We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheen Falls Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sheen Falls Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible Experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2008

I could not recommend this hotel to anybody. My wife had booked treatments 2 weeks in advance of arriving only for us to get an email on the morning of arrival that they hadnt inputted our information into the book and that the treatments would have to be cancelled with little or no explanation.

Also had booked a deluxe room with supposedly a king size bed but on arrival it was 2 single beds pushed together.
Staff are complety unfriendly and offered little help with our problems encountered.
Way over priced also. Do not waste your time with this hotel.!!

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank CianP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    159
    77
    39
    12
See reviews for
203
474
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2008

All I can say is that it must simply be a matter of taste, but I cannot understand how anyone could not LOVE this hotel.
Everything about the setting, the rooms, the understated luxury and the extremely professional staff under the excellent management of Alan Campbell is of a world class standard.
I stayed there very recently and had none of the issues reported by some other guests. Indeed, of the many luxury hotels in this area, Sheen Falls is one I would return to time and time again.
The experience is certainly 5 star and indeed beyond.
Go on treat yourself and stay here..........you wont regret it !

  • Liked — Professionalism of staff and beautiful tastefl decor.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MRTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2008

I've stayed at Sheen Falls Lodge a number of times and can honestly say it is the Best Resort Hotel in Ireland.

It has an unrivalled setting on the edge of the Kenmare Bay and amazing waterfalls cascade by the hotel and our room overlooked the falls which were floodlit in the eveing.

The team at Sheen Falls always welcome us back in a friendly manner and are so helpful during our stay which is exactly how we feel it should be - Irish hospitality at its best.

We enjoy our Food and WIne and La Cascade fits the bill very nicely!

Last time we went fishing and did some clay shooting on the estate which was fun too - the rest of the time we toured the area and enjoyed the scenery and landscapes that make this part of Ireland so special.

  • Liked — Dinner in La Cascade Restaurant
  • Disliked — There are only two handmade chocolates in the room!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Classychassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2008

I was really looking forward to staying in the Sheen Falls as part of my birthday celebrations.We stayed there for three nights in an exquisite room with a beautiful view of the falls.The room was decorated to a very high standard and it was spotless.There are two choices of restaurants to choose from .One informal ,the other a much more formal affair.We dined for two nights in the informal restaurant - the service here was excellent and the food was really very good.However a problem arose with our reservation in the formal restaurant which left me very upset and the staff did not make an effort to recitfy the issue.Also on our arrival to the hotel the receptionist was very aloof and cold - not displaying the useful warmth and friendliness we have come to expect from Relais and Chateaux.The hotel is quite badly sign posted and when I phoned to look for directions I found the receptionist manner to be very abrupt.Over all I would not return to this hotel because of the manner in which the staff welcomed us and how badly they dealt with any complaints -very disappointing.Not an experience I would like to repeat.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — the staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cocheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2008

What a grand place this must have been. The site is incomparable and pure County Kerry. Which is what makes the lackluster interior all the more sad. There is very little of the authentic manor house left on the inside. Where there should be period furnishings, you find inexpensive reproductions.

It would surprise me if anyone from Relais & Chateau had dropped by to check up on this property lately. It is nowhere near the caliber of its other properties.

The manager is a delightful and accomodating man but the hotel is primarily staffed by Eastern European personnel whose manners and accents intrude on what should be the quintessential Irish country house experience.

Having said that, the location on the Ring of Beara is wonderful, affords lots of opportunity for biking, hiking, fishing and other gorgeous outdoor activities.

  • Liked — The approach and grounds, including the waterfall, are gorgeous
  • Disliked — Substandard appointments in all public spaces
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Journeyworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2008

we visit sheen falls at least once year and find it cannot be beaten. yes it is pricey but worth every bit of it. we ve tried other 5 star hotels in kerry but sheen falls is by far the best. rooms large and comfortable, grounds extensive and tranquil. food faultless. leisure facilites perfect. staff friendly and knowledgable.... what more can i say i am a fan!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank corkuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2008

It's a truly amazing place: the view, the restaurants, the bars but best of all the service. Would recommend it to anybody, any time of the year. Even if it's miserable and raining you would just enjoy being in and make the most of what the hotel has to offer. Top rating

  • Liked — Scenery, Spa
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SabraSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmare
0.8 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
1.4 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
12.9 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
11.7 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheen Falls Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheen Falls Lodge

Property: Sheen Falls Lodge
Address: Sheen Falls Estate | Old Kenmare, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheen Falls Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovingly Restored Country Lodge dating from 1765, overlooking Kenmare Bay & Sheen River Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Sheen Falls Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheen Falls Kenmare
Sheen Falls Hotel Kenmare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing