We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great residence in town center!”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the Shelbourne Town House from across the raod
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
View of the Shelbourne Town House from across the raod
Patio area in the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kenmare, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Sharon F
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great residence in town center!”
Reviewed December 12, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We have visited Ireland several times, and we always stay at the lovely, well-appointed Shelbourne Townhouse in Kenmare. Kenmare is a lovely town, and this townhouse draws us back due to its perfect location for all of our activities in the town and our daily excursions to the countryside. The townhouse is lovely and cozy with fireplaces in the living area and kitchen. One of our favorite things is to spend time warming by the fire in the living room. The townhouse has four levels with the kitchen on the bottom floor that has access to a back garden which leads to an alley attached to one of the main streets in Kenmare.
The owner/manager is local and owns The White Room which is a charming linen/gift shop in town. She and her staff are always accessible and helpful, and they make our stay special and enjoyable. Shelbourne Townhouse is truly a gem as are the special ladies at the White Room.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location to town center
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 16, 2016
Thank you for the lovely review you gave us. It was lovely to see you both again in Kenmare and we look for ward to seeing your lovely smiles again soon.
Many thanks and hope you have a great christmas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Reviewed August 4, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: decor and location
Liked least: having to leave!!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
madmartin...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Excellent location, luxurious accommodation”
Reviewed July 3, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our family stayed here for a week and really enjoyed this comfortable home from home. We have rented many houses over the years and can honestly say this house would rank in the top three.
Kenmare is a fine town to visit and we were right in the hub of everything. Eating out is expensive as would be expected in a top tourist location and we shopped locally in well stocked supermarkets and cooked in the kitchen which had everything we needed down to a sharp knife and plenty of plates, dishes etc.
Parked was easy in a free car park straight across the road.
We would have no hesitation in returning'

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Standard of accommodation
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2016
Thank you for your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian B
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely town house right in the middle of Kenmare town, excellent!”
Reviewed September 22, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Great house right in the centre of Kenmare walking distance to great restaurants, pubs and individual shops. The house had everything you could possibly want right down to to providing an umberella. Lovely touches which made you feel you were home from home. The girls who looked after the house were great and nohing was too much trouble, very friendly and helpful. We would definitly recommend and are planning to return next year.
Thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness of the staff who were available to answer any questions we had. The house is fab and very central to lovely restaurants,pubs and live music. The house had some lovely touches which really made it feel like home from home, EXCELLENT!
Liked least: the mattress in the main bedroom was very soft and dipped in the middle, if that was changed the whole place would be perfect
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EGKTravel...
Amelia Island, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful Home!!”
Reviewed June 21, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Shelbourne House in Kenmare!! The girls at the 'White Room' took care of us during the week with anything we needed help with. The home was very spacious, tastefully decorated and relaxing. The shower was hot, beds were comfortable and the location was ideal!! Kenmare is a great town, but the week was even better staying in such a relaxing,clean and comfortable home. We hope to be back again soon!!

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travellin...
seattle
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another fabulous stay”
Reviewed February 21, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Just enjoyed our 2nd stay at Shelbourne Townhouse in Kenmare. Charming house with
lots of nice touches, very clean and comfortable.
So close to both Henry Street and Main Street lots of great restaurants, stores etc.
Tracey at The White Room is extremely helpful and gracious.
Look forward to another visit to Shelbourne Townhouse.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy L
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kenmare's Gem”
Reviewed February 9, 2015 for a stay in August 2014

Kenmare is a wonderful and welcoming town. The Shelbourne is the perfect home to experience the town and explore the surrounding area. A beautiful and comfortable home with a private patio in the back to enjoy your morning tea. Everyone was so helpful and attentive to assisting me in getting my needs met during my stay. I am looking forward to returning to the Shelbourne soon!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing