We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly, efficient, welcoming staff. clean, felt like home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Ranked #3 of 60 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
walsall
2 reviews
“friendly, efficient, welcoming staff. clean, felt like home”
Reviewed July 10, 2010

clean, friendly, in the centre of town, meals to die for , guiness to die for, music on some nights, great ambience in the pub. owners are hard working , friendly and always there for a chat. say hello to jahn ( the german barman) sorry he lost the world cup. all in all we would definitely return

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amdowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    157
    53
    15
    16
See reviews for
150
249
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2010

This place is a gem. The rooms are like hotel rooms - very comfortable and beautifully furnished. They were extremely clean and the bathroom was a good size and also very clean. There is a very relaxed atmosphere in this place and the owner was extremely helpful, he clearly wanted us the enjoy our stay and achieved this. We ate in the restaurant downstairs one of our two night stay. The fish was the freshest I've ever tasted and really, really tasty. Breakfast was also really excellent with a great selection and friendly service. All in all I cannot recommend this place enough for any type of visitor. Centrally located in Kenmare and free parking at the rear - impressive beyond expectations in general!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roisin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

My husband and I spent three glorious nights at the family run guest house, O'Donnabhain's, in the heart of Kenmare. Jer and Vanessa welcomed us from the day we arrived. Our room was quiet and spacious with a wonderful king size bed. Out of our window we could watch the stars at night. Very romantic! Vanessa is a gifted chef offering a wide variety of scrumptious dishes to try. My favorite was her seafood casserole prepared with local shrimp, mussels, fish and a spicy broth full of flavor. We enjoyed live Irish music . I liked Joe Savino so much I bought his tape, On Sunday I attended the local church in Kenmare and was amazed at all of the worshipers of all ages praising God!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2010

I like to stay in pubs as long as they're clean and quiet, and O'Donnabhain's exceeds expectations on both scores. The rooms have recently been updated and so have a bit more flair than your average pub accommodations. The owner was extremely friendly and always available when we needed him. The pub downstairs is nice too. Kenmare is much more pleasant and less overrun by tourists than Killarney, and has great restaurants. Overall, this is a laid-back Irish pub in a great town.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank historiantravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2010

We loved this B&B. The staff work very hard, running the bar/restaurant and the guesthouse, but were able to answer any questions and provide us with Wi-fi information. However, the wi-fi connection worked best on the main floors and in the breakfast room, not necessarily in our room, which was in the back. The rooms were large and spacious. The bathroom had great hot water and a lovely shower. Our room had lovely sky lights too. My boyfriend complained that when we woke up it smelled like a restaurant, which it kidna smelled like bacon. That was okay though since we went down for breakfast and it was delicious. We booked this through our thank you rewards through Expedia and were very happy with our stay. Just a warning, you will have to find street parking, but there is lots of it. We ate dinner at the restaurant and it was fancy pub food, delicious!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svfurnbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2010

We stayed at O'Donnabhains in Kenmare with family and a few friends in a total of five rooms. Rooms were large and clean. Owners and staff were wonderful. Full Irish breakfast was perfect. Food in the restaurant was great. Outdoor beer garden gave us a convenient place to gather under cover. Location, in walking distance of numerous pubs, restaurants and shopping, was ideal. Everyone in our group agreed that this was our favorite of all of our accommodations in Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McGMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Hi there,

I once booked this place and cancelled it seven days before and got charged 60 % of the stay
I work in the travel industry myself and have never come across such a restrictive policy ( 48 hours notice is enough)

I am in the process of lodging a complain in National Consumer Agency (NCA) and are in talks to VISA to dispute charges.

If you want a nice B&B in Kenmare do it through a FAIR third party website that guarantees a FAIR cancellation policy and do not get yourself into messy disputes as I did.

Regards
Blanca

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 186605Blanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ODonnabhains, Owner at O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses, responded to this review, June 18, 2010
There is 2 sides to every story, and no matter which way i write this I will come across, as business like etc etc, but unfortunately I do run a business , and I work very hard at what I do, and i am very serious about what i do, Guests do appreciate this.

Our guest house depends completely on reservations, and because of this we have on line reservation systems etc, on our web site, we also display or cancellation policy quiet openly on our web site, as we want to take reservations, and have people turn up.

We had problems previously with reservations cancelling etc, so we decided to introduce a cancellation policy that would scare off people who were really unsure whether they would spend the night in Kenmare, Killarney , or Dingle, and decide a few days before, and cancel. So we introduced this policy and as said we are very open, when someone e mails us requesting rates , info etc , we advise them the page address on our web site where you can see our ' Cancellation Policy ', this greatly reduced the number of cancellations.

The week of the ash cloud back in April , we had cancellations totaling €2,400 euros, we waived all cancellation fees with out question, so you can see i am Human if approached in the right way.

About this case, client inquires about accommodation on 3rd of may get ( for the 29th May ) a reply stating rate, and also in the e mail there is a link to our page with cancellation policy, is sent , client books the room,

Then on the 24th , 5 days before arrival ( Not 7 Days ) the client cancels, in a basic e mail saying ' Hi there I am afraid I have to cancel this reservation.' ,

no genuine reason, nothing, and we are unable to sell the room on the night in question, and we charged 40% cancellation ( Not 60%as the client refers )

Do not put this off reserving with us, everyday I come in meet guests , advise them what to do, what to see, etc, I am passionate about what i do, but at the same time i unfortunately have to run a seasonal Business in one of the most beautiful parts of the world. We look forward to seeing you some time in Kenmare
Jer Foley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.4 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.4 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
910 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
916 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
634 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kenmare
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses

Property: O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Address: 10 Henry Street | County Kerry, Kenmare, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O'Donnabhains Bar, Restaurant and Guesthouse / Bed and Breakfast provides a memorable and quality experience for food, drink and accommodation located in what is the hidden gem of Ireland, Kenmare, Co. Kerry. For our best rates Book Direct on our Official web site and save 10% ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o`Donnabhain`s Guesthouse b&b & Townhouses Hotel Kenmare
o`Donnabhain`s Guesthouse Bed And Breakfast & Townhouses

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing