We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Getaway Near Kenmare and the Rings of...”
other travelers have booked this property
Kilkeana Farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kilkeana Farmhouse
Sitting Room with woodburning stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Kilkeana Farmhouse
Sitting Room with woodburning stove
The Kitchen/Dining Room
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Entrance
Hill Walking on the Farm
Fushia grow wild on the Farm
Sunset from Kenmare Pier
The Ring of Kerry Golf & Country Club
Sheep & Lambs on the Farm
Kenmare Golf Club
Market Day in Kenmare
Sefari at Kenmare Pier
Kenmare Town
Seals in Kenmare Bay
Blackvalley Lake
Winter in the Blackvalley with snow on the Magillacuddy Reeks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kenmare, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
tylerrbro...
Dallas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Getaway Near Kenmare and the Rings of Kerry and Beara”
Reviewed May 11, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

If you want to spend a little time in the true Irish country side, but be close enough to do some typical touristy stuff, this is the place for you! It is wonderful! The cows on this working farm come right up to the house, and you can climb the Kilkeana mountain in the back for an unforgettable view. Help herd the sheep, and heat the house by the fireplace. It's just awesome. If you have kids, (or work) and need Internet, they have you covered! I tested it, and it's pretty fast considering you're in the middle of a farm.

It's a great place for kids, they had a cot for our two year old setup and ready for us. Mary had fresh fruit and a lemon cake out for us when we arrived, so sweet!

Be sure to grab breakfast at Mick and Jimmy's in Kenmare!

And, be sure to ask James about the house, and how it's been in his family for 7 generations, remarkable!

Thank you for the wonderful stay Mary!

Tyler, Stacia, Liam and Laura

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 17, 2017
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your holiday at Kilkeana Farm House.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Great Place”
Reviewed September 3, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Clean, cosy house with amazing views. Good place for children as there is quite a lot of open space for them to play. I would definitely recommend this house to everybody who would like a relaxing spot after visiting the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarkefa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A magical place.”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fabulous 5 nights in Kilkeana Farm House. The house is very comfortable and has everything you need. The views are amazing. A great, quiet location on the moutain side. Our daughter loved the farm animals. Thank you to Mary and James for making us feel so welcome. We hope to return in the near future. This place is a tonic for the soul!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cathys324
Freelandville, IN
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful house, wonderful location”
Reviewed June 22, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This is simply an amazing house in an absolutely gorgeous location. My husband and I and our young adult daughter stayed in the farmhouse for five nights. We would definitely choose to stay here in the future if we are fortunate enough to return to Kenmare. The house is beautiful and spotlessly clean; it's even better than the photos indicate.

Mary and James were excellent hosts. After arriving in Kenmare, we called Mary for directions to the house as she had instructed. When we called, she happened to be in town and said she would meet us so we could follow her to the farmhouse. Upon arrival, she took us through the house and gave us detailed instructions for operating appliances, hot water, etc. We were also greeted with a welcome pack of scones and fresh fruit.

This was our second trip to Ireland (and most definitely not our last). We loved Kenmare and the surrounding area--so many things to see and do and excellent shops and restaurants. Kilkeana Farmhouse was part of a wonderful trip. Highly recommend!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable, clean, up-to-date house in a stunning location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pawineguy
Fredonia, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed June 2, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I recently traveled to Ireland with our three boys, ages 13, 11 and 9 and stayed at the Kilkeana Farm house for four days. When we drove to it I was surprised how long of a driveway we had and thought we were going to be pretty "out there" but when we got to the house, I was instantly in love with it. There were cows in the yard (fenced in) and sheep as well. The view was phenomenol, the house was in perfect condition and very clean. We had plenty of room to spread out and a beautiful kitchen to have our own home cooked meals in. On out first morning there, James stopped up and offered to take us on a walk of the property to where the sheep were and to share with us some of the history of this land. It was one of the best experiences of my kids lives and mine too. Staying there was renewing to the soul and not just a vacation, but a blessing for all of us. I highly recommend it if you are considering spending some time in Kenmare.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patmcafee
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“This is a wonderful place to stay.”
Reviewed April 30, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This is a wonderful place to stay. The view of the sheep and the mountains just beautiful. Your farm house is spotless and cozy. Everything you need is there. Only 5 minutes from town and if you want to go out to the pubs a Taxi service is available. Thank you Mary for your hospitality and your wonderful treats such a nice thing to do. It was a pleasure to meet you your such a warm and kind soul. I'd recommend your lovely place in a heartbeat. Patty ,Dan ,Deb , Jackie, and Mary Ann.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkr-trave...
Hofheim am Taunus, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place - highly recommended”
Reviewed April 17, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week here in April and were more than happy with our choice of this holiday cottage. Location is a few km outside Kenmare on the slope of Peakeen Mountain, which gives wide views (and a possibility of some afternoon work-out climbing the mountain). The house stands alone between trees, accessed by it's own driveway. You'll find the sheep on the adjacent meadow and birds singing in the trees in the morning. The interior is very comfortable with plenty of space. The house is extremely well equipped - there is everything from USB charging device to hairdryer. Fruit and biscuits were on the table for welcome. Definitively a recommendation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing