We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Clean and cozy cottage in remote setting”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Feirm Cottage

Feirm Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Feirm Cottage
Cosy Sittingroom with log burning stove Double bedroom with a country view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
31 reviews
Feirm Cottage
Cosy Sittingroom with log burning stove
Double bedroom with a country view
Nestling at the foothills
Kitchen cum dining room
Such variety of landscape & colour in one April Day near Feirm Cottage
Mountains and lakes of magical colour
Many magical colours of a March morning, dramatic sky,water mist,mountains, sunshine
Last of the winter snow capping Irelands highest mountain range,  Killarney lakes beneath
Lowlevel shower in en suite bathroom to a downstairs twin bedroom
Loughbrin and surrounds
Contrasting landscape of late Autumn
Local cheese at Kenmare Market
Loughbrin 30min walk
Examples of local Rock Art
Templenoe Pier
A woodland trail
I hope we can go soon, I am tired of waiting, fledgling swallows in the barn
Eco, fun filled nature trips, Kenmare
Valley near Feirm Cottage
Stay together and don't get lost
Mountains near Feirm  The Pocket
Kenmare estuary
Cows grazing in a multitude of colour
Blackwater River close to Feirm Cottage
Adjacent to Irelands Wild Atlantic Way
Award winning cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kenmare, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Mamade4
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean and cozy cottage in remote setting”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Josephine was very welcoming with fresh bread...and typical Irish hospitality. My son enjoyed stoking the fire and we enjoyed the views. If you want a place to get away from it all and have a good view of the countryside- this place is for you. The house is in excellent condition. The local Pub is just down the road.. so you can have your beer and basic supplies... It is close to the Ring of Kerry and Killarney national parks... Just get used to driving on very narrow roads !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness
Liked least: little hard to find at first
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 7, 2013
Thank you, we do appreciate you taking time to write a review of Feirm Cottage.
It is a pleasure for us to know that your stay was an enjoyable experience for all the family,matching peace and quite with convenient location for all that you wanted to do.
Thank you again, we hope you get a chance to make a return visit.
Josephine and the O'Neill Family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badbaddav...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very cosy secluded cottage.”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Really enjoyed our two night stay here. Cottage is in a great, secluded location. Very quiet. You need a car. Owner is friendly and helpful. Cottage is well equipped. Kitchen is lovely, with dishwasher, loads of crockery etc. Stereo needs replacing though.

Lounge is nice and cosy, sits 5. Stove/fire is great. Hot water for bath must come from some sort of open tank as was a little green and contained a few bugs, as does the cottage, but hey this is the countryside! Water for shower was from mains and was fine.

bed was comfy. chickens came to the door, and once even came onto the cottage!

Would definitely return if n the area again. Good value, especially if with more people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cosy spot in peaceful location
Liked least: utility bill is extra
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 7, 2013
We really do appreciate your review, thank you.
It was pleasing to know that you enjoyed your short break and found the cottage quiet and peaceful.
Sorry about the bugs!!and bath water,I will make sure to keep a check on both in future. Meanwhile we hope you get a chance to make a return visit now that you know where we are.
Josephine and the O'Neill Family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Reviewed June 20, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quietness and comfort of this rural setting
Liked least: Would be nice to have a few kitchen basics on arrival - salt, pepper, sugar, coffee, etc.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2013
We are truly grateful that you took the time to write a review of Feirm Cottage.Your comments and recommendations are much appreciated. They also confirm for us the characteristics of the cottage which we always hope make it an enjoyable experience for those who stay there.
Thank you again,
The O'Neill Family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Andy N
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Well appointed and very comfortable cottage in stunning location”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed a 3 night stay in this property during the early May bank holiday. The property is very well appointed and maintained to a very high standard. The 3 bedrooms are all a good size and the cozy lounge and well equipped kitchen make for a very comfortable stay. The location offers peace and quiet and some excellent views over the southern hills of the Macgillycuddy's Reeks. The cottage is around 40mins drive from Killarney, and 20mins from Kenmare or Sneem, and also offers very easy access to the Ring of Kerry, Kerry Way, Beara peninsula and gap of Dunloe. We found the owners to be friendly, welcoming and helpful and with good suggestions and advice on where to visit, eat, walking routes etc.

We found the cost of heating/electricity (charged via meter at 25 cents per unit electricity and 95 cents per unit of oil ) to be a little higher than expected. We also felt that lounge seating would be cramped if a party of 6 were staying.

Overall we would certainly recommend this cottage and thank the owners for a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spotlessly clean and well-maintained
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 15, 2013
Thank you for leaving such lovely comments on Tripadvisor, they are much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you were pleased with both the cottage and its location. On the cost of utilities unfortunately in addition to the basic unit rate for electricity there is vat and additional government taxes and similar for oil. However at Feirm Cottage we try and minimize those for our guests by using measures like low energy light bulbs and thermostatic controls on the radiators. We have been awarded Silver by the grading system of Green Tourism Scheme for this and other sustainable measures which we undertake to reduce our impact on the environment. On the size of the lounge for 6 people,we do draw that particular feature of it being a traditional cottage, to the attention of groups with this number of adults wishing to stay.
Thank you again for your comments and recommendations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeeHoges
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great farmhouse stay”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We had the loveliest farmhouse stay at feirm cottage. The house was lovely and warm with a well equipped kitchen and great fireplace.
Josephine was very accommodating and helpful with suggestions on walks and things to do in the area.
The kids loved seeing the cows come to feed so close to the house with their young calfs.
We would love to return again in the future.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Feirm Cottage. We are pleased to know that you all had an enjoyable time and in particular that the children enjoyed the cows and calves.We look forward to seeing you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 5, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ciara T
Newry
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely house great quiet location lovely owners”
Reviewed September 21, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

This was a lovely holiday home, our little kids enjoyed it twin boys 5, girl 3.
They had fun exploing the fields
Lovely drive from Killarney
House great layout, we did get a bit confused with all the recycle bins!
Good Eco friendly house,
Lovely owners with great local knowledge

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing