We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Authentic Irish Cottage Experience”
other travelers have booked this property
The Old Dressmaker's Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Dressmaker's Cottage
Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
The Old Dressmaker's Cottage
Dining area
Kitchen
Double bedroom
Living area
Lounge
The spinning wheel
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kenmare, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
YAYAsiste...
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic Irish Cottage Experience”
Reviewed October 13, 2011 for a stay in May 2010
4
people found this review helpful

My husband, adult daughter and I stayed for one week in this comfortable, clean cottage located in the heart of Kenmare. From its cozy open fire to its fully-fitted kitchen and laundry facilities, we enjoyed our evenings and breakfasts "at home". Especially convenient was the cottage's location to Kenmare's shops and weekly market. Traveling with two directionally-challenged adults, I had no concerns about my husband and my daughter's getting lost when sent on an errand for milk, bread, or even a treat from a local bakery. How much did my husband and I enjoy this house? We have made plans to return with friends to stay yet another week this coming spring!

Date of stay: May 2010
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We liked the cottage's location the best.
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porchy
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Absolute gem of a location and quaint cottage”
Reviewed August 1, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
5
people found this review helpful

We were 2 couples (mid 50's) and stayed here for 1 week 23rd - 30th July. The property was very good and only 5min walk to the High Street were all the pubs and resturaunts are. It is an ideal location to travel to all the South West of Ireland from. Less than 2hrs to get to Kinsale on the south coast and less than 15 mins to get on the Bearra & Kerry Rings. We had a great time and also had the rarity of No Rain for the whole week. In the cottage we were able to cook breakfast and the odd meal if needed, the kitchen was fully equipt. OVERALL we had a wonderful time and would do it all again if poss.

Date of stay: July 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with teenagers
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wishtotra...
Westville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sweet cottage, great location and lovely host”
Reviewed July 10, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
2
people found this review helpful

The Dress Makers Cottage was like a play house, so nicely decorated and had all the amenities. The location in the town and the town itself was a great location to explore the whole area. Lots of day trips and surrounding scenery, hikes available for all abilities or you could just enjoy Kenmare itself. Music was easy to find every evening in the variety of pubs and the people were so very friendly. Kathleeen is a great host and has a great sense of humor. We felt very fortunate to have found this little place and it met every need and wish we had.

Date of stay: June 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kobbo
Dunmore East, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Cozy Little Cottage in the Center of Kenmare”
Reviewed June 6, 2011 for a stay in May 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Gorgeous little cottage with ideal central location, well stocked kitchen and comfy bedrooms. A huge cut above standard 'bland' holiday homes - lovely interior with oodles of traditional charm. Superb value for money.

Date of stay: May 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2011
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to send a review
It was a pleasure to have you staying in The Old Dressmakers Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maude2U
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A cozy cottage with a wonderful owner in a great town--ready to return”
Reviewed March 26, 2011 for a stay in October 2010
3
people found this review helpful

I stayed here for a month and was delighted with the cozy cottage in the heart of Kenmare, " the little nest," on the Ring of Kerry. I could walk out the door to any of 15 local places to eat; buy food to prepare at local butcher shops, the good food coop, or at the weekly farmers market; hear live music several evenings a week, see set dancing; stroll down to Kenmare Bay, or take a hill walk. Because I was on my own, Kathleen (the owner) took me around and introduced me to different places and activities around town. I stayed in Ireland for three months, and this cottage was the best value for the money.

Date of stay: October 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2011
Thank you for sending a such a lovely review.
It was lovely having you stay too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechthild...
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2019 for a stay in June 2019
Google Translation

Date of stay: June 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2019
Thank you for the review. I can't read it yet but it must be ok as it is a 5
Thanks for everything kathleen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rinus v
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2018 for a stay in June 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: June 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2018
Thank you for the review and the present from Holland Kathleen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing