We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Nearby Hotels
$481
$466
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$173
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel(Kenmare)(Great Value!)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
$157
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casey's Hotel(Glengarriff)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$260
$242
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Hotel(Killarney)
$247
$219
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,299)
Filter reviews
1,300 results
Traveler rating
638
385
185
64
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
638
385
185
64
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskenmare bayleisure centrekids clubsuperior roomfunction roomplay areaswimming poollovely hotelhealth clubwedding receptionbar foodtown centrefamily weddingunderfloor heatingshort cutshort breaklast weekend
Filter
Updating list...
1,076 - 1,081 of 1,300 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2010

This was our second consecutive year staying at the superior 4 star holiday lodges at the Kenmare Bay hotel. (Note - there is a difference between 'superior' 4 star and 4 star, - superior 4 star is furnished to a higher standard). Our experience on our first year was so good that we decided to return this year - and we weren't diappointed. These luxury lodges are spacious, well equipped and furnished to a high specification. We found little need need to make use of the hotel, apart from the leisure facilities (which are very good|) ; the actual hotel itself does not come up to the same high standards as the lodges - the decor is somewhat tacky, the bar lacks atmosphere as does the restaurant. We would certainly recommend the Superior 4 Star Holiday Lodges to anyone and will hopefully return again next year!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spookyspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Stayed for one night, on a weekend away. the hotel is better suited for familes,the bar is too small, and a number of children running around, prevents a nice quite drink.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neddyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We stayed for a week in one of the KBH Holiday Homes. The accommodation was very pleasant, clean and spacious. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen had plenty of space and all appliances in good working order.
We have no major gripe with anything other than the price. We chose this accommodation primarily for its kids facilities - pool, kids clubs etc. These were absolutely grand, though inevitably due to the time of year and very bad weather the pool was very crowded most of the time we went. The Kids Club was popular with our darlings but on one night they ended up watching a film for an hour... not ideal, and if you want to use Kids Club you need to be organised and book WELL in advance - we weren't able to send our kids on all the nights they wanted to go as they were booked up.

Our only quibble, apart from the cost, would be with the description of the house as 'luxury.' Maybe we were unlucky in our particular house(?) but it had a number of annoying, small shortcomings (e.g. bathroom doors wouldn't lock, loose floor tiles due to dodgy grouting, blinds that didn't fit the window properly and let in light, very thin walls with adjoining houses so that you can hear too clearly sounds from next door, no cushions for the sofas which had pretty hard ends...the kitchen units also had their 'plastic wooden surface' pealing away on various drawers and cupboards, which hardly spells out 'luxury'.

Anyway, we still enjoyed the accommodation, but just think it is seriously over-priced at €1100 even for a week in mid July. If we were to return to the area we'd seriously consider hiring a cottage in the area, and there seem to be some very nice ones available for €600-700 - a big difference in price. Not sure if the pool and access to Kids Club is really worth an extra €400-500?!

That said in our experience the staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was very enjoyable and much better value than the average hotel breakfast - so there's plenty of good points too. Just too pricey in this day and age - for us at least.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonnyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Not used to staying in hotels with kids, so was pleasantly surprised to find facilities and services for them excellent.

Restaurant has child play area - great when they get bored and means you don't worry about them disturbing other guests during meals.

Kids club available in the evening 7 to 9.30pm for that well earned rest!

Swimming pool ideal for kids and staff very chlld friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank astrodub99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We stayed in the Luxury Lodges for one week which are on the grounds of the hotel with the use of the hotel facilities. The O NLY reason we booked the Kenmare Bay was because of its facilities for children. Both myself and my husband could not have been more disappointed with this aspect. The hotel has made some effort with regard catering for children but it in no way lives up to the reviews I read or to the claims on its website. For example - the children’s play room; this is a small 'L' shaped room at one end of the hotel which is really messy and unkempt. Literally it is like a closet with toys thrown into it. The playground is very basic with unsteady equipment and far away from the hotel. There is a far better playground in the town. The toys in the Restaurant however is a good idea and works well. The Leisure Centre again was disappointing from a children’s perspective, there was some toys for children to play with which quickly became boring. I would have expected a slide etc. In my opinion none of the efforts that the Kenmare Bay have made with respect to being a hotel for family have been a success or add anything to a parent on holidays with their children. It does not feel like it is being taken seriously, they are all just token gestures with no real thought put into how to actually cater for a family on holiday with children.

Overall I found the staff unfriendly and unhelpful including those in the leisure centre. Upon check in there was no information given with respect to any services/kids club facilities etc. The bar is extremely small with steps up to it - again for a hotel which rates itself as 'child' friendly this was a bad start. We ate in the bar food on our 1st night only as we found it very very expensive. The food was ok.

The Luxury Lodges themselves were fabulous, extremely well kitted out and well kept. They also have a large secure back garden. Kenmare was a great base to travel around and the lodges were perfect from that aspect. Overall I would suggest that the Kenmare Bay Hotel itself is not living up to its potential at all.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews