We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food & great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charcoal Steakhouse - CLOSED

Charcoal Steakhouse
Cuisines: Steakhouse, European
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food & great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

I visited there with my wife and kids. This is a very family friendly restaurant which was extremely busy. Choice of food was excellent and everyone cleaned their plates. Well done Charcoal, we will be back when next in Kenmare. Keep up the good work.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MTPOCKETS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    35
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value with the early bird menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Found this hidden off the main center and well worth finding. We got excellent value when we decided on the early bird menu. Also enjoyed the house wine which was lovely. Will return again, I hope.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

The restaurant is located in a small lane off Henry Street, near Packies.
We enjoyed a family dinner for 4 here on a bank holiday Saturday. The food was very good, tasty and sufficient. The house wines that we tried, the Rioja and the Pinot Grigio were just right to match the food and were reasonably priced, in the context of wine prices in Ireland. Service was prompt and friendly. The decor was dark and romantic and slightly wasted when you’re dining with your in-laws... 3 Early birds and an A la Carte plus 5 drinks came to €130. It got quite busy, so if you want to eat after 7.00/7.15, it might be as well to book. Good food, good service – we recommend it and are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Golf Pro's recomendation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

We played Golf at the Kenmare Course and later at the clubhouse got a recommendation from the pro to check out the Charcoal. Best tip of the day!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Enjoyed a superb evening here. Four friends away on a catch up. Lovely decor,staff and of course food. Yet another great night in fabulous Kenmare.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GraGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charcoal Steakhouse also viewed

Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing