We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An incredibly relaxing experience”
Review of Sheen Falls Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheen Falls Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
644 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“An incredibly relaxing experience”
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

The setting is reminiscent of a beautiful Irish landscape. The rooms are well appointed, and the service first rate. Take a leisurely stroll through the grounds, surrounded by forests and streams that are simply breathtaking. You can reserve the old Rolls Royce and experience a chauffeured drive around the surrounding area. Fly fishing, golf, tennis, croquet.....even a private helicopter landing pad. It's a short walk into the lovely town of Kenmare, with shops selling locally made items such as soaps and sweaters. The restaurants within the hotel serve wonderfully presented food.

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    162
    77
    39
    12
See reviews for
205
485
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Just returned from a 2 day break here, and I'm sorry to say we were very underwhelmed by the whole experience. I had imagined a complete chill out in the 'spa' area, which we visited and quickly decided not to return to, the pool area is small, a total of 5 loungers, cold, small and scruffy. The area was slippery, and the changing area was more of a loo, they have a pool and a very dated jacuzzi, the sauna was out of order. Not a place to go to if you expect a 'spa' break. The hotel itself is in a beautiful area, views of the falls on your doorstep, and lovely scenery. Our room although large was not particularly nice, no 'wow' factor at all. We had dinner in La Cascade restaurant, atmosphere reminded me of the old days when we were dragged to the local hotel for Sunday lunch, food was hit and miss, very small portions and promised more than it delivered, our appetiser of crab bake was the most pathetic thing i have ever tasted, dry, and about a tablespoon size portion of it, which when we tasted it was quite enough. Entree was an improvement, but desert once again not great. For a restaurant promising 'gourmet' dining it has a long way to go. We decided to dine out the next night at a lovely little place called the 'Wild Garlic' - much better and I would recommend that you dine there rather than at the hotel. I would describe the Sheen Falls as an average 4 star hotel, not 5 star and think there are much better true 5 star hotels in the area to go to. I will say the staff are very polite, but this place has no 'personality'.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Monika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
110 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Justly praised as one of Ireland's finest country hotels, the magnificent lodge -like interiors please the eye but not the purse as 66 large and welcoming rooms and undulating public spaces cost plenty. But if it is time to splurge let this be the place as the smiling and helpful staff do all possible to welcome and maintain guest comfort. One evening the assistant manager managed to arrive at a crackling fireplace at just the right time for a champagne toast on a special occasion. The oversize rooms immediately impart a sense of comfort and convenience, with all the furnishings one could require. La Cascade, the deluxe restaurant, has a slender but elegant menu amidst tranquil suroundings. Get a package which slightly minimizes the cost and include a full and perfect breakfast as well as dinner at least one night. Very comfortable beds and color combinations. Large, bright, well-appointed bath, but why not include quality toiletries and replace the soaps daily and include a large bar at the tub instead of no soap for 3 nights at the tub? Back to the good, because it is nearly all good to near great with sublime surroundings such as a swift stream and ancient bridge on the property, Killarney about 30 minutes away, Kenmare Bay visible from many rooms, the purple range of McGilliculdy Reeks in the distance, and peace and harmony everywhere. A car is mandatory here and throughout the Ring of Kerry and Southwest Ireland. Expect to be charmed..

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade near the Kenmare River, but don't expect to get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeromeoconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

A really nice place for a couple to take a break. Quite expensive but you know from the moment the receptionist shows you to your room that you are getting something that's a cut above.

The hotel is very large, but actually has a relatively small number of bedrooms. Which means the bedrooms are large and the bar, lounges, health spa etc... are never overcrowded. For weddings the receptionist told us that they only accept wedding parties that book out the whole hotel - which is a great policy. Nothing worse that staying in a hotel where all the other guests are with a wedding.

The building itself doesn't look great from the outside, but once inside the heritage of the place is on display. There are some lovely walks, lots of rooms to amble through (including a library and a lounge with games for families) and countless open fires.

The restaurant should be avoided by vegetarians (see my separate review http://www.tripadvisor.ie/ShowUserReviews-g211860-d1905151-r146226086-La_Cascade_Restaurant-Kenmare_County_Kerry.html#UR146226086) and the bar food is a bit pricey. But overall it's a lovely and well thought out place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking a waterfall if you like a good view. But if you are a light sleeper you m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zarhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Arrived Halloween weekend specifically with kids in mind to enjoy the activities. Hotel is lovely, spacious. As we had driven for 7 hours, we were tired and hungry so as we checked in we inquired about food and were told there was only 1 restaurant open. Olivers only opens in summer. They were full and nothing available until 9:30 pm. We dropped our bags in the room - great, spacious room, a little dated decor but comfortable. Large bed and 2 murphy beds unfolded from the wall for the kids. Bathroom was big but the bath/shower hose didnt work so for kids it wasnt easy to shower as the fixed shower head was very high up. The water from the shower went all over the bathroom floor as the shield was too short. We did have to ask for extra towels and toiletries each day as they only left enough for 2. Breakfast was lovely, nice variety. Friendly staff who seemed to work at speed as the hotel was very busy.
Kids were looking forward to horse riding, tennis, cycling, etc but were very disappointed as most of the activities are seasonal.....wish this was emphasised as we wouldn't have booked to stay for 3 nights if we knew. Best to stay in summer, I guess.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingQ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Great hotel. Great location. Great staff. Great value. Waaaaay more good points than bad. Nice breakfast. Nice views.

Will go back for sure.

I am not giving this hotel full marks because the rooms were cold. The water in the bathroom was cold but did heat up if the shower or taps were left on for ten minutes. Strangely the swimming pool, the spa and the sauna were cold too! The atmosphe in the bar is very stiff too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeoCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We enjoyed a very restful weekend break here in September 2012.
The inside is beautiful, and much better looking than the outside.
But my mother always said that it's what's inside that counts.
And she was right!

Every thing was lovely, including the weather.
Breakfast is a wonderful experience. Try to get a table near windows for the view of Falls.

Rooms are huge, very comfy bed too.

We borrowed bikes (free) from the hotel for a spin into Kenmare town. Great way to see the town and surrounding areas. I saw more on our bike trip than I have on my previous 4 or 5 visits to Kenmare.

Pool is not huge but perfect for a leisurely dip. We liked the jacuzzi, steam & sauna baths.

We ate one night in the Restaurant Lounge. Slightly more casual than the main dining room.
Great food and big menu selection.
Wine list is VAST, 36 pages or thereabouts! Us plebs drank one of the cheapest wines on the list (€36) which was very good.

Staff are EXCELLENT at all levels. Helpful and friendly yet courteous.
Mostly local staff along with some French staff too.
Seriously, this is service that we should bottle and distribute nationwide.


Ignore any of the bad reviews of this hotel; it's lovely.

We certainly look forward to another visit, as soon as we can get our babysitter organised.
Not a place to take your kids really, a grown-up oasis I reckon.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClonBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmare
0.8 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
1.3 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
11.7 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
13.9 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheen Falls Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheen Falls Lodge

Property: Sheen Falls Lodge
Address: Sheen Falls Estate | Old Kenmare, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheen Falls Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovingly Restored Country Lodge dating from 1765, overlooking Kenmare Bay & Sheen River Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sheen Falls Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheen Falls Kenmare
Sheen Falls Hotel Kenmare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing