We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Wexford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous Gem”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Very friendly and helpful. Well worth a visit. Sue the receptionist was extremely helpful. Located five minutes walk outside Kenmare town perfect for a evening stroll. Breakfast was well laid out and soooo tasty.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noeleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, General Manager at Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review on your recent stay with us. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your breakfast so much and that you found our location here so suitable for your stay. I will be sure to pass on your regards to Sue.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we very much look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,

Andrew Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    356
    168
    60
    25
See reviews for
409
452
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed in a self catering house which was very comfortable. The kids loved the pool which had toys and a small slide in it. I found the leisure centre to be very clean. The play corner in the restaurant was very good idea and our kids enjoyed it.
The free wifi is very handy. It is a short, pleasant stroll into the town from the hotel. We would recommend this hotel to anyone with small kids and we will be back.

A special thanks to the manager Andrew who helped us out when one of our kids required first aid and then drove us to the local doctor. He eased what would have been a very stressful situation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Comur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, General Manager at Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on your self catering stay with us. I was pleased to see that the children enjoyed the pool you found the accommodation and other amenities so suitable for your needs.

We pride ourselves on being a family friendly establishment and I always aim to personally ensure that our guests needs are met when any guest requires first aid treatment or attention of any kind. In regard to this I do hope that your child is feeling much better.

We very much look forward to seeing you and your family back in Kenmare in the future.

Regards,

Andrew Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We booked a family room for us and our 2 children. Within easy walking distance of kenmare, good selection of food in bar for children, great pool and handy play area at breakfast to keep the children entertained. I would have preferred staying in houses connected to hotel but these were booked out so the family room worked out better than expected!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eimear M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, General Manager at Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on being a family friendly establishment so I was pleased to see that you and your family enjoyed your break away with us in one of our family rooms. We would welcome the opportunity to have you back to stay with us in one of our self catering houses or Lodges in the future. Please keep an eye on our website or call our reservations office where one of our staff will be more than happy to assist you in booking a visit to Kenmare.

Regards,

Andrew Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I fell in love with the view and sight of this hotel. There is a lift, but some rooms are accessible by climbing the stairs. There is a pub and restaurant. The breakfast was again great, enough to feed an elephant! The atmosphere was very relaxing. You could stroll to either side of the hotel and enjoy some historical sights or just have a wander. Definitely, on my next bucket list. I woke up early one morning and walked along the wharf, took in the fresh air, took some photos and started my day. Awesome!! (The place can be a bit busy as it does weddings).

Room Tip: sorry, unable to provide details on this area. I believe I had a decent room, otherwise it would hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Razia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, General Manager at Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on your stay with us. It's a pleasure to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the charm of the greater Kenmare Area interested you. I am pleased that our buffet breakfast was able to give you the good nutritious start to the day that is needed for all explorers of this beautiful corner of Ireland.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we would welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again in the future.

Regards,

Andrew Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed here for one night with the family just after Easter. Could get nothing else in Kenmare. Specifically asked for “ non-smoking room”. Arrived with kids making numerous trips to the car to retrieve bags ( had been traveling aboard for 10 days imagine the luggage ) while three staff behind the front desk just observed. Told where the room was , and of course with our luck it had to be the last room at the very end of the Hotel, so a long walk , again dragging bags and kids no assistance offered what so ever. Opened the door to the “non smoking room” only to be met with a blast of cigarette smell. I went over to open the window only to find that there was still ashes from the smoker on the inside of the window cill and in the floor. However it was a small room and with the kids we just could not stick the smell, so a trek back to reception. Look this can happen, an inconsiderate guest before us followed by a careless housekeeper, not receptions fault, made clear by the reaction to the problem. We were offered another room and once again dispatched on a long haul in the other direction !. At this stage we were very tired, stressed and to be hones a bit annoyed, all reception had to do was help us move to a new room and make us feel welcome and at home. Not here unfortunately. Bar staff etc were friendly and cordial. Breakfast the following morning was to be honest not great.. One of the kids ordered porridge and what arrived was an under cooked , brown colored dehydrated sludge. This is a 3 Star granted, but what happened to Irish Hospitality, it costs nothing and hides a multitude of sin’s. One saving grace free wi fi, to be commended, after that there is no point in elaborating further on this Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brunobu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This hotel is brilliantly located for the Ring Of Kerry and the far superior - if much less well known - Ring Of Beara.

It was just fine in all ways really - no problems at all. I stayed three nights and got a very good price through a booking website so look out for bargains here.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Googleplex555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, General Manager at Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on your stay with us. I am pleased that you found our location so suitable for exploring the 2 beautiful scenic peninsulas we are blessed to be located between.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we would very much welcome the opportunity to have you back with us again in the future.

Regards,

Andrew Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is a massive hotel just outside Kenmare, but it is only 3 minutes walk through the back streets to the centre of town. Lovely room, spacious, comfy bed and a window that opened. Good lighting to read by. Breakfast was great, but busy. Anything you could wish for on the buffet. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shirleyeSheffieldUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, General Manager at Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I was pleased to see that you found everything so satisfactory with your stay. We always aim to have our guests leave with a smile on their face after an enjoyable stay with us. We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and would welcome the opportunity to have you back with us again in the future.

Regards,

Andrew Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmare
1.3 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
926 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
925 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
0.5 mi away
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kenmare
242 reviews
13.0 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort

Property: Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Address: Sneem Road, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort. Tucked into one of the most picturesque corners of the Wild Atlantic Way, the multi-award winning Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort is the ideal retreat for exploring the gems of the Ring of Kerry and the Beara Peninsula, hosting your perfect wedding, or relaxing with friends & family. Situated on the Sneem road, just a few minutes' walk from the charming shops, pubs and gourmet delights of Kenmare Town, the Kenmare Bay Hotel is great place to unwind, with a state-of-the-art leisure centre equipped with pool, gym, jacuzzi and sauna. Whether you stay in the hotel itself in our standard or superior rooms or in one of our self-catering Luxury Lodges or Holiday Homes, you are assured of exceptional comfort, friendly service from our staff, and a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort is the one that visitors return to again and again. Once you've stayed here, you'll discover why ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenmare Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing