We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough hotel shame about the restaurant and its staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
irl
1 review
“Nice enough hotel shame about the restaurant and its staff”
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Stayed here for two nights during the summer. Rooms were pleasant enough, if a little on the small side. Hotel staff were pleasant and efficient on arrival The hotel leisure facilities were fine too, however on our first night we had the misfortune to eat dinner in the hotel restaurant. The hostess obviously didn't get the memo about working in the HOSPITALITY business, she was extremely sour and there was a serious communication difficulty. Things only got worse as the food arrived. Having ordered the vegetarian lasagne I was extremely disapointed to be served yesterdays leftover mushy vegetables, drowned in a tin of Campbells tomato soup. Amazingly despite two full plates of food being left on the table there was no enquiry from the miserable hostess as to the problem with the food. My husband and I promptly left and made our way into Kenmare village for some decent grub. On checkout I was prepared to advise the receptionist regarding our problem with the restaurant, however I was not once asked if everything was satisfactory. Word of advice if you stay at this hotel, do not waste your hard earned cash in the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jul0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    356
    168
    60
    25
See reviews for
409
452
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Booked this for a few girlie friends for a weekend break. Rooms were spacious and clean, with nice luxuries such as under floor heating in bathroom. We had adjoining rooms, very handy. The bar is lovely, large open natural fuel fire. Huge dining room. Breadfast was lovely, lots of variety and well cooked. Staff were very friendly but courteouse and helpful except one of the bar men (well it was 1 a.m. I suppose). Leisure facilites were very good, well maintained. Also had treatments done and there were good value too.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeeCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrenandyvonne
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2009

Stayed for one night, on a trip around kerry, booked hotel on the internet on the day when we arrived they had oversold the hotel, so let let us stay in one of their luxury lodges, it was fantastic 2 bedroom house beautiful decor. In general nice hotel, but bar is small, breakfast was also a bit disappointing , but good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darrenandyvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2009

we stayed here for a break and had a great time

the rooms were first class

food was great

would recommend to anybody

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icupaypeanuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2009

we arrived in the hotel very tired and cranky, but the reception staff were very helpful and pleasent which lifted our spirits and gave us high hopes for our stay at the bay.

on our arrival we were impressed with the lobby but as we made our way to our rooms the interior of the hotel began to get worse, almost seems that they ran out of money half way through doing up the hotel. our rooms were lovely and comfortable very pleasent stay.

leasure center was great and found the staff to be very friendly and helpfull.

we had a meal included in our stay, on entering the restaurant we were immedeately asked for our room number and not even so much as a hello or smile which woudnt have gone astray. we were seated and our menus were slapped into our hands but no wine menu. the food was good especially the dessert, but we thought we were rushed through the meal by our waitress who had poor english and a very abrupt and rude manner. and when we did eventually get our wine menu, our chosen wine was warm. this really put a damper on the whole trip as everything else was good.

we found the bar staff to be friendly and chatty they could give the waitress a lesson.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dublincouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kildare
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2009

we stayed in the kenmare bay hotel last weekend, we have two kids 4 years old and 10 months, we had a lovely large family room with seperate shower and bath with under ground heating which is great first thing in the morning. we had dinner the frist night in the restaurant which was included in our package, the dinner was great there was medallions of beef which was delicious. there was a play area for the kids in the corner of the restaurant which kept the two of them busy while the two of us enjoyed a bottle of wine,
After dinner there was a small area beside the bar with board games and books which was great. the leasure centre was spotless and there is a lovely kids pool.
All the staff were so friendly especailly when dealing with the kids. the town of kenmare is great for shopping and there are loads of small coffee shops to have a cuppa.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pierceKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2009

Just back from honeymoon. Got married in Kenmare and had the reception in the Kenmare Bay Hotel. Fantastic experience. The wedding guys (Tom and Andrew) played blinders. Guided things along nicely and always at hand to make sure everything going to plan. The food was excellent and the overall atmosphere was superb. Staff on the ball at all times and very pleasant. Scenery breathtaking. Overall everything was pretty much perfect on the day - and in the months beforehand they were very accommodating and helpful. Absolutely delighted we had our reception here. As were all our guests!

I cannot fault this place - hats off!

Steve.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmare
1.3 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
929 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
925 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
0.5 mi away
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kenmare
242 reviews
13.0 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort

Property: Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Address: Sneem Road, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort. Tucked into one of the most picturesque corners of the Wild Atlantic Way, the multi-award winning Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort is the ideal retreat for exploring the gems of the Ring of Kerry and the Beara Peninsula, hosting your perfect wedding, or relaxing with friends & family. Situated on the Sneem road, just a few minutes' walk from the charming shops, pubs and gourmet delights of Kenmare Town, the Kenmare Bay Hotel is great place to unwind, with a state-of-the-art leisure centre equipped with pool, gym, jacuzzi and sauna. Whether you stay in the hotel itself in our standard or superior rooms or in one of our self-catering Luxury Lodges or Holiday Homes, you are assured of exceptional comfort, friendly service from our staff, and a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort is the one that visitors return to again and again. Once you've stayed here, you'll discover why ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenmare Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing