We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasons why Sea Shore Farm is No. 1 in Kenmare.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenmare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Shore Farm Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 60 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Reasons why Sea Shore Farm is No. 1 in Kenmare.”
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Our second stay at Sea Shore Farm confirmed everything we remembered. The location is perfect, the rooms are spacious and immaculate, and the hospitality is unexcelled.

Mary Patricia and Owen have run their purpose-built B&B for a number of years. Sea Shore Farm is a kilometre from town. It’s an easy drive, and better still a 20-minute walk along a lovely country lane, with flowered hedgerows and green fields of sheep between you and the Kenmare River (not a “river” but an inlet of the ocean) with the rolling hills of the Beara Peninsula just across the water. The view from the house, across the field and copse of trees to the river and then to Beara, is a splendid one to wake up to. The house is far enough from the bustle of Kenmare to give a quiet night, but close enough to be convenient. My roomy bath had a tub and skylight.

The library contains scores of books about the island and its people. You could spend a day in the library or on the patio just reading and watching the cows and rabbits, and if you are lucky a fox. Don’t forget to picnic one evening at the river, weather permitting.

The breakfast consists of a nice array of “starters” — cereals, many fruits, yogurt, cheeses, juices, breads, etc., and coffee or tea — followed by a cooked-to-order meal of quality and lovely presentation.

The servers and/or maitre d at the restaurants in Kenmare — Packie’s, Mulcahey’s, and “35" were our favorites — all ask where you are staying, which is followed more often than not by a friendly note about Mary Patricia and Owen.

We spent 14 nights in Ireland, including a 4-star hotel and an inn rated by the London Times one of the ten finest retreats in the world. None beat Sea Shore Farm, and the rates are very reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbrcolumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
105
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

You really can't say enough about how fantastic this B&B is. We arrived on a day with gale force winds and driving rain and were met by Owen with a hot pot of tea and fresh muffins - sensational. It was a haven from the weather. Our room was stunning - clean, well appointed and spacious. The views across the bay were picture postcard perfect. Breakfast was devine and our hosts most generous. I could not recommend a place more highly.

Room Tip: We loved the ground floor room with lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Seashore Farm is about a 10-12 minute walk outside of the lovely town of Kenmare. The Farmhouse is meticulous. Our room was spacious and the queen bed provided a great nights sleep. The large farm area is a playground for hare and, at least two red foxes, and several steer.

The owners, Patricia and O'Sullivan, are teriffic hosts in that they were always available to assist in planning and guidance but never intrusive. They provided a large volume of info about the immediate area attractions as well as tips on how to best spend your time. Breakfasts were very good with a wide variety of offerings. Would recommend to anyone visiting this Hamlet.

Room Tip: Ask if the first floor units are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chilidawg60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on our wonderful trip to Ireland. This was our favorite place that we stayed other than Ashford Castle but of course the two are in completely different leagues. The owners Pat & Owen made our stay wonderful due to their incredible hospitality. They were so warm and welcoming and made a delicious breakfast. We spent time on our last morning learning of the history of the property which really added to our Irish experience. One of our best memories of our trip was our walk down to the shore when we were accompanied by the little neighbor dog, Blondie. We had room #2 which had amazing views on all sides (corner room). We will DEFINATELY return here on our next trip to Ireland!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hammyfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

We were so happy with our stay at the Sea Shore Farm. The location is slightly outside of town, but in exchange for that distance, we got the fantastic view of the pasture and coastline. We also strolled down through the pasture to the beach one evening and enjoyed a beautiful sunset (if you have a clear day, we highly recommend doing this).

The house itself is very nicely kept and very clean. And because it's so far out of town, it is completely silent, which we really appreciated.

Breakfast was very good and included some excellent conversation with our hosts, who were absolutely lovely.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intheleftlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

This was our first trip to Ireland, and we wanted a base from which to explore Killarney national park's forest, the Ring of Kerry, and the Dingle peninsula. This place was great. Just far enough (about 100 meters) from the N70 that there was no road noise, and situated on a hill with an unobstructed view of the lake (see photo attached). It was just a few minutes walk (about 300 meters) from Kenmare's town square, with a dozen very nice restaurants (we ate fantastic fresh fish at Packie's, and the roast with dressing at Coachmans was superb).

Our room (#1) was very quiet, spacious, with plenty of outlets for charging our phones, etc (sometimes an issue in B&Bs). Our (king) bed was very comfortable and clean, with high-quality linens. Windows throughout the building are large and very high quality (the type that can be opened or tipped inward to provide a breeze). In fact, all of the bathroom fixtures and construction seemed to be of the highest quality (I used to work in construction, and notice materials and workmanship). The fan in the bathroom was noisy and ineffective in clearing the mirrors, but that was the only mechanical flaw I saw.

On our first day, the water was clear (as it was throughout Ireland) so I think the following was a fluke, but on the second day my wife really wanted to take a long bath in the (gorgeous) tub (which also served me well as a shower); however, when we drew the bath the water was yellow and contained sediment. The night before it had poured rain all night, it was quite heavy, and we presume that was the reason. Because this is likely to have been a widespread problem and not specific to this B&B, we did not hold them accountable.

There was big living room with nice chairs and plenty of light, excellent wifi connection (no extra fee), and a library of travel books and maps for the region. For our touring days, the owners lent us great illustrated maps and advice.

The owners (Pat and Owen) are courteous and seem as genuinely Irish as anyone we met (adding to the ambiance). The rate (45 Euros per person per night) seemed very reasonable considering comparable establishments, location, and amenities.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank medray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We stayed at Sea Shore Farm for 2 nights in march. It was a great experience. Patricia welcomed us with a cup of tea and some advice for our day trip the next day. There is so much to do in and around Kenmare. We did a nice trip over the healy pass and went to a little valley with a waterfall and lots of sheep in the middle of Beara (I can't remember the name of it, but I was someting like 'Glen..quin').

The room is beautiful with a very luxurious bathroom and most importantly: a great view. The bed was a little too soft for us, but we like firm beds. Breakfast was very nice. There was a small buffet with juice, yoghurt and cereals and Patricia lets you choose between two home cooked warm dishes every day. She makes sure you eat all that you want to eat. And also Owen gave us good advice and nice conversation.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marielouitje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.4 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.6 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
0.4 mi away
Rockcrest House
Rockcrest House
#1 of 60 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Shore Farm Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Shore Farm Guesthouse

Property: Sea Shore Farm Guesthouse
Address: | Tubrid, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Shore Farm Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Sea Shore Farm provides guesthouse accommodation to a very high standard in a spacious and magnificent setting at the head of the Ring of Kerry peninsula with commanding Views overlooking Kenmare Bay with the Caha Mountains of the Beara Peninsula forming the backdrop to this unique location. Sea Shore Farm is a Grade A 3 Star [Hotel Quality] guesthouse as well as being AA 4 star with the special personal touch that only a small family run guesthouse can deliver. The guesthouse is surrounded by a working farm with lands that extend to the shore of the bay - a delight for nature lovers, botanists, birdwatchers, etc. Yet Seashore Farm Guesthouse is just one mile from the centre of Kenmare Town. One can walk the mile via the quiet Tubbrid local side road [L7556] in ten to fifteen minutes. For those wishing to do the journey by car one can drive to the very convenient free town car park at the end of this road and freely stroll through the town centre without parking worries. We are also situated just 400 metres from the main Ring of Kerry N70 road. Seashore Farm Guesthouse is uniquely peaceful, private and spacious with views stretching out over the Kenmare Bay and Caha Mountains in the background. All bedrooms enjoy the idyllic setting over the bay as does the Guest Lounge, Guest Dining Room and Patio Area with extensive gardens. The farmlands stretch to the shores of Kenmare Bay affording unspoilt walks with plentiful birdlife and wildlife in natural habitat. All Bedrooms are spacious and enjoy the idyllic setting overlooking the Kenmare Bay. Each Room has either a King Size Bed or Twin Beds [2 single beds]. All have En-Suite Spacious Bathrooms with Power Showers and some also have Jacuzzi baths as well. Rooms have tea/coffee facilities, hairdryers and are well furnished for relaxation. There is an extensive library of fine books, local and national travel literature and maps for guests to use and enjoy. There is extensive, secure private parking for Guest Use. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Shore Farm Hotel Kenmare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing