We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
Reviewed June 25, 2008

Just returned from a 2 night family stay at the Kenmare Bay Hotel. Room very comfortable and quiet. We all enjoyed the leisure centre and spa facilities – and the kids club was an added bonus. Nice to be walking distance from the local town, rather than right in the middle of it.

  • Liked — Leisure centre & spa! And the location
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank austy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    359
    173
    62
    26
See reviews for
414
459
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2008

Myself and my husband have just come back a lovely stay at the Kenmare Bay Hotel. As it was my 30th birthday, he had booked it as a surprise for me and invited our friends too. We all stayed in the new holiday homes, which i must say were absolutely gorgeous! They were kitted out with everything you would expect and need, spotlessly clean and looked like something out of an interior design magazine.

As is was our first visit to Kerry we seeked advice from the reception staff in the main hotel as to what to do, places to eat etc. I found them really friendly, and one receptionist in particular, Sandra, was so helpful and efficient in booking tours for us and recommending and booking a lovely restaurant in Kenmare Town for my birthday dinner. She was spot on in her choice too!

I cannot comment on the restaurant in the Hotel as we did not use it. The leisure facilities were great though, modern, clean, not to over-crowded - a good addition to the hotel. The bar too was nice, friendly staff and great outdoor space - if you get the weather! Location wise, it is not the closest hotel to Kenmare town, but really only a short stroll, which did not bother us. All in all, I would definatley go back again.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wasi-doo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Kerry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2008

I took my mother away for a quiet weekend to the Kenmare Bay Hotel for two nights. We booked one of their luxury lodges and we were really impressed with the standard. We could not fault them on anything. They were super clean, comfy and luxurious. My mother is a stickler for cleanliness and they lived up to her standards!! We also were able to avail of the hotel's spa facilities which are fantastic and relaxed mid eve in the jacuzzi etc.
I would reccomend anyone to go and stay for a couple of nights and feel total relaxation at the end of your stay.
I would rate them 5 star because you had everything in the house, it was home away from home, without the hassle of cleaning!!

  • Liked — The facilities and how clean it was.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiquella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

We were given a voucher for a stay at the Kenmare Bay Hotel for our wedding anniversary. The rooms were lovely, warm and cosy on a rainy weekend. The staff were very friendly and helpful and made the stay really relaxing and enjoyable. Breakfast was tasty and the brown soda bread very good. We also ate in the Bar and found it delicious and good value. Room for people with disabilities really nice and good accessibility. Bit more difficult to access the Bar but were assured that this is being addressed (would be fine for manual chair users but not great for powered chair as small step just too high for comfort). All in all 10 out of 10 for staff and 8 out of 10 for accessibility. Thanks

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Difficulty in accessing the bar (see review)
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrannyZooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2008

We sayed at this hotel on our vacation last year. We booked and prepaid through hotels.com for what we thought was a room in the new section of the hotel. When we arrived, there were 3 tour buses in the front parking lot. We were given a very dingy, but passably clean, room in the older section of the hotel. When we complained (very nicely )about the room, we were informed that there were no other rooms available, nor would a price adjustment be given. The real kicker came when I was informed my room had no internet access, which I desperately needed to participate in an online course I was taking. My internet access for our assigned room was a coin operated internet access pc in an upstairs lounge - I kid you not! I spent 4 Euros for about 8 minutes of access. It was ridiculous.

We were actually asked to come later for breakfast the next day, so they could get the tour groups served. (We went ahead of the tour groups and witnessed the ensuing chaos as they tried to feed 160 people at one time.)

Upon check-out, we were presented with a bill, which amounted to $75 less than what we prepaid through hotels.com. When I returned stateside, I contacted hotels.com and received no price adjustment at all. Tough.

The new part of the hotel was lovely. If you do wish to risk it, I would book with the hotel directly - not hotels.com - and have back-up accommodations ready in case your room isn't quite what you envision.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank thkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Kenmare Bay Hotel at Easter this year. We were extremely disappointed with nearly all aspects of the hotel.
On arrival we were met by unfriendly receptionists. A bottle of wine was supposed to be waiting for us in our room, which was not. We eventually received it the following night at dinner when we pointed out we had not yet received it.
The room was very dusty, the heating did not work properly, some of the towels and pillow cases were frayed and the bathroom was extremely dusty.
Breakfast was extremely disorganised with people queueing out the door to be seated.
The leisure centre was good and staff friendly. This was the only good aspect of our stay.
On checking out of the hotel, we informed the receptionist of our complaints. She was not concerned and proceeded to take a phone call. We left a comment card with them, with all our complaints and the hotel has still not contacted us despite us emailing them.

  • Liked — swimming pool
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank sooty77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2008

just returned from a stay in the Kenmare Bay Hotel, a gruop of us stayed in the holiday lodges. The Houses are beautiful, lay-out is very good and fully fitted with everything you need. We had breakfast one morning and there was a good choice, we did not eat in the Restaurant for dinner but had bar food and the food was very good. I was delighted we could use the leisure centre for free. The weather was really good so it was a lovely short walk from the town. I will come back as it was very good value for money

  • Liked — the lodges
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank johnwaterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmare
1.3 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
956 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
934 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kenmare
247 reviews
11.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort

Property: Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Address: Sneem Road, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort. Tucked into one of the most picturesque corners of the Wild Atlantic Way, the multi-award winning Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort is the ideal retreat for exploring the gems of the Ring of Kerry and the Beara Peninsula, hosting your perfect wedding, or relaxing with friends & family. Situated on the Sneem road, just a few minutes' walk from the charming shops, pubs and gourmet delights of Kenmare Town, the Kenmare Bay Hotel is great place to unwind, with a state-of-the-art leisure centre equipped with pool, gym, jacuzzi and sauna. Whether you stay in the hotel itself in our standard or superior rooms or in one of our self-catering Luxury Lodges or Holiday Homes, you are assured of exceptional comfort, friendly service from our staff, and a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort is the one that visitors return to again and again. Once you've stayed here, you'll discover why ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenmare Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing