We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Sheen Falls Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheen Falls Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Myself and my husband recently stayed here for our honeymoon. It was everything we expected and more. Staff and service was flawless. The food in bar and restaurant was so good, Irish and local where possible. It was so delicious, you would travel for the food alone and the wine list simply amazing. We had a junior suite which offered such comfort, space and a sense of luxury. We both loved the sense of irishness in the hotel, the pottery, craft displays, Irish products in spa and bedrooms, it is this commitment that made the hotel special and different to other Irish hotels. It is unique. Overall we loved it, everything and we are very much looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clavin72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at Sheen Falls Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Calvin72,

Once again congratulations on your recent marriage - we are very grateful that you choose SFL as part of your Honeymoon & very pleased that you had such a great time with us. We have certainly taken on many Irish designers, Artists & use as many locally based as possible such as Christine Bowen who has created our very large mural. Voya is a wonderful product from a great company based just up the west coast in Sligo.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Kenmare in the near future

Warmest Regards,
Patrick Hanley
General Manager
phanley@sheenfallslodge.ie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (997)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

588 - 594 of 997 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014

Just back from Sheen Falls with my husband and two kids (11 & 13), despite the rainy weather we had a lovely break. The hotel was very welcoming, we had a Suite (because the hotel had no family rooms available). Our room was amazing, large main bedroom and same size living room where they had put two beds for the kids. There was a great feeling of space and all the beds were extremely comfortable. The breakfast was great and there was no feeling of panic or rush when you turn up 5/10 mins before the last breakfast was to be served! We played tennis on their all weather court and we used the swimming pool twice, the pool wasn't too big, (you wouldn't be doing lengths!) but enjoyable for a dip. Everywhere was very clean and there was huge welcoming fire lit in the reception area. All in all a very nice quiet weekend. (ate in Kenmare in No. 35 and Charcoal), both to be recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackieMMdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at Sheen Falls Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear JackieMMDub,

Really grateful that you have taken the time to post a review of your recent stay - I am delighted that you all enjoyed the visit and all the activities we have on offer - next time you can try the fishing and catch your dinner - we will do the cooking of course!

Look forward to your next trip

Warmest Regards
Patrick Hanley
General Manager
phanley@sheenfallslodge.ie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

I have just stayed one night here with my husband and 2 children. Ideally it's a couples break hotel, very romantic and beautiful spa but my family thoroughly enjoyed it and we were very well catered for.
I booked the room directly through the hotel and Mary was fantastic responding so quickly to all my questions and queries via email.
Upon arriving at hotel, we had such a lovely greeting and our receptionist took us to our room. Mary advised me to book a junior suite for my family. We were blown away when we entered the room. I don't even know where to start, the view of the falls was out of this world. The suite itself was beautiful with the biggest bed I've ever seen, the bathroom amazing with gorgeous voya toiletries. There was a nespresso machine and also bottles of still and sparkling water and a fruit bowl with a huge cookie and my children's names were drawn on the cookie with chocolate! I have to say that was the highlight for my 4 year old!
I haven't even checked out of the hotel but could not wait to write this review. It's so beautiful here, the only thing is you will not want to leave the room!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at Sheen Falls Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Michelle M,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit - especially your daughter - those cookies are very tempting! Mary advised you well and I am very pleased to note that the room was too your liking. We are very proud to use Voya an Irish family run company based in Sligo - whose 100% organic seaweed product is truly wonderful. I look forward to welcoming you back to SFL in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Patrick Hanley
General Manager
phanley@sheenfallslodge.ie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I have just had the great pleasure to return to Sheen Falls Lodge with my wife for five days . The property and the grounds were looking splendid and the friendliness of the staff made our stay a very enjoyable one.
Our room overlooked the falls and the burbling sounds added a tranquillity to the sleeping experience.
i would recommend a walk along the banks of the river above the falls , the river was flowing strongly when I was there and the sounds and views were splendid.
For the ladies the seaweed treatment is highly recommended as is the massage .

Room Tip: A room with either a view over the falls or Kenmare Bay would be my preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at Sheen Falls Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Noel R,

Thank you for your really great review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed everything and particularly the main feature Sheen Falls - I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Patrick Hanley
General Manager
phanley@sheenfallslodge.ie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

It's nice but not 5 star quality. Decor needs total refreshing , very quiet ( don't laugh out loud) and is too far form lovely kenmare village. We stayed in a suite which had an extra awkward room that wasn't really usable. Staff were nice enough, but it really needs a total re vamp to live us to relais and chateau brand and/ or it's self stated 5 stars.

Room Tip: Ask if it has been decorated since he 70's!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at Sheen Falls Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Kerry K,

Thank you for your time in reviewing your recent visit. I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations, I hope you enjoyed the remainder of your visit to Ireland. Shame that during your stay you didn't mention anything to me I did welcome you both and took you your room that evening and would have been delighted to show you an alternative.

Should you wish to please do email me further

Warmest Regards,
Patrick Hanley
General Manager
phanley@sheenfallslodge.ie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is a superb place in which to stay. The sprawling building is not particularly attractive externally but is in a great location beside the Sheen Falls, there are lots of places within the grounds where one can walk - in woods and by the river - and pleasant walks on quiet nearby roads Inside the building is very comfortable: many pleasant places to sit, a couple of big log fires. The staff are plentiful, polite and helpful. Our bedroom was very big, pleasantly decorated, quiet and, again, very comfortable.

Eating is a different matter. Apart from breakfast I'd avoid the restaurant: although the food is tasty and well presented both food and drink is ridiculously expensive. Some of the dinner portions are almost unbelievably small, the chef seems to feel that small portions are synonymous with high quality - our smoked salmon starter gave us a piece of hot-smoked salmon smaller than my little finger for €17! Wine prices are very high, one South African wine we drank was priced at four times what I can pay in my local supermarket!

Room Tip: Our 207 overlooks the falls
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diandjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at Sheen Falls Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Diandjj,


Thank you for deciding to stay with us here at Sheen Falls Lodge its always nice to get such a lovely review too! Overall It sounds like you had a great time but it seems that our portions were not to your liking - we are always able to adapt to a persons preferences I have many clients for whom we have specific requests which we are always happy to make happen. Please do email me directly for your next opportunity to get away and we can create the perfect stay.

I look forward to hearing from you

Warmest Regards,
Patrick Hanley
General Manager
phanley@sheenfallslodge.ie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

My wife and I spent the night at Sheen Falls lodge on our way to the Kerry and Dingle Peninsulas. We arrived in a driving rainstorm and the staff was very helpful in aiding us in bringing in our bags and welcoming us. The room we were given was tremendous (room 202) which was it above the falls and had a nice little porch. The clientele was a little high-brow for our tastes, but overall we can't say enough good things about the Lodge.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at Sheen Falls Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Jim C,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your very nice comments - I am really happy that you had such an amazing time with us and you enjoyed your falls view room. I am sure you had a great time in Dingle, our house Gin & Vodka is from that beautiful peninsula. Hopefully we can welcome you back to "The Kingdom" again in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Patrick Hanley
General Manager
phanley@sheenfallslodge.ie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmare
1.3 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
977 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
702 reviews
14.4 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
10.9 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,608 reviews
14 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheen Falls Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheen Falls Lodge

Address: Sheen Falls Estate | Old Kenmare, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Price Range: $224 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheen Falls Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovingly Restored Country Lodge dating from 1765, overlooking Kenmare Bay & Sheen River Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheen Falls Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheen Falls Kenmare
Sheen Falls Hotel Kenmare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing