We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Little Piece of Heaven”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Seal Rock Cottage

View from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the garden
View from the cottage Master Bedroom (please note that there is no longer a TV in this room)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
22 reviews
View from the garden
View from the cottage
Master Bedroom (please note that there is no longer a TV in this room)
Real fire
The cottage
Garden Room
Dining and Kitchen
The house
Sitting Room
Guest Bedroom
En Suite Bathroom
Seals resting
Seal watching
Sitting room
Sunset
Down to the beach
Rear terrace
Evening at the waterside terrace (please note that the kayaks were loaned for this photo)
Double rainbow over the bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kenmare, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
lynandnig...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Little Piece of Heaven”
Reviewed July 15, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a fabulous week. Seal Rock Cottage was as beautiful as expected. We love Kenmare and the surrounding area and had been really looking forwarded to our stay and it certainly didn't let us down. What a peaceful little haven it is. Only the sound of the waves to be heard. The cottage is beautifully equipped with fabulous comfy beds to snuggle into and relax after a busy day! We just loved it.
The owners Jane and Michael were really helpful and responded speedily to emails. We asked for recommendations to eat out for my husband's 65th birthday and Jane was particularly helpful. We had stayed in Kenmare 11 years before and we were pleased to see that some of the restaurants recommeded were ones we enjoyed last time and were still there, and still as good! Packies and The Lime Tree were especially good.
We will definitely return. Thank you Jane and Michael.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitzi63
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor Maintenance and Customer Service”
Reviewed May 20, 2017 for a stay in September 2016
4
people found this review helpful

The location of the property is fantastic but the owners paid scant attention to the maintenance of the property and provided very poor customer service when I complained. The majority of cups, plates and bowls were chipped; and grouting was missing on the bathroom and utility floors (the threshold between the master bedroom and ensuite was missing). Despite the owners having been at the property the week before our stay they stated that they had only been aware of the issues with the floors on their visit (did their cleaner not report it?) and that they had made arrangements to have it sorted. They had also only known about the chipped crockery from their visit and suggested there was other crockery we could use but couldn't direct me to the appropriate items when asked. Their solution was that they would bring replacement crockery when they next visited the property - they could have purchased the items locally in Kenmare to ensure that their paying visitors were properly supplied. Downstairs is beautifully decorated and designed but poor maintenance and a cavalier attitude to putting things right does not make it a luxury property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 24, 2017
Naturally we were disappointed to receive such a poor review from you as we take the comfort of our guests very seriously.
We received an initial email from you on the day you arrived stating that 'the house and setting are both beautiful' but some of the crockery was chipped and there was some grout missing from the en suite bathroom floor. We responded immediately explaining that we had contacted our builder to fix the grouting during our visit the week before your stay but he wasn't able to carry out the work until after your stay. We appreciate that, from your point of view, this was unsatisfactory. However the bits of missing grouting in no way affected the usage of the en suite but, as we explained, if you felt you didn't want to use it, there was an alternative bathroom just along the landing.
Regarding the items of chipped crockery, I had noticed them during our visit the week before but wanted to replace them with matching crockery, which meant waiting until I returned to the UK, so before we left I ensured that there was enough 'perfect' crockery for our guests to use. If there hadn't have been I would have replaced everything. In hindsight I probably should have removed the chipped items from the cupboard as I can appreciate that from your point of view it didn't form a good impression but there were plenty of alternative cups and bowls that could have been used.
I'm sorry you felt that my attitude was 'cavalier' but I responded to all your emails promptly, accepted and apologised for, your points about the grouting and chipped crockery, gave you reasonable alternatives and offered you some compensation as a gesture of goodwill, which you accepted.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizY123
Tunbridge Wells
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful week”
Reviewed November 11, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed in Seal Rock in October and had the most amazing time.

We had high hopes of the property, having read all the reviews and looked at the photos, but our stay completely exceeded our expectations. The location is just perfect....really secluded and quiet. We literally didn't hear another voice, car engine or aeroplane for the whole of our stay and felt that we completely recharged our batteries.

The view from the living room and bedrooms was stunning and we loved how different it looked depending on the tide or weather.

We had some fantastic trips out each day and some great dinners in Kenmare. Everyone we came into contact with was warm, friendly and welcoming. But we loved coming back to the cottage each night and also enjoyed watching films and toasting marshmallows by the fire.

The house was really well equipped and warm and felt like a real home from home. Jane and Michael were a dream and came across as really lovely people.

We would love to come back and explore more of this beautiful part of Ireland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the furnishings.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCOxon
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back....”
Reviewed October 3, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Having been to the area 45 years ago on a family holiday in the early 70's, it has taken this long to go back. I wanted my husband to share the sheer wonder this part of Ireland exudes. ...and why did we wait so long??? Seal Rock Cottage was the perfect place to stay....
The location, well, utterly beautiful, come rain or shine...perfect for rainbow spotting...perfect for seal watching...perfect for snuggling up by the fire...perfect beds...I could go on with the perfects...
It has everything you need and more. I'm almost reluctant to post this review in case too many of you readers decide to book some time there making it more difficult for us to !!!!
If you haven't been to this area of the world, then go....and put Seal Rock Cottage at the top of your list for places to stay. You won't be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
u7jf
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Heavenly Hideaway”
Reviewed August 28, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Seal Rock Cottage is Heaven on Earth!
The location is breathtaking and the spacious seafront stone cottage stunning.
From the moment one drives across the little bridge onto Rossmore Island, it seems that the worries of the world slip away.
My husband and I were utterly taken with the location, decor and facilities at beautiful Seal Rock Cottage.
Owner, Jane's attention to design, decor and detail make this one of the loveliest and most atmospheric cottages in Ireland.
Jane is warm, friendly and an absolute pleasure to communicate with. Jane was also extremely fast in returning our €300 security deposit.
At Seal Rock Cottage every guest need is anticipated and exceeded.
The kitchen is brilliantly equipped for the most discerning gourmet.
We loved bottle of wine left to welcome our arrival. Thank you!
There is a convenient downstairs cloakroom, with adjacent washer and dryer. There are raincoats, umbrellas, beach equipment, Wellington boots for walks, and a fabulous assortment of board games, books, CDs and DVDs. There is also a selection of 'honesty bar,' spirits.
The open wood/peat fireplace is gorgeous, as is the gas-fired heater in the adjacent garden room. The fabrics and furnishings are all sumptuous natural fibres and driftwood timbers that resonate the natural seaside and country surroundings.
The bed was like sleeping on a cloud. The king sized bed had the most divine feathery/lofty mattress topper; the pillows were huge, soft, supportive, white goose down, the duvet was feather-light, fluffy and cosy, and the linens were the highest quality, highest thread-count, silky quality sheets that I have ever experienced in guest accommodation.
We loved the seaside views from the bedroom windows. There was a chair, a chest of drawers, beach towels, a powerful blow dryer and a wall mounted television in each upstairs bedroom. We only used one room, but the other bedroom/bed looked equally delectable.
The natural toned shower room ensuites were bright with velux windows that overlooked the fabulous coastline. The towels were large and soft. The toiletries high quality.
We were grateful that we were able to control the central heating as we did experience one or two chilly days, despite our stay being mid-summer.
There are stunning views from every room in the house. We particularly liked settling into the cosy sitting room with the open fireplace and simply reading and relaxing. The adjacent 'garden room,' has expansive views of the terrace, garden, foreshore and ocean. We also enjoyed watching DVD's on the large television/entertainment system in this room, with its woolly rugs and enormous throw cushions.
The weather was not always cooperative during our stay, but I felt that this made Seal Rock Cottage an even more cosy refuge. I have no doubt that the outdoor entertainment area would be a delightful place to sun-bake, sip wine and watch the ocean, but we loved being holed-up from the cold rainy weather with the fireplace going.
There is much to love about Seal Rock Cottage.
We did several day trips around the beautiful 'Ring of Kerry,' including 'Jaunting Car rides through the Gap of Dunloe,' boat excursions along the various lakes near Killarney, as well as a visit to the Dingle Peninsular, but it was always such a pleasure to return to Seal Rock Cottage, at the end of the day.
We can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to every conceivable guest comfort as well as location and decor. Oh and the heavenly bed!
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idonotwan...
Launceston, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely spot--luxury cottage.”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

A dream of a position, absolutely everything we needed (even Scrabble!) and a cloud-soft bed. This place has been set up with great care and attention to all the details that the most discriminating traveller could wish for.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise S
Burford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing”
Reviewed February 8, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Travelled with two great friends to celebrate new year and our friends birthday, we were like excited children when we got through the door looking at the rooms and views! We didn't want to come home. Thank you for making it possible for us to stay somewhere so magical :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy beds, sofas, open fire and stunning views
Liked least: Couldn't get wifi but it did make us all switch off for a few days :)
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing