We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Definitely would book it again”
other travelers have booked this property
External View of Carrig Beag
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
External View of Carrig Beag
Patio to rare of the property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
4 reviews
External View of Carrig Beag
Patio to rare of the property
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kenmare, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sorcha142
Aachen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Definitely would book it again”
Reviewed June 5, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Perfect location with a 2 min walk to reach Pubs and Restaurants. Jer is very kind and helpful. The house is very clean, well-spaced, especially the kitchen, and fully furnished. The living room using the fireplace is very cosy. The beds are very comfortable so we slept very well. As a bonus you find a small herbal garden in the backyard. You can park your car in the rear of the house. Kenmare is a great place to explore the Ring of Beara and the Ring of Kerry.
We highly recommend Carrig Beag and definitely would book it again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimoHarlo...
Harlow
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great week, great location”
Reviewed June 12, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Been to Kenmare many times but this time brought friends from England who had never been to Ireland before. Chose this cottage because of its location, 5 minutes walk away (no driving!) from all of the great restaurants, pubs and shops of Kenmare but far enough away to not hear any of the noise. The cottage itself was excellent. It was comfortably and tastefully furnished in all areas. We didn't really utilise the lounge and TV at all during our stay because we were lucky enough to have 6 days of solid sunshine so were out and about making the most of it (as it doesn't happen very often!). The kitchen was well equipped with utensils, white goods etc although we only ate breakfast there as we made use of all of the wonderful pubs and restaurants for our food.
The beds were comfortable, bathrooms clean and both showers were powerful with plenty of hot water to go round. The property has its own parking space at the back which was handy.
We had a slight problem with one of the sinks not draining properly which we mentioned to Jer (owner) when eating at O' Donnabhain's that evening. He popped round and had it fixed whilst we were out the following day, so no problems there. Booking process was easy and Jer was quick to come back with answers to any questions etc.
All in all we had a great time, with the cottage being ideally located and a comfortable base to tour around all of the beautiful scenery Kerry has to offer. Would definitely book it again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roisin C
Cavan, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fab stay”
Reviewed June 21, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in Carrig Beag for a week with my husband,my one year old and my mam.We had a fab stay.House is lovely and in a quiet place yet is only a 5 min stroll to the centre of Kenmare with its lovely shops,pubs and restaurants.Brill base to explore Kerry.The house has nice outdoor back and front areas with seating.The neighbours are nice and quiet.The house has a fresh and modern feel throughout with downstairs having a lovely kitchen and nice sitting room.The glass tables could be a hazard though.Upstairs has two bedrooms,one with ensuite and then there is a separate bathroom.The bathrooms are lovely.The bedrooms are fine but the bed in the double room is quite low to the ground and there is a strong musty smell of the wardrobe.These are just minor things though because overall we had a fab time in this house.It is good value and I would def recommend and would love to return some day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm06...
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay”
Reviewed December 5, 2011 for a stay in May 2011
3
people found this review helpful

Trip Advisor helped us pick Kenmare as a place to stay in Kerry and we found Jeremy Foley's cottages on a general search of the net. We picked Carrig Beag because we wanted to be within walking distance of the town (and the pubs) and it turned out to be perfect in every way. This restored terrace has been comfortably furnished and provides roomy, quiet accommodation for 4 adults. There is a separate bathroom and an ensuite and the kitchen is well equipped. Only 100 metres to the market square of this beautiful, colourful village, there are (I think) about 6 pubs to choose from and many restaurants. In the opposite direction (about 50 metres) is an ancient stone circle and behind the house is a path leading down to "Cromwells Bridge" which crosses the rushing village stream.
Pick up of the key is simple and enjoyable as it occurs in O'Donnabhains (which is Jeremy's pub) and instructions are provided over a pint of the finest. I cannot recommend this cottage more highly nor Kenmare as the ideal spot to explore the Ring of Kerry, the (I think more impressive) Ring of Beara or southwest Ireland generally.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The proximety to town, comfort and quietness
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing