We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as a 5* hotel should be”
Review of Sheen Falls Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheen Falls Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2008

I've stayed at Sheen Falls Lodge a number of times and can honestly say it is the Best Resort Hotel in Ireland.

It has an unrivalled setting on the edge of the Kenmare Bay and amazing waterfalls cascade by the hotel and our room overlooked the falls which were floodlit in the eveing.

The team at Sheen Falls always welcome us back in a friendly manner and are so helpful during our stay which is exactly how we feel it should be - Irish hospitality at its best.

We enjoy our Food and WIne and La Cascade fits the bill very nicely!

Last time we went fishing and did some clay shooting on the estate which was fun too - the rest of the time we toured the area and enjoyed the scenery and landscapes that make this part of Ireland so special.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Classychassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (968)
There are newer reviews for Sheen Falls Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

870 - 876 of 968 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2008

I was really looking forward to staying in the Sheen Falls as part of my birthday celebrations.We stayed there for three nights in an exquisite room with a beautiful view of the falls.The room was decorated to a very high standard and it was spotless.There are two choices of restaurants to choose from .One informal ,the other a much more formal affair.We dined for two nights in the informal restaurant - the service here was excellent and the food was really very good.However a problem arose with our reservation in the formal restaurant which left me very upset and the staff did not make an effort to recitfy the issue.Also on our arrival to the hotel the receptionist was very aloof and cold - not displaying the useful warmth and friendliness we have come to expect from Relais and Chateaux.The hotel is quite badly sign posted and when I phoned to look for directions I found the receptionist manner to be very abrupt.Over all I would not return to this hotel because of the manner in which the staff welcomed us and how badly they dealt with any complaints -very disappointing.Not an experience I would like to repeat.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cocheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

What a grand place this must have been. The site is incomparable and pure County Kerry. Which is what makes the lackluster interior all the more sad. There is very little of the authentic manor house left on the inside. Where there should be period furnishings, you find inexpensive reproductions.

It would surprise me if anyone from Relais & Chateau had dropped by to check up on this property lately. It is nowhere near the caliber of its other properties.

The manager is a delightful and accomodating man but the hotel is primarily staffed by Eastern European personnel whose manners and accents intrude on what should be the quintessential Irish country house experience.

Having said that, the location on the Ring of Beara is wonderful, affords lots of opportunity for biking, hiking, fishing and other gorgeous outdoor activities.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Journeyworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2008

we visit sheen falls at least once year and find it cannot be beaten. yes it is pricey but worth every bit of it. we ve tried other 5 star hotels in kerry but sheen falls is by far the best. rooms large and comfortable, grounds extensive and tranquil. food faultless. leisure facilites perfect. staff friendly and knowledgable.... what more can i say i am a fan!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank corkuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2008

It's a truly amazing place: the view, the restaurants, the bars but best of all the service. Would recommend it to anybody, any time of the year. Even if it's miserable and raining you would just enjoy being in and make the most of what the hotel has to offer. Top rating

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SabraSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2008

We stayed at the Sheen Falls Lodge this April.
The rooms were mediocre and very old-fashioned. It took about 10 minutes to get hot water in the shower, and the set-up of the bathroom was very poorly thought out. Cleanliness was not great either.
The restaurant was very limited when it came to choices for food. Paid a fortune and I have to say I did not enjoy any of the meals.
Most of the things offered on the website were not available to us such as the fishing, billiard room, stables etc. very disappointing.
The spa left a lot to be desired for too. The pool was tiny and very old and the Jacuzzi was extremely disappointing.
I would never recommend this place to anyone, not at their prices!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Tinkletoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2008

I've just returned from Sheen Falls Lodge for the 5th time. It´s a great place to be. This year the staff really got better. Some small things are a bit outdate, but the atmosphere compensates that all. I´ve staid in many luxurious hotels, but none of them is so intimate as Sheen Falls Lodge. That´s the magical thing from Sheen Falls. And it´s sure worth it´s 5 stars. There are many facilities, the dining is very good, the pianist is great and the staff is always willing to help you with anything.

I hope to return again!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ViKr2Netherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmare
1.3 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.8 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#5 of 6 in Kenmare
669 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
947 reviews
13.9 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
11.7 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#11 of 39 in Killarney
2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheen Falls Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheen Falls Lodge

Address: Sheen Falls Estate | Old Kenmare, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Price Range: $205 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheen Falls Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovingly Restored Country Lodge dating from 1765, overlooking Kenmare Bay & Sheen River Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheen Falls Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheen Falls Kenmare
Sheen Falls Hotel Kenmare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing