm Guesthouse
Address: | Tubrid, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Shore Farm Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Sea Shore Farm provides guesthouse accommodation to a very high standard in a spacious and magnificent setting at the head of the Ring of Kerry peninsula with commanding Views overlooking Kenmare Bay with the Caha Mountains of the Beara Peninsula forming the backdrop to this unique location. Sea Shore Farm is a Grade A 3 Star [Hotel Quality] guesthouse as well as being AA 4 star with the special personal touch that only a small family run guesthouse can deliver. The guesthouse is surrounded by a working farm with lands that extend to the shore of the bay - a delight for nature lovers, botanists, birdwatchers, etc. Yet Seashore Farm Guesthouse is just one mile from the centre of Kenmare Town. One can walk the mile via the quiet Tubbrid local side road [L7556] in ten to fifteen minutes. For those wishing to do the journey by car one can drive to the very convenient free town car park at the end of this road and freely stroll through the town centre without parking worries. We are also situated just 400 metres from the main Ring of Kerry N70 road. Seashore Farm Guesthouse is uniquely peaceful, private and spacious with views stretching out over the Kenmare Bay and Caha Mountains in the background. All bedrooms enjoy the idyllic setting over the bay as does the Guest Lounge, Guest Dining Room and Patio Area with extensive gardens. The farmlands stretch to the shores of Kenmare Bay affording unspoilt walks with plentiful birdlife and wildlife in natural habitat. All Bedrooms are spacious and enjoy the idyllic setting overlooking the Kenmare Bay. Each Room has either a King Size Bed or Twin Beds [2 single beds]. All have En-Suite Spacious Bathrooms with Power Showers and some also have Jacuzzi baths as well. Rooms have tea/coffee facilities, hairdryers and are well furnished for relaxation. There is an extensive library of fine books, local and national travel literature and maps for guests to use and enjoy. There is extensive, secure private parking for Guest Use. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Shore Farm Hotel Kenmare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing