We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2009

Stayed for one night, on a trip around kerry, booked hotel on the internet on the day when we arrived they had oversold the hotel, so let let us stay in one of their luxury lodges, it was fantastic 2 bedroom house beautiful decor. In general nice hotel, but bar is small, breakfast was also a bit disappointing , but good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darrenandyvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,241)
There are newer reviews for Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,048 - 1,054 of 1,241 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2009

we stayed here for a break and had a great time

the rooms were first class

food was great

would recommend to anybody

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icupaypeanuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

we arrived in the hotel very tired and cranky, but the reception staff were very helpful and pleasent which lifted our spirits and gave us high hopes for our stay at the bay.

on our arrival we were impressed with the lobby but as we made our way to our rooms the interior of the hotel began to get worse, almost seems that they ran out of money half way through doing up the hotel. our rooms were lovely and comfortable very pleasent stay.

leasure center was great and found the staff to be very friendly and helpfull.

we had a meal included in our stay, on entering the restaurant we were immedeately asked for our room number and not even so much as a hello or smile which woudnt have gone astray. we were seated and our menus were slapped into our hands but no wine menu. the food was good especially the dessert, but we thought we were rushed through the meal by our waitress who had poor english and a very abrupt and rude manner. and when we did eventually get our wine menu, our chosen wine was warm. this really put a damper on the whole trip as everything else was good.

we found the bar staff to be friendly and chatty they could give the waitress a lesson.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dublincouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2009

we stayed in the kenmare bay hotel last weekend, we have two kids 4 years old and 10 months, we had a lovely large family room with seperate shower and bath with under ground heating which is great first thing in the morning. we had dinner the frist night in the restaurant which was included in our package, the dinner was great there was medallions of beef which was delicious. there was a play area for the kids in the corner of the restaurant which kept the two of them busy while the two of us enjoyed a bottle of wine,
After dinner there was a small area beside the bar with board games and books which was great. the leasure centre was spotless and there is a lovely kids pool.
All the staff were so friendly especailly when dealing with the kids. the town of kenmare is great for shopping and there are loads of small coffee shops to have a cuppa.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pierceKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2009

Just back from honeymoon. Got married in Kenmare and had the reception in the Kenmare Bay Hotel. Fantastic experience. The wedding guys (Tom and Andrew) played blinders. Guided things along nicely and always at hand to make sure everything going to plan. The food was excellent and the overall atmosphere was superb. Staff on the ball at all times and very pleasant. Scenery breathtaking. Overall everything was pretty much perfect on the day - and in the months beforehand they were very accommodating and helpful. Absolutely delighted we had our reception here. As were all our guests!

I cannot fault this place - hats off!

Steve.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2009

It's not often that I write reviews about places, but having just spent a lovely weekend down in the Kenmare Bay Hotel I feel the place warrents it!! I took my wife away as a surprise for our 5th wedding anniversary, and chose Kenmare as we have never been there and love trying new places. I was not disappointed with either the hotel or the town itself.

The hotel is situated a short walk from Kenmare town with great views of the surrounding countryside. On check in (which was done in a professional and friendly manner, despite the mixed reviews from others) we were delighted with our room. Having made some grave errors on hotel accommodation in the past for our anniversary, I was a bit nervous as to what the standard would be, but our room was bright, modern, clean, with a great big bathroom and all the mod-cons you would expect in a contempory hotel. We also had a great view, which was an added bonus.

During our stay we found the reception staff to be courteous, helpful and full of local knowledge and recommendations. One of the girls in particular recommended a great restaurant in town called Mulcahys, and proceeded to make reservations for us. It definately is a must visit place for any foodies out there!

On our second night there, we dined in the restaurant in the hotel and I can honestly say I couldn't find a fault with anything. The menu was well priced, varied and accompanied by a decent wine list. Again, we found the service staff friendly and professional.

One of the great advantages of the hotel is the leisure centre and spa. My wife got the full works in the spa while I enjoyed the pool. It did get busy but this was to be expected given the fact that the hotel seemed to be full that weekend.

All in all, we had a fantastic anniversary in the Kenmare Bay hotel, and would definately plan a return trip in the future.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Walshy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2009

We came here for a weekend away. When we arrived we were shown to our room wich was average but clean. The bathroom was new, wich always feels good!

We spent some time in the pool, and a treat was the childrens pool which our year old daughter enjoyed so much we had trouble getting her out of it!

Dinner and breakfast was a pleasant experience. The waiting staff was very helpful and the food was what you expect.

All in all we had a really relaxing experience. Everybody was very helful and the place was clean and tidy at all times!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmare
1.3 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
968 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
947 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#5 of 6 in Kenmare
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#11 of 39 in Killarney
2,294 reviews
13.0 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort

Address: Sneem Road, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Price Range: $91 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort. Tucked into one of the most picturesque corners of the Wild Atlantic Way, the multi-award winning Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort is the ideal retreat for exploring the gems of the Ring of Kerry and the Beara Peninsula, hosting your perfect wedding, or relaxing with friends & family. Situated on the Sneem road, just a few minutes' walk from the charming shops, pubs and gourmet delights of Kenmare Town, the Kenmare Bay Hotel is great place to unwind, with a state-of-the-art leisure centre equipped with pool, gym, jacuzzi and sauna. Whether you stay in the hotel itself in our standard or superior rooms or in one of our self-catering Luxury Lodges or Holiday Homes, you are assured of exceptional comfort, friendly service from our staff, and a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort is the one that visitors return to again and again. Once you've stayed here, you'll discover why ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenmare Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing